We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get your jungle on...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout Inn Lodge

Save Saved
You added Lookout Inn Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lookout Inn Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Rainy Season Special
Iowa
2 reviews
“Get your jungle on...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is the third time we've stayed at LookOut Inn in Carate. What a great respite from the winter to go to this wild place filled with flowering plants, roaring ocean, and so many species of birds I lost count. We stayed in the Blue Butterfly this trip, an open air, roofed platform up high enough to catch cool breezes. Here's the thing about the jungle: if you sit quietly for long enough, you'll see the whole busy world fly or crawl by. Monkeys and giant iguanas in the trees, coati mundis scurrying in the underbrush, scarlet macaws screaming across the blue sky in a streak of red. My favorite thing this time was kayaking in the lagoon. Scott was our guide and took us on a paddle to see spoonbills, storks, and far-off caimans (just the way you want them...) I had the best massage from Julie. And Terry and Katya, as always, are so welcoming, so friendly. And their staff was so accommodating. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
karen where to go girl -- well your going to the right place (lookout inn) and like arnold says ''We'll be back again '' i think we had 25 - 30 % return guests in the month of feb. and they all tell us that toooo ''we'll be back '' --

the scarlet macaws and the white face monkeys all over the lodge again this morning and its a boring 89' F. sunny & tropical day again.. soon the lil rains begin and the famous red eye tree frogs are out -- this is another great time to visit us .. so every one pack your bags -pack lite and bring flashlites and a smile -- see ya all soon... terry /katya & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    20
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
72
122
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our third trip to the Lookout Inn, Carate, Costa Rica. As always the food was superb, the wildlife was everywhere and Terry and Katya, who run the place, couldn't have been more accommodating. It's probably the best place we know where you can completely unwind as you walk the beach, hike the jungle or just take long naps. This time we stayed in the Blue Butterfly room, which we highly recommend. We also kayaked the nearby freshwater lagoon where we saw dozens of different species of birds, caimans, monkeys, and even an otter. We're already talking about when we'll return later this year. And finally, I think it says a lot about a place when at least half the other guests visiting at the same time we were, were repeat visitors. We thought we were veterans having visited three times, but many others were going on 7 to 10 years. That's high praise for any hotel anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine, but if you want to be higher in the trees, pick Blue Butterfly or the Monkey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Manager at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
hello doug - its a wonderful thing to have our guests return to the lookout inn -- we must be doing something correct at least most of the time eh??? -- kayaking is still a big hit here and the bird life in the lagoon is un believable -- its still sunny & hot and all of u in the snow belt or cold belt come on down .. see what your missing ...doug thanks a million and see ya soon....ter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Lori and I ('Woody') had a GREAT TIME ! From 4:00pm arm-chair bird watching to six hour pre-dawn hikes, Kayaks in the Lagoon at sunrise with Katya (and Lori), Carate River walks, Outstanding Food EVERY TIME !! We'll be back for Spectacular Sunsets and "Terry-Talk" and last call with Scott . . . who delivers ! Wonderful accommodations and Breakfast with 'Erma'. Great value, better fun.

Woody and Lori from New Hampshire

Room Tip: If you're a light-weight and afraid of bugs, hot sun, laughter and Great People . . . just stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
hello woody and Lori -- back home in the snow i presume -- we had a great time with you 2 bird lovers and katya is still talking about the tours - send a photo of the red headed wood pecker to us ok ?? actually send all your great pixs to us and we shall get them out for the world to see -- another sunny hot tropical day here at our eco*lodge -- just had the white face monkeys race in and took all the banana.s -- now the birds are a bit upset -- come on back to your costa rica home soon ok-- thanks so much terry * katya and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I just got back from Terri and Katia's place - "The lookout inn" - and it was wonderful.
This place is so beautiful, unbelievable view of the ocean and incredible animals together with kind and generous hospitality and delicious delicious food, what else can you ask for? Oh, and everything is super super clean.
So, if you are thinking about doing to Costa Rica, don't think twice and go to Corcovado. And if you are going to Corcovado, I recommend on staying there for at least 4 days-week. In any case- for how long you choose to stay - the Lookout Inn is the place to stay. By the way, the owners helped me organize hiking and other activities and transportation in the area, so no need to worry about it from advance.
Enjoy :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Manager at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
hello dana - back home in tel aviv -- and congrats on the new baby arriving soon, all is good here at the lookout inn actually got 5'' of rain last nite .. cleaned and washed up the dusty trees and the roads and all the critters are happy and bathed toooooo
-- thank u so much for visiting us and sharing your vacation time here at the lookout inn ter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week at the Lookout and loved it. If you like adventure, nature, wilderness, warm weather-water and beaches this is the best. The Inn takes care of you like you are famliy which is what you are when you are there. The food is great which considering it serves your three meals a day is amazing. Fresh and wonderful we never even thought of going out to eat. Around every turn, down each road and path, everywhere is magnificant exotic wildlife and nature to make everyone feel like a child again. This is perhaps the sweetest spot we have seen in our many exotic vacations.

Larry P

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
hello larry --thanks again for visiting us at the lookout inn again-- we must be doing something correct we had about 30 % return guests for feb 2013-- and the last one left today jeff and his bride to be Bea -- all is well here the food is still the best ( family style buffet meals) and the wild life always close by - hope to get to calif soon and see you guys thanks again from the GREATEST SPOT ON EARTH love to you all terry * katya and the lookout inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have been fortunate enough to travel to the Osa Peninsula in Costa Rica for 7 years! The Lookout Inn has become a home away from home! Fabulous wildlife viewing, the beautiful Ocean view with sunrises and sunsets, fresh fruit, fresh fish, beach walks, comfortable hammocks and the pool add up to ONE big RELAXING trip! Your hardest decision becomes whether to swim in the Ocean, read by the pool , walk on the beach, kayak on the Lagoon or sitting on the one of the awesome decks watching Macaws fly by! This year returning to the Lookout was even MORE special as several return visitor (now friends) were there! For a TRUE wildlife get-away with fabulous extra's, check out visiting the Lookout Inn!

Room Tip: There are several choices of rooms from Tiki huts, Hotel-style rooms to open air cabina's so mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello Pam. All is great here at Lookout Inn. It was about 90F yesterday and thank God for the cool Pacific Ocean breezes and ice cold drinks. Yes, it is a hard decision picking what to enjoy first at Lookout...and the Scarlet Macaws are always flying around - hard to miss them! Most people have a hard time fitting in all the activities like exploring Corcovado National Park, horseback riding on the beach, hiking to the waterfalls, or gold mining at Park gold miners camp. Now that you are home in Montana, probably deep in snow (and no hammocks), I hope you don't freeze! We enjoyed having you and hope to see you next year. say hi to hubby all all of your 6-7 weener dog//puppys -- and your 3 llamas byeeeeeeeee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just finished my 7th stay at Lookout Inn and it just keeps getting better. Each year I feel like I'm going to see friends. The owners and staff at Lookout Inn make you feel like one of the family and not just a guest. Great food, comfortable accomodations and a view of the setting sun to die for are just a few of the reasons Lookout Inn is high on my list of destinations on the Osa. And did I mention Scarlet Macaws?

Pura Vida and see you next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
hello back to you nick from fucci photos -- great year again with you and the mrs.. hanging out and taking pictures of about every thing here -- post them in trip advisor and face book ok?? thanks for visitng again and i know we shall see you again next jan 2014 -- more books and more M & M 's -- enjoy montana and your alaskan tour -- send us some smoked salmon and lots of bear pixs..
we had another green sea turtle on the beach again layiing eggs last nite -- katya starts her sea turtle protection program in aug. so come on back then tooooooooooooooo -- she could use some help on the beach -- her goal this season is to cover 200 nests and save about 15,000 babys -- thanks again.. terry at the inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lookout Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Inn Lodge

Address: Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lookout Inn Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Inn Lodge is a Costa Rica eco lodge in the Osa Peninsula rainforest. It is located completely off the beaten path in the town of Carate and is next to the world-renowned Corcovado National Park. Ideally situated to offer comfortable and affordable eco-friendly accommodations to the traveler visiting this remote part of Costa Rica, the Lookout Inn Lodge is sure to impress. Nestled in the hillside right above the road and the black sand beach, the lodge provides spectacular views of the surrounding jungle rainforest, the majestic Pacific Ocean and an endless unspoiled Osa Peninsula coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, HostelWorld, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Lookout Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Carate
Lookout Inn Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookout Inn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.