We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Love it !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout Inn Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lookout Inn Lodge to your Saves list
Lookout Inn Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
21% Off Early Bird Offer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“I Love it !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Just wonderfull, not cheep, nice people, good bear, good food, and a lot more.
The area is beautyfull. The Corcovado is one of a kind, its a paradies here.
I will be come back a second time with my wife. she must stay here with me at Terry House.
My first little home was a house, whre you can feel the jungle pure and direct.
Its one of the best places i ever visited and i travel a lot.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    26
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
88
168
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

My title really says it all. I spent a month there on a working vacation. The wildlife is amazing. Fantastic for either lounging on beach or working off calories hikings. The food is also great. It is also provides a great opportunity to meet people from all over the world, as food is served buffet style. The owners are very informal and approachable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

WOW! A trip of a lifetime My three sons planed this trip to Costa Rica.I,m 78 years old and never in my wildest dream did i ever think i would spend time in paradise.We stayed in the monkey house and blue butterfly house.What a great view of the jungle and the ocean.The four days we,re there were full of adventure and out standing wild life.I can be honest when i say we did not have a bad meal during the entire stay .Terry and Katya make our stay very in joyable. Thank,s for the memories.Gene,Mike, Steve, and Tom

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

in the midst of a tropical garden, a couple hundred feet from the beach, surrounded by tropical rainforest this gem is one of the most relaxed places we have ever been to. totally secluded, empty beaches, one of the most peacefull places in the world. abundance of birds and other animals you can even see from your cabin and in the evenings a drink at the bar overlooking the forest and the sea and enjoying the most wonderfull sunsets.
we'll go back as soon as possible, ursula&daniel

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Terry and Katya's funky laid back Lookout Inn on Carate Beach on the Southern-most tip of the Orsa Peninsula is worth the effort to get there - once you're there, you won't want to leave the secluded soft black sand beach or your open-air hut in the jungle from which you can see monkeys and scarlet macaws (including the resident one, Polly). After some fab cocktails while watching sunset (perhaps accompanied by some of Terry's home-made cheese), meals are family style, relaxed affairs with delicious hearty food. You'll sleep like a baby to the sound of waves in your cozy hut. Lots of little surprise touches all around you such as carved wooden railings, fresh flowers and a lovely little pool. We are planning on coming back for sure

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

From the second we drove up the to the Inn, we knew we were at home. Terry and Katya make you feel like you just came home after being away for a long time. The love of what they do and where they are shows all around you. Their staff is so great. Everyone bends over backwards to make sure your stay will be with you forever. You can do as much or as little as you want. The rainforest is all around you and so are the sounds, the ocean lulls you to sleep at night and the birds and monkey's wake you in the morning. . You can hike, walk along the beach or just lay in the sun, reading a book. The meals were great...Terry would blow the conch shell before all meals and you can hear that from down on the beach. Its famil stye meals, you are able to sit with all the guests and make new friends. You diffinately want to make this a part of your trip, make sure you stay for several days to really be able to enjoy it all. We were there for four days and wished we would have spent a week there at least. It was such a wonderful experience. We wanted to cancel the rest of our lodgings and stay there for the remaining of our trip. Thanks for a memorable stay...we plan to be back!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights & loved it!

Terry, katia & all the staff were excellent. They catered very well for vegetarians - putting on extra dishes.

Incredible wildlife, gOrgeous beach, good hikes that you can do on your own.

You couldn't help but love your time here! We had the swing inn room - which was gorgeous - you wake up to the sound of the sea, birds etc.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lookout Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Inn Lodge

Address: Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lookout Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Inn Lodge is a beach and rainforest ecolodge in Carate on Costa Rica's Osa Peninsula. We are located completely off the beaten path and conveniently located near an entrance to the world-renowned Corcovado National Park. Ideally situated to offer comfortable and affordable eco-friendly accommodations to adventure travelers visiting this remote part of Costa Rica, the Lookout Inn Lodge is sure to impress. Nestled in the hillside right above the road and alongside an isolated black sand beach, Lookout Inn Lodge provides our guests with spectacular views of the surrounding jungle rainforest, the majestic Pacific Ocean and an endless unspoiled Osa Peninsula coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Lookout Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Carate
Lookout Inn Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookout Inn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.