We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainforest happiness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout Inn Lodge

Save Saved
You added Lookout Inn Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lookout Inn Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Rainy Season Special
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Rainforest happiness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Lookout; we had a very memorable jungle vacation (experience). I love driving on challenging roads so the drive from Uvita (Tiki Villas Rainforest Lodge) to Carate was a great part of the experience for me, my wife in the passenger seat was not as big a fan of the 23 mile 1:50 minute drive. After crossing rivers, red mud pits, car size potholes and extremely steep inclines and declines along the way we arrived to Terry (owner of Lookout) hanging over the railing, yelling down to me… “Big Al, you made it here in that go-cart?” That was the beginning of enjoying his humor and free spirit. We could not help but to admire the amount of work that he, Katia and their crew put in everyday to maintain, stock and enhance this jungle and ocean hide away. The task of getting provisions for maintenance and meals must be a continuous challenge, but they make it look graceful.

Staying at the Lookout you can expect;
many stairs to and from wherever you go (seeing it is built on a mountainside)
A spectacular crashing Pacific with a round the clock roar (not really swimable when we were there)
Jungle sounds and animals
Three square meals a day… tasty and plentiful, served home-style
Chaise lounges under a canopy on the beach, no pads (ask for a yoga mat if you are uncomfortable)
A friendly smiling and efficient staff both cooks and housekeeping
A very nice plunge pool 6’ deep with room for a few folks – cooling and relaxing, but not for swimming.
Comfortable, clean, but rustic accommodations, limited lighting and very small fans (solar powered)
Lots of humidity, lots of animals, hikes, waterfalls, gardens, frogs…
A very interesting group of people to share adventures, philosophy maybe even discuss the meaning of life over a ‘cold one’ at one of the ‘family style’ meals. (this was really enjoyable a very international group)
Right when we got there Katia was doing a turtle release, a thousand baby turtles, scrambling to the water
Scarlet Macaws, monkeys, toucans, humming birds, frogs…. Ahhhh!

We slept in the Beach Bungalow one of a couple of cabins with all four walls, new screens, nice bathroom, great large porch with Adirondack chairs in a very convenient location. This was overall a highlight experience; I have yet to find the true jungle and human experience that the Lookout provides.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
hello big al.. loved that go cart rent a car ya all had-- thanks again for visiting us here at the lookout inn - things are still happening .. guests and animals daily and that scarlet macaw '' herba '' is still flying in for his morning and after nood snacks -- have a great season thanks again from all of us here at the lookout inn....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    20
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
72
122
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at the Lookout Inn in mid-December. It is in a spectacular location and the trip to Carate from Puerto Jimenez, either by air or over the epic road, is part of the fun. Terry and Katya are fun, excellent hosts and followed through with everything we needed, particularly helping us get entry permits for Corcovado park, arranging for their cook Gilberto to guide us, and the early breakfast and lunch to go the day we did the hike. I could go on and on; this is simply the most restful place we have ever visited, and we'll be back. There is a reason the Inn has a large repeat clientele.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
hi guys thanks for the nice write up / review - we try to please every one and give 110 % - and most of the time it pays off -- so we want to say to you all and every one that visits us and writes about us -- THANK YOU and God Bless from the lookout inn team carate beach

the tapir was on the top platform yesterday jan. 4th 2012 -- just hanging around - lots of guests with cameras so lets hope they ad their pics to trip advisor so the world can see this rainforest beast -- happy 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We spent a wonderful, relaxing week at Lookout Inn. This was our second trip to Costa Rica. On our first trip, we rented a car and drove all over CR. This time, we were looking for a more relaxing vacation and wanted to stay in one spot. This was our first time to visit Osa.

When we arrived at Lookout Inn, Terry upgraded our accommodations from the Tiki Hut to the Monkey House and Butterfly House, for no extra charge. We enjoyed the privacy of having the upper level of the resort grounds to ourselves. The Lookout Inn grounds are a beautiful garden, filled with wildlife and flowers. We saw monkeys every day and lots of birds. Terry and Katya are knowledgeable about the wildlife,and Katya loaned me several helpful bird guides. Katya is involved in sea turtle monitoring on the stretch of the beach in front of Lookout Inn. She invited the guests to go with her on several early morning and evening beach patrols. What a rare treat to be involved with counting and releasing sea turtle hatchings! Terry arranged for us to rent kayaks and we went birding in the lagoon. I would highly recommend the lagoon trip. Katya arranged a nature guide for us when we hiked in the Corcovado National Park. In the afternoons when it was too hot to hike, we lounged around the pool.

Terry arranged a taxi for us from Puerto Jimenez to Lookout Inn. The road to Lookout Inn has lots of river crossings and ruts, and we appreciated not having to negotiate the road ourselves. The taxi driver was delightful, telling stories and pointing out wildlife and teaching me the Spanish names for what we saw. I would not recommend renting a car. Once you're at Lookout Inn, you really don't need a car. We would definitely return to Lookout Inn! We found lots to do during the week we were there.

Room Tip: Great views from the Monkey House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Manager at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
happy new years patricia f. and say hello to the family from us all here at the lookout inn -- glad you all had a wonderful time --and the monkeys are still climbing around the cabins and the trees looking for you guys -- -- weather is still sunny and tropical 88 ' F and our scarlet macaw ''herba'' is still flying in for his daily sunflower seeds-- thanks so much for visiting us and hope some day you may return -- have a great 2012 love to you all katya -terry and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Overall all good experience at Lookout Inn. Do not expect Costa Rican food, the food was average (American Fare) nothing to wow about. We failed to receive breakfast before doing early morning activities (hiking in the park and kayaking) despite being promised a fried egg sandwich at six am before we left. So I would recommend communicating clearly with the owner and bringing back out snacks if you would like to do any early morning activities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
hello claire and happy new years -- all of us here at the lookout inn are wondering and puzzled regarding the no food bit -- my kitchen staff and chef are here every day at 5 am getting coffee -tea juice ready and preparing fruits and breakfast for all our wonderful guests -- sorry but no one leaves here with out a full belly -- all else is great though the scarlet macaws are all over the sky and in the wild almond trees -- the monkeys visit us daily - the iguanas are hanging about in the rain forest jobo trees out front and that tapir is still roaming in our gardens. please return some day and again we all here at the lookout inn thank you for your visit..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmacks, Yukon Territory, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We just returned from a holiday vacation at Look Out Inn. There, we enjoyed walking on the beach, assisting Katya with patrolling and maintaining turtle nests, hiking in Corcovado National Park, monkey and bird watching, swimming and boogie boarding in the ocean, kayaking, and resting and relaxing. Terry, Katya and their staff are friendly and helpful hosts. They arranged for our taxis to and from the Puerto Jiminez airport, secured park passes, made arrangements for kayaking, shared interesting history and anecdotes of the park and area, and were attentive to our every need. We stayed in the Monkey House, and true to its name, a tribe of white faced monkeys traveled through the trees at eye level and arms length every day. I look forward to our next trip to Peninsula de Osa, and our next stay at Look Out Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
hello jed -- how was the rest of your trip?? email me when you get time ok??? all is well here -- new years was a hit again our 13 annual BBQ pig//chicken roast on the beach -- a wonderful time and most every one was in bed by 8 or 9 pm we have cardboard box we make as a clock and rotate it to midnite at 8 -- and every one has a bit of bubbly and leaves for their cabins.. weather is still perfect -- 88 ' F sunny and tropical and the monkeys still here- some day come on back thanks so much for the visit -- ter /kat and the lookout inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stopped at the Lookout inn for drinks & food after arriving early in Carate to hike into Sirena the following day. They were currently in low-season deep cleaning but still welcomed us with open arms and served up an excellent and good value meal. The rooms were fabulous and we would've definitely stayed had we had more time - felt like you were in a very plush family home. Katya was incredibly lovely as were all the staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
hello this is katya -- Emilio and Sara Could be terrible if i mixx your names . we are so glad to have find your surprising review hope you have had a good adventure at the Corcovado Park . Beautiful people are always welcome in our dayly life. please email us our about your wonderful succesful trip in costa rica.
Look Out inn Life continued easy and full of nature touch. of course turtle everyday. a big danta ( tapir ) track on the beach beautiful scarlet macaws. keep us in your memory hope to see you soon. katya bellanero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We visit Lookout Inn at least every 2 years and we don't stay anywhere in Costa Rica but here. Lookout Inn is located in a very remote place in Osa Peninsula but the trip to get there is well worth it! The location itself is paradise! Eco-lodge built on a hillside right in front of a black sand beach and surrounded by a lush rainforest. You'll hear frogs, birds, monkeys, the ocean, rain- all in one day! You don't even have to go to the national park (Corcovado National Park) to see wild animals- you can just relax on your hammock and animals will just roam freely. You'll see monkeys, coatis, anteaters, macaws (lots of them!), tucans & hundred more other bird species, iguanas, sea turtles, whales & dolphins (while sitting on the balcony of the lodge), snakes, frogs, crocodiles- and lots more I can't name. The lodge is not a five star hotel so you can't expect fluffy towels and bedsheets but who cares about those things if you're in the rainforest. The owners- Terry & Katya are wonderful! Where can you experience the owners cooking and dining with you at the same time- Teri even bakes his own bread & makes his own cheese- whoa!!! Hubby and I comes here when we feel we need to get away from city life and/or to celebrate anniversaries or holidays- Teri & Katya always takes care of us! We love you guys and thanks for always opening your door to us!!!

Room Tip: Any room/cabin is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
hello sunnie and les.. thanks for the nice review hope all is well in calif.. its sunny -rain-eeee and tropical here -- still lots of sea turtles on the beach and katya is out there every morning covering nests and protecting babys as they run to the pacific -- and of course the scarlet macaws and monkeys are all over the place... last week hump back whales out front most of the day -- thanks again for the love and friendship see ya again in a few years -- katya- terry & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lookout Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Inn Lodge

Address: Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lookout Inn Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Inn Lodge is a Costa Rica eco lodge in the Osa Peninsula rainforest. It is located completely off the beaten path in the town of Carate and is next to the world-renowned Corcovado National Park. Ideally situated to offer comfortable and affordable eco-friendly accommodations to the traveler visiting this remote part of Costa Rica, the Lookout Inn Lodge is sure to impress. Nestled in the hillside right above the road and the black sand beach, the lodge provides spectacular views of the surrounding jungle rainforest, the majestic Pacific Ocean and an endless unspoiled Osa Peninsula coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Lookout Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Carate
Lookout Inn Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookout Inn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.