We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the adventure to get here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Luna Lodge to your Saves list
Luna Lodge
Osa Peninsula, Playa Carate, Corcovado | Peninsula de Osa, Playa Carate, Corcovado, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Folsom, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well worth the adventure to get here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We loved the Luna Lodge. The staff and Lana were all friendly, helpful, informative and accessible. The dining area is spectacular with a great view of the jungle below. The only thing we weren't aware of was the stream crossing you had to make to get to the property. We had to get out and wade through the water to see where the shallow areas were! But we loved the experience and the scenery from Puerto Jimenez to the lodge included is in the trip at no charge!! We saw all kinds of monkeys, birds and even a sloth high up in a tree picking and eating leaves.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    12
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
30
63
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is truly the private little lodge at the end of the jeep trail, as close to the rain forest as humanly or legally possible. Luna Lodge is a bio-diverse, self contained, well managed ecolodge with a "bed and breakfast" aura.
A creation of Lana Wedmore,owner, Luna Lodge offers her guests spiritual, mental, and physical opportunities that are not duplicated in the many hotels, lodges and resorts we have visited in Costa Rica. My wife enjoyed the yoga and experienced a massage, perfectly suited to her needs. I am an avid and energetic bird watcher and found Luna Lodge the epitome of the Costa Rican bird watching experience. My guide/naturalist, Oscar, assisted me in finding 69 species of birds, 3 endemic birds of the OSA peninsula, and I added 17 additional species to my lifetime bird list.
Our bungalow was clean, spacious, private and comfortable. The private deck afforded us a beautiful view of the Corcovada National Park and the surrounding rainforest. Our food was fresh, ample and very tasty.
The deck view of the Southern Cross in the night sky over the Pacific is our most favorite memory of Luna lodge. We will return and recommend Luna Lodge to our friends.

Room Tip: Higher numbered bungalows are farther uphill from the main lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have had the luck and fortune to have inadvertently booked with Lana, owner/operator of Luna Lodge two times, 15 years apart and at two locations. So, here's the story. In 1995-96, I was an AFS student here in Costa Rica and invited my mother to come down and spend a few weeks. As we had heard such wonderful things about Corcovado's natural beauty and it being the highlight of all destinations in the country (which it is), we decided to go. We booked at a locale at the edge of the park and loved it. Special attention by Lana made our stay amazing. Fast forward 15 years, and as my wife and I decided to take a second honeymoon we were fortunate to have my parents in-country. I researched extensively as to where to stay and Luna Lodge kept calling me. I booked several nights. What a moment of serendipity. After a long and beautiful taxi drive from Jimenez to the Lodge seeing monkeys and birds of all types, we were greeted by several members of the staff and Lana with drinks to take the edge of the jungle heat. I couldn't believe it. My mother's and mine mouths dropped. There was Lana, the same lady who made our trip such a marvelous experience 15 years before, now greeting us at different locale in the same beautiful region of Corcovado. Ok, enough of the small-world story.

I have had the fortune to sail around the world and see beauty in many regions and I will always say that Corcovado, and more specifically, Luna Lodge will remain in the top 5 of places experienced. I use that word because that is what this place is. It's not just a destination, but an experience. The experience of fine (and very healthy dining), the experience of the precise attention to detail and genuine interest in what the customer's needs and wants are, the experience that the guides will go out of their way to find that certain critter you want to see, the experience of just zoning out at sundown on the observation platform as macaws fly by; Luna Lodge embodies what will make your stay not just a relaxing get-away but a truly nirvana-like experience. If I sound like I can't say enough good about the place, well, I can't. The place is a gem, and one well-polished by Lana and her crew. I dream of my return.

Room Tip: I recommend staying in the tents if you want a real natural experience while still feeling pampered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfratshausen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Luna Lodge with it‘s stunning view and situated in the rain forest is an outstanding place in every respect.

Lana and her team (very courtous and likable) keep the promises that are made on the website 100 %.

They treat you with excellent food, fresh and delicious with options for vegetarians, a culinary delight for every one and every taste.


Our bungalow was airy, very cozy and perfectly clean. The room service is very professional and surprises you with special arrangements of flowers or towels etc.


It is the perfect place to relax and enjoy nature and provides you with unforgettable memories
(either joining one of the very well organized tours or simply smelling the fragnance of a ylang ylang tree, watching the monkeys or the macaws from the yoga platform or from the hammock on the main deck, admiring the beauty of the tropical flora and fauna etc)

Make sure you don‘t go without a spa treatment, which is ,delivered with care and loving attention, an unforgettable experience.

We will definitely come back as soon as possible.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

with most forms of real estate the decisive elements are (in the order listed): location, location and location. and here we have a clear winner. the lodge is built on the steep hills of one of the last pristine rain forests in costa rica (which, of course, is a crime). still, it's hard to escape the draw. there aren't many places on this planet, where you can sit on the floor of the restaurant and gaze at the distant ocean, while being swallowed by the vivid flora and fauna surrounding you. the bungalows and the restaurant are nothing short of spectacular, etc. etc.

so maybe it's good, that the luna lodge has some serious downsides preventing the place from being overrun: the atmosphere created by the regular guests is outright spooky, a somewhat unlikely mixture of nursing home, penal colony, zen monastery and kindergarten. the eco-label is somewhat pretended (water is heated with natural gas), the tours offered are a silly joke, the food is bad, in short, the place is terribly mismanaged by the owner, who even insists on regulating your daily access to the internetz.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna-Lodge, Owner at Luna Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
First of all - thank you very much for taking your time to review us here in Trip Advisor.
We are sorry that you did not take advantage of the free Sustainability tour, read the information provided in your room, or ask questions while you were here, so that you would have realized that the reason we are considered an Eco-lodge is because our electrical energy is provided 100% by hydro power, our filtering system for the pool is salt filtered and even the hot water for the showers is solar generated in the hacienda rooms.
Yes, at first it might seem inconsistent to have a Lodge in the heart of the forest that you are trying to preserve, but the fact is that the property where Luna Lodge sits had been burned down over 40 years ago by the last owner, with the intent to have a farm. The construction process of the Lodge was supervised by the Costa Rican Government and not a single tree of primary rainforest was cut. The forest that serves as the grounds for Luna Lodge is far healthier today than when Luna began.
Our guests are from all over the world and are amazing people. Potential visitors, please continue to read our other reviews to see how wonderful a trip to Luna can really be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

What an amazing time we had at Luna Lodge! Lana and her staff make you feel right at home from the moment you arrive til the day you say goodbye. The drive to the lodge is incredible. I think we crossed 7 rivers, saw green parrots, lapas, hawks, monkeys, iguanas...and that was only the drive in. We made it just in time to see the sunset, then settled into our "tent" huts...They consisted of tarp walls/net windows, two beds, a bathroom complete with a heated shower, and patios with rocking chairs perfect for relaxing.

We stayed two nights, with a hike in Corcovado during the day. One thing I would recommend is to make sure you drink enough water! We had been doing tons of hiking before we even got to Corcovado, and we showed up dehydrated- big mistake. Drink. Your. Water!!! :)

Luna Lodge was absolutely magical. Lana and her mother treat you as a dear friend, her staff goes above and beyond to make your stay relaxing, safe, and enjoyable. We ended up getting a flat tire and they helped us patch it up and change it to the spare. Then, when it was time to leave, Lana even gave us a cool alternate route through mountains and utilizing a one-car ferry to cross a wide river, we may have saved some time, and definitely enjoyed some spectacular views of the Osa. She also recommended a restaurant with an epic ocean-jungle view in Dominicalito en route to our next destination.

Overall, I give Luna Lodge and the Osa Peninsula an A+. 5 Stars. Will definitely be back for more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna-Lodge, Owner at Luna Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review – it makes us more than happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as it was wonderful for us to have you and your family as our guests! We hope to see you again soon and please feel free to email us anytime to keep in touch!
Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Luna Lodge in the tents at the top of the hill after spending 3 days in the Corcovado National Park. We had booked this as our recovery with the intention of doing NOTHING for 2 days.

The lodge is located far up a hill at the edge of Carate and the trip on the road is quite interesting in itself - not one for the timid self-drive!

The tents are plenty big enough for 2 people and are have great views to the ocean - the bathrooms are lovely. There's a lovely big swimming pool. As they are higher up It also seemed cooler than at the platform.

All the food is included and Lana and her mum Willy and their staff couldn't do enough for you. The food was very nice and there was plenty of it. One thing I did miss was that there was no fruit-juice offered at breakfast or any other time (lots of fresh fruit though) .

We did a night walk on the property with a guide to go in search of the red-eyed tree frog which we hadn't seen until then (it was a success).

Lana is very conscious of the encroachment of development on the Osa Peninsular and is fundraising to buy the strip of land from the Corcovado NP to Matapalo to maintain the wildlife corridor - having been in the park this is an essential task and I wish her well in her endeavours.

Luna Lodge was what we needed after the hike but 2 nights for us was enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna-Lodge, Owner at Luna Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time and writing a review. We enjoyed having you here as a guest and are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay! We hope to see you again in the future and wish you all the best! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Lodge

Address: Osa Peninsula, Playa Carate, Corcovado | Peninsula de Osa, Playa Carate, Corcovado, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in the tropical rain forest bordering Corcovado National Park, Luna Lodge is a unique resort described by many as "...a piece of true paradise". Its appeal is, not only, its natural beauty and environment, where the heliconia hang three feet long, and the howler monkeys wake you in the morning, but also, its ambiance. The owners' passion for the preservation of the forest is ever present, and the attentive courtesy, friendly staff always serve "con mucho gusto... with pleasure". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Luna Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Carate
Luna Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.