We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout Inn Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lookout Inn Lodge to your Saves list
Lookout Inn Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 3 nights
Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tropical paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Three nights was barely enough time to experience the beauty and diversity of what is available at Lookout Inn. Terry is an wild and funny host who has created a magical inn on the edge of the jungle and the Pacific Ocean. Off the grid, all solar powered. The wilderness is all around. Monkeys traveling through the room (Blue Butterfly) on a regular basis. Great food and sunsets. Hiking into Corcovado National Park was a highlight.

Room Tip: All the open air huts are phenomenal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
hello steve and family --happy 2014 and thanks for hanging out with us and the monkeys - there still out and about toooo the tapir has been roaming around the grounds again.. 3 nites in a row now -- 2 nites ago half the guests were running around in their jamma's chasing this 450 pound rain forest beast in the garden. lots of great pixs and lots of happy people the taoir toooo he got his fill with papaya and banananana's .. the entire gang is ready for him again tonite - Jamma's and camera's ready - you all have a wonderful year and come back to see us again ok??? thanks katya - terry and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    21
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
73
125
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Lookout for 6 days at the end of November and although it was meant to be near the end of the rainy season, it hardly rained at all the whole time we were there. The friendly owner Terry picked us up from the airstrip and told us all about the area on the journey to the lodge. It was quite busy at the lodge considering it was supposed to be their quiet season and we met some lovely people with whom we could share wildlife sighting stories with and go for walks along the beach at night after dinner looking for turtles laying their eggs. It was also nice hearing about other peoples experiences whilst having drinks at sunset and also during meal times with the other guests.

We stayed in the Blue Butterfly cabin which is an open air cabin and surrounded by jungle. We were a bit apprehensive about staying in this type of room to begin with but once you're in there, it's not a problem at all. One thing we didn't have was hot water (Terry can't currently get it up to that cabin), so although I was ok with the cold showers, my girlfriend wasn't so pleased but she was able to use the shower in the Tiki Huts on a couple of occasions after being offered by a lovely family we met at the lodge.

I was quite surprised by how few mosquito's there were in the area as they were not a problem and considering you're surrounded by jungle there were hardly any insects in the room at all. The biggest problem is making sure you leave nothing out in the rooms as the White-face Capuchin monkeys occasionally pass through the rooms but they did not disturb any of our stuff during our stay. One night I could hear some rustling outside the room, turned on my torch to find a Tamandua (anteater) foraging just outside our room and on other occasions we spotted a Coati and a Toucan from our room as well as numerous Squirrel Monkeys and Scarlet Macaws, a Tayra, hummingbirds, vultures (including a rare King Vulture), hawks etc etc etc.

The food was good and I especially enjoyed breakfast and dinner where there was different options each day and plenty of it. The desserts were especially good and Terry kept giving me extra portions as he obviously thought I needed fattening up. All the staff were polite and friendly and do a good job.

Whilst at the lodge, we did do a few activities such as the night walk around the frog ponds (guided by Terry's wife Katya) to see the red-eyed tree frogs, we took a canoe out on the nearby lagoon at sunrise which was very peaceful and also went on a few hikes. The biggest walk was a day hike into Corcovado with a guide that was being given a trial run by the lodge. He hardly spoke any English but he was a very nice bloke that was still able to communicate with us and was able to spot different wildlife such as Trogons as well as Tapir tracks in the sand and on the trails. He also climbed a palm tree to knock down some coconuts that he then opened for us to drink from and eat. We also did the Stairway to Heaven walk and although this was peaceful, keep in mind that the stairs are very steep in parts.

Another enjoyable thing we did after dark was searching for turtles where a few guests from the lodge walked along the beach with torches looking for turtles that have hauled themselves up to lay eggs. I think that every night during our stay, someone managed to see a turtle of some sort and we saw Green and Olive Ridley turtles. One morning I was also fortunate enough to find baby turtles hatching and making a dash for the water which was excellent to see and I think I counted around 30-40 of them.

Overall I really enjoyed my time at the lodge and hope to get the opportunity to do it again some day as there's still plenty of wildlife in the area that I didn't see and we saw more wildlife around the lodge than on any of the hikes we did during our stay.

Darren & Clare

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
hello dar & clar -- good day -

believe it or not .. i installed a hot water heater in the '' BLUE BUTTERFLY & MONKEY HOUSE ''
added a small lil 12 volt pump and holly molly it worked -- now you can return and hang out with the monkeys in warm water -- and those hairy lil guys are still hanging around us daily as is the scarlet macaws.. had the tapir here a few nites ago and the humpback whales are out front jumping around --and as you all know we are right on the pacific ocean with the rain forest wrapped around us.. -- enjoy 2014 and hope some day you all return ...thanks the lookout inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I spent 10 days at the Lookout Inn Lodge on recommendation from my parents who had traveled there the year before. What an amazing spot! If you enjoy camping and the closeness with the outdoors but are also looking for some more modern amenities, this place is STRONGLY recommended.
The food was excellent, cooked to serve and to accommodate those that don't or can't eat certain foods. The staff was top-notch and helpful in more ways than expected or required. They made the stay very pleasant and helped with the community-type atmosphere that I haven't seen anywhere.
Finally, this is a nature lovers paradise. While staying here, I was able to identify over 100 species of birds (and there were many that I couldn't) and saw many monkeys and other animals that I had not seen on previous trips to Costa Rica.
So much to do, so little time. I would recommend it to anyone, solo, or families, to visit Lookout and enjoy their stay

Room Tip: Many rooms are open to insects and small lizards. Though all the beds have mosquito netting, I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
hello aaron -- great to hear from u our new friend and birder dude.. and your mom and dad are returning in feb. 2014 for a week of birding and playing in the sun & salt water -- all is well here at the lookout inn .. the TAPIR showed up again 4 nites ago we all watched him at the banana station eating like a pig-- every one loved this beast.. hope all is well in the states and come back home to us soon.. thanks and happy holidays.. terry -katya and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We visited Lookout following a recommendation from a friend, and much internet searching. we wanted somewhere to take our son where the wildlife was close, and where we could chill out.
Well..... the Lookout has so much to offer if you want to get away from it all and get close up with things flying, walking, crawling , hopping ..... and Terry!
We stayed for nearly two weeks in the Tiki Huts, at the end of the (not very) rainy season. The huts are brilliant: comfortable beds, open to the jungle, and spacious. Monkeys in the bathroom, iguanas in the trees, macaws,vultures and toucans just outside, and humming birds in the room. Wow!
Dining up in the trees on the Lookout balconies, again surrounded by birds and monkeys(guard your breakfast and sunglasses). Quite extraordinary stuff.
We walked on the beach (swimming, be warned is not for the timid) , watched turtles laying and hatching (amazing), and climbed up the Stairway to Heaven into the forest. The Park? It's a long long day if you want to go there.... we didn't yet saw just about everything (except the tapir!)
The kitchen and it's staff do an amazing job, and Terry ........ SO much enthusiasm and belief in what he's does and has done. Well done mate!
Don't expect aircon, some rooms don't have hot water, the website is out of date in terms of activities available at no extra cost, so enquire rather than be disappointed.
Thanks again to everyone at Lookout for making such a special holiday for the three of us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
good day my English family .. and thanks for the ''good mate '' and that sleep quality we could improve on if we can slow the pacific ocean down some and make those crashing waves a bit less eh ?????????

this place is still full of monkeys -scarlet macaws and terry -- wild and wonderful and the chef is still baking those fresh cinnamon buns every morning - life is good yes?? you all have a great time across the sea and hope to see you again.. thank u all so much katya the lookout inn team & terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

After 5 previous visits to the Osa, we finally decided to try a trip down during the "rainy season"
( not only was it an easier time to travel, and a quieter time with fewer lodgers, we were also offered a substaintial discount!) and the first night there we went to sleep while 5 inches of rain fall pounded our roof...we could hardly hear the ocean waves which we always look forward to....but in the following week it rained only occasionally and always briefly. We got to do all of the things we normally do and had a wonderful time, as usual. Next time we are thinking about going down at the end of April simply because the hosts told us that is there favorite time of year!
If you like being away from tourist-type places, enjoy nature and animals, an unusual out-of- the-way accommodation in a beautiful part of Costa Rica...you will enjoy Terry & Katia's Lookout Inn!

Room Tip: All different and all fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
hello tom .. its always a wonderful treat to have you join us here at the lookout inn..-- the rains have come and gone and we are about 100 '' below normal rain fall for the season - its hot --dry and beautiful here and summer is on us -- take care and hope to visit you 2 this 2014 -- keep an eye on the new ''boutique bed & breakfast '' ( inn jimenez ) opening soon.. love to ya ... katya -terry and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Having been to The Lookout before we were excited to try it during rainy season and take advantage of the discount prices. We just spent a week there. The weather was wonderful - plenty of sun and the few rain storms, which generally happened at night, were a great way to experience and connect the cycle of the rainforest...plus they provided stunning visual and auditory memories - heavy rain, silent birds, frog calls, incredible clouds, the rainforest coming back to life, etc...

The Osa is a gem of a place. Don't waste your time with a one day trip, spend at least 2-3 nights at The Lookout Inn to take in the Osa experience. I am always amazed at how little effort it takes to see wildlife and incredible landscapes when I am at The Lookout Inn. With no effort, the beach is right there and so is the rainforest = ideal location!

As always, the staff were friendly, courteous, and helpful. The meals were great. It really is an extra treat to not have to think about meals...everything is prepared for you; fresh, delicious, local and plenty of it! The owners, Terry and Katia, work hard to make sure their guests have everything they need, answer questions, help plan experiences, and provide wonderful accommodations.

Last year we went with my 17 year old son, my 32 year old sister, and 10 year old niece. Everyone said it was the best trip they had ever been on and recall great memories...and they all want to go back!

If you are planning a trip to Osa, the best place to stay is The Lookout Inn!

Room Tip: All the open air rooms are great for those who want that experience. There are 2 cabins that provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
hello newman susan -- we all here miss you so much u need to come back now -- please

every time u guys visit it gets better yes??? katya and i want to visit u2 so get ready in july 2014 -- let mr. bone know ok?? and have the bar well stocked --

all is well here at the lookout inn.. sun shine -- great food -- ocean sunsets and that darn pacific is still salty.. love you guys ter * kat and the great team and i thank God i have a great team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanalei
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The best spots in the world are at the “end of the road,” and Lookout Inn is located at the end of the end of the road. A spectacular location built into the jungle, a few yards (or meters to our metric friends) to miles of unspoiled sandy beach with perfect rolling waves – sounds like a cliché, but it’s true. We know our beaches – we live on the North Shore of Kauai. Carate is one of the few special places that motivate us to travel away from our paradise abode. Bring your kayaks or paddle boards with you if you can manage some surf.

We have visited Lookout twice in the last 3 years, and each time left very enthusiastic about our visits. The food would be great in any locale, but when one realizes that Lookout is off the grid, powered only by solar and some gas hauled in over the long road in, it is simply impressive. Most of the rooms are open air, with mosquito nets that aren’t even needed. You literally are living in the jungle, with a solid roof over your head. One can only marvel at the creative design of the lodge, the sight of the Corcovado coastline during a lightning storm, the streaming early morning sun light on a pristine black sand beach.

And your hosts Terry and Katya are two of the most unique, delightful people you will ever meet.

Go there when you can. There are not many places in this world comparable to this “end of the road.”

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
hi steve and everyone else reading this.. .. thanks so much for a nice review its always wonderful to see returned guests -- we all here at the lookout inn must be doing something correct - thank God I have a wonderful staff -- all is well here on the osa peninsula and remember the new boutique bed & breakfast katya and I are opening soon well we hope to open the doors around dec. 10th .. will email every one soon.. its called INN JIMENEZ so visit us .. see ya all soon or 2014.. thanks again terry - katya and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lookout Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Inn Lodge

Address: Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lookout Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Inn Lodge is a Costa Rica eco lodge in the Osa Peninsula rainforest. It is located completely off the beaten path in the town of Carate and is next to the world-renowned Corcovado National Park. Ideally situated to offer comfortable and affordable eco-friendly accommodations to the traveler visiting this remote part of Costa Rica, the Lookout Inn Lodge is sure to impress. Nestled in the hillside right above the road and the black sand beach, the lodge provides spectacular views of the surrounding jungle rainforest, the majestic Pacific Ocean and an endless unspoiled Osa Peninsula coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lookout Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Carate
Lookout Inn Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookout Inn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.