We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Day hiking in Corcovado” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corcovado National Park

Corcovado National Park
Parque Nacional Corcovado | Peninsula de Osa, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
84416612
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in Carate
Type: National Parks
Attraction Details
Reusel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3 Day hiking in Corcovado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just came back from a 3 day hike throught the incredible Corcovado Park in Costa Rica. We left from La Leona early morning. And although it's a hike of 19 km it's more than word every single step of it. Beautiful environment, loads of animals and hardly any signs of human activity here. It is great. We slept in La Sirena. This place is very basic but situated in the jungles and surrounded by animals. Our second day we were walking on several trails. Our guide Rodolfo Saenz really know the park and where are the best places to find the animals.

The guide showed us squirrel monkeys, capuchin monkeys, howler monkeys, spider monkeys, collared pecari's, white lipped pecari's, crocodiles, loads of birds and he even knew to locate a puma. We were face to face with this puma for many minutes. It was just great.

On our hike back he provided us with fresh coconuts. He cooked us meals. He arranged the entrance fees and provided us with gears for the camping. Even other guides told us he is one of the best. Planning to go to Corcovado... take a hike with this guy. rodolfosaenz@hotmail.com

And of Corcovado? This is really a must see, a must do, a once in a life time experience. WOW!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    35
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Go early in the morning. THe hike to the entrance during peak sun light is brutal! Worth it though when you get to Corcovado and start the hike!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Corcovada from Carate with Guide Eric”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Eric has lived in Carate his entire life, and is a generous, kind, and expert guide. I learned so much from him. When he saw our interest in wildlife, he went out of his way to make sure we had a great experience, even chasing down a crocodile for a photo op! We hiked from Finca Exotica into the park - 3.5 hours - and back. An amazing experience! Saw all four species of Costa Rica monkey!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wild and magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Shared a boat (from Drake Bay) and two guides with another family. Within 30 minutes of landing near Sirena station, we had excellent views of maccaws, monkeys, peccaries and tapirs! The rest of our day hike was naturally less intensive, but highly enjoyable. Our guides, Rebecca and Eddie, were a terrific team and Rebecca did an outstanding job of teaching our children.

Tips: start as early as possible, pack a lunch and plenty of water, and check for ticks.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauneuf de Grasse, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“la sirena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

animals and birds, history from our local guide, what's going on now with the park and its future, would have been cool to stay the night and do the crossing through the park. Can stay in the barracks and camp at the la Sirena hdqtrs.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corcovado National Park also viewed

Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Corcovado National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corcovado National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Corcovado National Park to your Saves list