We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Leona Eco Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Leona Eco Lodge to your Saves list
La Leona Eco Lodge
Playa Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park 2388, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautifully Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

By the last day I didnt want to leave. I'm not going to lie when I first got there I was like oh boy no electricity, sleeping in tents, I dont know how im going to make it. I got used to it after the first night. It's actually pretty amzaing sleeping right by the beach and hearing the waves at night. You can see the waves from the moonlight in the sky. The beds were surprising very comfortable. The wildlife was probably the best thing about the lodge. I love animals and seeing animals in their habitat and you definitely see alot at the lodge. It is right next to the Corcavado park, the only place to stay within walking distance to the park btw. On the trails in the park we saw even more wildlife. I took my dad who also enjoyed it all.
Tha staff was so amazing also. They are very helpful and want to make sure you enjoy your time there. They showed us pictures of the animals they have seen at the lodge and have books there with all the animals if you want to read about them. They also have an awesome artist there named Gaston. He is an older man who makes all kinds of carvings from trees of snakes and cats and ppl and so much more. The food was very good and plentiful, we had brwakfast lunch and dinner included in our trip package. They keep the place very clean. I wish I had more time there. All in all it was a paradise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    16
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
67
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

What a beautiful place. Everything about la Leona was even better than we anticipated. The journey in, the remoteness, amazing wildlife, friendly staff, lovely food and the ever present Pacific Ocean all made for a wonderful stay. We visited in March 2012 for 5 nights and wished we’d had longer. Fantastic walks into the Corcovado National Park with Louis, our friendly informative guide, helping us spot and explain animals, insects and plants. Then we went on our own using Louis’s knowledge. Swimming in the Madrigal was magical! Saw so much wildlife!
Our luggage was taken down the beach by pony and cart – Pinto the pony was obviously loved as she looked contented and was sociable. Joel was very kind and went out of his way to arrange things. Paul (the chef) cooked lovely wholesome meals and was also very entertaining with his guitar!

Room Tip: room with its own open air shower - fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We just returned from Costa Rica and for 3 nights we stayed at La Leona eco Lodge in one of their tents. We were right on the ocean, the food was very good, we listened to the roar of the waves every night, saw tapir, lots of monkeys, birds, etc. The staff were friendly and we enjoyed our stay. The road going in was an adventure in itself and then the walk on the beach to the Lodge was fun. We loved the horse and cart bringing our luggage.

Room Tip: If you have trouble sleeping you might ask for a room further away from the ocean, the roar from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. Even geting to La Leona is an adventure - the road from Carate is quite tough and the 3km hike along the beach not that easy at midday! Our tent was superb - and showering outside (privately!) by candlelight under the stars (there is no electricity in the tents), with fireflies winging by, is a great experience! We were right on top of the ocean - if you don't like the sound of the sea, which was LOUD, this might not be the place for you (there are other tents up the hill away from the sea) but our position enabled us to see, for example, Scarlet Macaw and Baslilisk Lizards just by our tent.

The trail behind La Leona is great and we saw lots of birds and plenty of howler and spider monkeys and white-faced capuchins. They say that you shouldn't swim in the ocean - probably correctly as the waves were about eight feet high - but I did some body-surfing, ensuring I didn't go out of my depth, and this was wonderful. There is a little lagoon - the mouth of a small river - about three minutes wlak along the beach from the lodge and this was great to soak in, and watch birds, frogs and tiny hermit crabs from!

The food at La Leona was better than OK - not gourmet but well-prepared, tasty and in good quantity (apart, maybe, from the baked bananas with cheese!). The staff were very good and helfpul and it was good to sit round large tables at mealtimes and talk to other guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed here after our hike from Los Patos to La Sirena and then along the beach to La Leona. The staff were friendly. We had full board so we didn't pay any extra but the meals for walk-ins were overpriced. The portions were too large for my taste but not very high standard. They tried a bit too hard to cook internationally. We would have prefered more lokal style food. Overall it was OK. They use a horse to bring in most of their supplies and also transport luggage as well as guests if they ask for it. The walk along the beach to the car park takes about 20 minutes. The horse was in a very sorry state and was on its own all the time. It was skinny-mini and looked very lethargic. Very different to the fit and healthy horses we saw elsewhere in the country. The job it has to do is not very hard for horse-standards, but keeping it away from fellow horses is cruel as horses are gregarious animals.
We had a tent right in front of the beach and the sea was very load. It got drowned by the heavy rain which poured on the tent. Try to get a tent higher up. This does not minimize the noise of the rain but of the sea. We are not too fuzzy and we are nature lovers but the noise was pretty incredible and nonstop. The location is great as it is the closest accomomodation before getting into Corcovado NP. We saw a few scarlet macaws just feeding in front of our tent which was very nice to watch! Capuchin monkeys also seem to hang around frequently and they are great to watch as well. We stayed there for two nights and the weather was hopeless unfortunately. Everything was damp because there was no sunshine and the humidity was pretty high. The bathroom was pretty much openair and the toilet was just about covered by the roof. Because it rained so hard the whole bathroom was full of water which was a bit unpleasant. They should have made the roof a bit longer so that you could go to the toilet without getting your feet wet. Afterwards you walk back into the tent and the floor in the room is wet as well. Nonetheless we liked to stay there, just as mentioned above I would stay higher up if possible to get away from the loud surf. And hopefully you are luckier with the weather, it does rain a lot in and around Corcovado NP.....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had a great time at La Leona eco Lodge. We drove from Puerto Jimenez to Carate (4-wheel drive is a must, even during the summer) and hiked the beach to the lodge.

The views were incredible (you can sit on a hammock and watch the sun set over the ocean), the wildlife plentiful (brown pelicans, capuchin monkeys, and scarlet macaws are just some of what we saw), the staff courteous, helpful and friendly, and the food delicious! Travelers should know what they're getting into (it's tents, cold showers, and shared bathrooms), but this is the way to really see a national park. La Leona makes you as comfortable as you can be.

We also worked with one of their guides, Bolivar, who led us across the park to the Sirena ranger station and back. He was fantastic and we highly recommend the experience. He was fun and extremely knowledgeable about our surroundings.

Overall, a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Our third trip to the lodge, the most alluring thing about La Leona Ecolodge is the location. Since the Corcovado Lodge Tent camp closed (an open secret), it's the only accommodation adjacent to the Corcovado Park. It's a half hour walk down the beach from Carate. (Plenty of places to stay there.) So, you have the astonishing beach, complete solitude and ready access to the Park. And, the food is excellent, the water potable (we never got sick). But, you must be prepared for very simple tented buildings and cots. Fine for a couple of nights, but after 5 nights, I longed for a better bed. Also, their internet has somehow deteriorated since our last visit and we were not permitted to connect our own devices--for good reason. Using their computers was torturously slow, indeed, unusable. Not sure what changed. Some may prefer this getting away from it all, but there's precious little to do in the heat of the day, so bring a good book. The biggest concern I had was that service really seemed to be slipping. Aside from an excellent chef, the thing seemed to be run on a shoestring. It has not felt like this in the past. Perhaps it's the downtown in travel. Staff were nice, just difficult to find.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bathrooms; some used shared bathroom buildings. If you don't mind getting up at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Leona Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Leona Eco Lodge

Address: Playa Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park 2388, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the entrance of Corcovado National Park, on the Osa Peninsula of Costa Rica, nestled in the most beautiful, primary rainforest and surrounded by the Pacific Ocean. Come and see for yourself what paradise looks like, and enjoy all the attention and accommodations of a lavish stay in the wild! Prepare yourself to embark on the journey of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Leona Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Leona Eco Hotel Corcovado National Park
La Leona Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Leona Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.