We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guide Suggested” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Corcovado National Park

Corcovado National Park
Parque Nacional Corcovado | Peninsula de Osa, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
84416612
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Carate
Type: National Parks
Attraction Details
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Guide Suggested”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A friend and I went to Corcovado National Park while staying in Puerto Jiminez. We had a guide during another hike the day before, but not this time. I would suggest a guide if you are going from that far. It is a little difficult to deal with the "colectivo" bus that takes you there, and it is a four hour ride. When you reach the park from the bus, it stops at a little bar, and from there you walk on the beach for over a mile to reach the start of the hike. The beach is absolutely beautiful but it is hard to walk on the sand in hiking boots. From there, the hike we did was very beautiful. It was flat (I'm from the mountains of Colorado so I'm used to strenuous hikes uphill), but the difficult part was being able to see. Also, there was a large river, Rio Madrugada, that was at a very high level and with a strong current. It almost took me out and took my camera! All of that is the price you pay for hiking in the jungle, but it would have been better with a guide. Also, we had a guide do the paperwork to get our entry into the park. It costs ($20 per group and then $10 per person for park entry), but it is worth it. If you don't do it through an agency, it sounds like a difficult process to deposit money to the park.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    40
    8
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just an amazing experience. Our guide, Mike Boston, was excellent. We would have missed so much without him there to point things out. We saw 4 kinds of monkeys, countless bird species, rocket deer, coatis, sloths, anteaters, tent bats, toucans, red macaws, squirrels etc... etc... In addition to all the wildlife, the jungle itself was amazing; the rivers and waterfalls, the plants the flowers. Truly an amazing experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Yellowstone of Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Corcovado was one of the most breathtaking places I've ever been, but definitely not for the faint of heart or outdoor newbies and I wouldn't recommend it to either without preparation... Of course I'm talking about the REAL Corcovado, not the guided, touristy, "nature in a box" way that the wealthy go about doing it... My backpacking group of 6 visited at the end of summer 2013 and stayed at Sirena station. There's only really one "trail" from the town of Carate to the 1st and 2nd ranger stations (La Leona and Sirena, respectively) so it's a bit tough to get lost, but there aren't any signs to reaffirm that you ARE going the right way until you get very close to Sirena, so if it's your first time and it's getting dark it can make some people uneasy. Also take heed:
* Monkeys will throw things and go in your stuff if unattended on the beach or forest
* Mosquitoes are vicious when the sun goes down - DEET-based repellant and mosquito nets
* Keep an eye on the tides or you may get stranded...
* They warn you about the sharks and crocodiles in the rivers at high tide, but nobody mentions the stingrays - shuffle your feet particularly if you are crossing barefooted...
* Keep an eye on your stuff when you GET to Sirena... some fellow travelers have sticky fingers...

Otherwise a unforgettable trip that you are basically guaranteed to see awesome things (morpho butterflies, tapirs, crocodiles, sloths etc) and the rangers definitely treat you better if they know you hiked all the way in yourself, so go for it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I could have gone every day - it's a bargain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

When I went it was $80 for the over-an-hour boat ride out and back, the guide, and a packed lunch which you eat at the Centro Biologico about half way through the tour (which takes around three hours). I went twice:The place is a Wonderland and the guides very friendly and knowledgeable. It does help in Drake Bay generally if you speak a little Spanish - how i got fresh fruit and sweet bread for my lunch instead of processed cheese sandwiches.
It's true that the sea can be a bit rough and sometimes you have to stumble over a quarter mile or so of razor sharp reef to get to the beach. I am sickly and in my fifties and neither adventure did me any harm. If you're squeamish about bathrooms, those at the Centro Biologico are OK, otherwise it's bushes.
Be sure to wear long sleeves and trousers, proper walking boots, and bug spray. When you get back, check for ticks obsessively.
These are small matters compared with the wealth of beautiful, strange and appealing creatures you will see. It isn't a zoo, of course, so you can't expect to see marvels lined up for your approval (as one abrasive, camera-happy tourist did on my first visit). But you are bound to see coatis and monkeys and ctenosaurs, foot-long heliconia butterflies, iridescent birds and surreal plants. Our group was lucky enough to see trogons, puffbirds, a silky tamandua and most wondrous of all, a tapir..

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

this national park is filled with animals, birds, reptiles and fish and is god's garden on earth. This unspoiled part of mother nature is more than reccommendable to visit

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corcovado National Park also viewed

Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Corcovado National Park, Osa Peninsula
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Corcovado National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corcovado National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.