We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hike!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corcovado National Park

Corcovado National Park
Parque Nacional Corcovado | Peninsula de Osa, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
84416612
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$475*
and up
3-Day Corcovado Rainforest
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Carate
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fairfield, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Go early in the morning. THe hike to the entrance during peak sun light is brutal! Worth it though when you get to Corcovado and start the hike!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    73
    16
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Corcovada from Carate with Guide Eric”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Eric has lived in Carate his entire life, and is a generous, kind, and expert guide. I learned so much from him. When he saw our interest in wildlife, he went out of his way to make sure we had a great experience, even chasing down a crocodile for a photo op! We hiked from Finca Exotica into the park - 3.5 hours - and back. An amazing experience! Saw all four species of Costa Rica monkey!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wild and magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Shared a boat (from Drake Bay) and two guides with another family. Within 30 minutes of landing near Sirena station, we had excellent views of maccaws, monkeys, peccaries and tapirs! The rest of our day hike was naturally less intensive, but highly enjoyable. Our guides, Rebecca and Eddie, were a terrific team and Rebecca did an outstanding job of teaching our children.

Tips: start as early as possible, pack a lunch and plenty of water, and check for ticks.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauneuf de Grasse, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“la sirena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

animals and birds, history from our local guide, what's going on now with the park and its future, would have been cool to stay the night and do the crossing through the park. Can stay in the barracks and camp at the la Sirena hdqtrs.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun but not necessary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

If you like the outdoors and love to hike definitely do this. Try to leave as early as possible. Even a 5:00 am start wasn't early enough because the animals aren't out in the heat when we finally reached the heart of the park.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corcovado National Park also viewed

Corcovado National Park, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Corcovado National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corcovado National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.