We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The trip of a lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout Inn Lodge

Save Saved
You added Lookout Inn Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lookout Inn Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Rainy Season Special
providence RI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The trip of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We just returned from a week at the Lookout Inn and already want to plan our next trip. An experience that will forever remain with us. From the adventure of simply getting to this remote place to the sitting down to dine with the owners, there is not a moment that you are not made to feel like a member of Family. We were lucky enough to have had the experience of staying in two different cabanas, the Blue Butterfly and the Monkey House. Both open air cabanas have the feel of being in the jungle. Both are totally worth the 45 steps it takes to get to the highest parts of the property. The morning views while laying in bed and listening to the sounds of the jungle coming alive is something that can not be believed until you have experienced it for yourself. We also recomend this same time of the day to get up and make your way to the beach for a walk that you only see on advertisements, deserted and alone we walked the beach for an hour and never found anyone else. We turned to only see our footsteps in the sand. The Food and the Staff at the Inn are the best. We can't say enough about how attentive the Staff is to the needs of the guests. Making sure that if you need something they are there ready to get it. The chef is a master of tastes and combinations of flavors that only seemed to get better as each day went on. The fresh fruit was to die for, bananas and mango that just can not be matched. Fresh eggs and breads made breakfast the perfect way to charge up for our morning hikes. Lunch and Dinner are served on the third level for the perfect combination of cooling breezes and big time views. Again the food is the centerpiece here, and also a great time to meet and get to know all the different guests that come and go. We met other guests from the United States, ones from Canada, Germany and Italy. You get the chance to learn about how others live and the way that they found thier way to the Lookout Inn. We highly recommend doing the majority of your hikes in the morning hours before lunch. We would usually leave after breakfast and return just before lunch. After lunch is the perfect time sit and relax either on the beach or poolside, or as we did BOTH. We gave the boogie boards a go in the surf, which took some time to figure it out. But the floating in the pool was something we perfected very quickly. Plenty of room to find a place to sit and just watch and listen to the many birds that visit the area. The gardens all over the property catch the eye with every step. Filling the air with fragrances we have never smelled before. Make sure to use the back set of stairs to see even more variaties of plants. Another daily high point for us was happy hour, the drinks that were created used a variety of local and international liquors to make some very tastey drinks. And as always an ice cold beer goes down very well too. happy hour seemed to be a great way to interact with Terry, the owner,as some nights he is " on the grill". Making sure that the main course was grilled to perfection is something he has mastered. On the nights he was not grilling he would sit and take the time to chat with each guest and make sure that your having the best time possible. And to add the touch of a woman to this amazing place is Katya, who along with Terry could not have been any nicer. To be a guest at the Inn is like being a member of their family, and being invited to join them at their house. Comfortable and inviting is the perfect way to relax a bit before a dinner each night that was just perfect. Again the flavors and foods were mixed to perfection. The nightly deserts were also a great way to taste the variety the chef can do. We would recommend this place to anyone who wants a vacation like no other, a vacation that breaks away from the ordinary. A vacation that we look forward to doing again very soon!!
Thank You Terry and Katya for an even better week than we could ever have had imagined,
Jay and Adrienne

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
hello my new friends from mass. i bet its cold up there right now si?? all is well at the lookout inn -- your family here misses u2- it was a true pleasure meeting you guys and hanging around with you and enjoying all that great food and of course the happy hour spirits --

and thank u so much for this wonderful review- jay you should come back and write for me cause i am terrible on this lap top -- some day come back with the 2 kids and share the great times again - ok?? have a fantastic 2013 -- love to you all - katya terry and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    20
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
70
121
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is the first time I've been to Costa Rica. My girlfriend and I were looking for something relaxing and off the beaten track. We were not looking for a bumping club scene and drunk kids on Jet Skis and so forth. The Lookout Inn was perfect. The beach is stunning, with a constant flow of big swells for body surfing. There were many times when we were the only people on the beach, even when the hotel was fully occupied.

The opportunity to see beautiful wildlife in their natural habitat was also fantastic. We went on a couple of amazing hikes and saw 4 different species of monkeys and countless birds, snakes and butterflies. A dawn kayaking trip to the Lagoon was also extremely memorable.

Terry the owner is a nut, but in the best sense of the word. He's very friendly and a has funny sense of humor. Don't let that fool you, he runs a very professional operation. The hotel is clean and well maintained, the staff is excellent and the food delicious. Terry has a very easy way with people, and after a few days we felt like he was an old friend.

The hotel itself is like a big tree house. Wooden platforms lead through the jungle to the various out buildings. We stayed in one of the "tiki huts". At first I thought I was going to be uncomfortable, being a spoiled urbanite from Brooklyn. I soon found that the friendly, well kept atmosphere and the soothing sound of the ocean really helped me unwind. We went to bed when the sun went down and got up when it came up. I've never slept better. On two morning we woke up because a band of capuchin monkeys were eating bananas nearby, scampering around and being very entertaining.

This was one of the best trips I've ever taken. I would go back in a second. I highly recommend this place. Go before everyone discovers it.

Room Tip: The tiki huts are great, but we checked out the Monkey House and that looks even better. For a few e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
hello paul and keri -- thanks so very much for a wonderful write up-- we miss you here at the lookout inn and really miss that buster-- our guitar is waiting for you to return and rock the house //lodge down - its still hot-sunny- and tropical here and those darn monkeys are all over the place.. mahi mahi for dinner tonite and of course happy hour -- please come back and hang with us all again soon .. love to u 2 and thank you so very much -- katya*terry & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is the third time we've stayed at LookOut Inn in Carate. What a great respite from the winter to go to this wild place filled with flowering plants, roaring ocean, and so many species of birds I lost count. We stayed in the Blue Butterfly this trip, an open air, roofed platform up high enough to catch cool breezes. Here's the thing about the jungle: if you sit quietly for long enough, you'll see the whole busy world fly or crawl by. Monkeys and giant iguanas in the trees, coati mundis scurrying in the underbrush, scarlet macaws screaming across the blue sky in a streak of red. My favorite thing this time was kayaking in the lagoon. Scott was our guide and took us on a paddle to see spoonbills, storks, and far-off caimans (just the way you want them...) I had the best massage from Julie. And Terry and Katya, as always, are so welcoming, so friendly. And their staff was so accommodating. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
karen where to go girl -- well your going to the right place (lookout inn) and like arnold says ''We'll be back again '' i think we had 25 - 30 % return guests in the month of feb. and they all tell us that toooo ''we'll be back '' --

the scarlet macaws and the white face monkeys all over the lodge again this morning and its a boring 89' F. sunny & tropical day again.. soon the lil rains begin and the famous red eye tree frogs are out -- this is another great time to visit us .. so every one pack your bags -pack lite and bring flashlites and a smile -- see ya all soon... terry /katya & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our third trip to the Lookout Inn, Carate, Costa Rica. As always the food was superb, the wildlife was everywhere and Terry and Katya, who run the place, couldn't have been more accommodating. It's probably the best place we know where you can completely unwind as you walk the beach, hike the jungle or just take long naps. This time we stayed in the Blue Butterfly room, which we highly recommend. We also kayaked the nearby freshwater lagoon where we saw dozens of different species of birds, caimans, monkeys, and even an otter. We're already talking about when we'll return later this year. And finally, I think it says a lot about a place when at least half the other guests visiting at the same time we were, were repeat visitors. We thought we were veterans having visited three times, but many others were going on 7 to 10 years. That's high praise for any hotel anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine, but if you want to be higher in the trees, pick Blue Butterfly or the Monkey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Manager at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
hello doug - its a wonderful thing to have our guests return to the lookout inn -- we must be doing something correct at least most of the time eh??? -- kayaking is still a big hit here and the bird life in the lagoon is un believable -- its still sunny & hot and all of u in the snow belt or cold belt come on down .. see what your missing ...doug thanks a million and see ya soon....ter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Lori and I ('Woody') had a GREAT TIME ! From 4:00pm arm-chair bird watching to six hour pre-dawn hikes, Kayaks in the Lagoon at sunrise with Katya (and Lori), Carate River walks, Outstanding Food EVERY TIME !! We'll be back for Spectacular Sunsets and "Terry-Talk" and last call with Scott . . . who delivers ! Wonderful accommodations and Breakfast with 'Erma'. Great value, better fun.

Woody and Lori from New Hampshire

Room Tip: If you're a light-weight and afraid of bugs, hot sun, laughter and Great People . . . just stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
hello woody and Lori -- back home in the snow i presume -- we had a great time with you 2 bird lovers and katya is still talking about the tours - send a photo of the red headed wood pecker to us ok ?? actually send all your great pixs to us and we shall get them out for the world to see -- another sunny hot tropical day here at our eco*lodge -- just had the white face monkeys race in and took all the banana.s -- now the birds are a bit upset -- come on back to your costa rica home soon ok-- thanks so much terry * katya and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I just got back from Terri and Katia's place - "The lookout inn" - and it was wonderful.
This place is so beautiful, unbelievable view of the ocean and incredible animals together with kind and generous hospitality and delicious delicious food, what else can you ask for? Oh, and everything is super super clean.
So, if you are thinking about doing to Costa Rica, don't think twice and go to Corcovado. And if you are going to Corcovado, I recommend on staying there for at least 4 days-week. In any case- for how long you choose to stay - the Lookout Inn is the place to stay. By the way, the owners helped me organize hiking and other activities and transportation in the area, so no need to worry about it from advance.
Enjoy :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Manager at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
hello dana - back home in tel aviv -- and congrats on the new baby arriving soon, all is good here at the lookout inn actually got 5'' of rain last nite .. cleaned and washed up the dusty trees and the roads and all the critters are happy and bathed toooooo
-- thank u so much for visiting us and sharing your vacation time here at the lookout inn ter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week at the Lookout and loved it. If you like adventure, nature, wilderness, warm weather-water and beaches this is the best. The Inn takes care of you like you are famliy which is what you are when you are there. The food is great which considering it serves your three meals a day is amazing. Fresh and wonderful we never even thought of going out to eat. Around every turn, down each road and path, everywhere is magnificant exotic wildlife and nature to make everyone feel like a child again. This is perhaps the sweetest spot we have seen in our many exotic vacations.

Larry P

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
hello larry --thanks again for visiting us at the lookout inn again-- we must be doing something correct we had about 30 % return guests for feb 2013-- and the last one left today jeff and his bride to be Bea -- all is well here the food is still the best ( family style buffet meals) and the wild life always close by - hope to get to calif soon and see you guys thanks again from the GREATEST SPOT ON EARTH love to you all terry * katya and the lookout inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lookout Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Inn Lodge

Address: Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lookout Inn Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Inn Lodge is a Costa Rica eco lodge in the Osa Peninsula rainforest. It is located completely off the beaten path in the town of Carate and is next to the world-renowned Corcovado National Park. Ideally situated to offer comfortable and affordable eco-friendly accommodations to the traveler visiting this remote part of Costa Rica, the Lookout Inn Lodge is sure to impress. Nestled in the hillside right above the road and the black sand beach, the lodge provides spectacular views of the surrounding jungle rainforest, the majestic Pacific Ocean and an endless unspoiled Osa Peninsula coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Lookout Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Carate
Lookout Inn Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookout Inn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.