We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corcovada from Carate with Guide Eric” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corcovado National Park

Corcovado National Park
Parque Nacional Corcovado | Peninsula de Osa, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
84416612
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in Carate
Type: National Parks
Attraction Details
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Corcovada from Carate with Guide Eric”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Eric has lived in Carate his entire life, and is a generous, kind, and expert guide. I learned so much from him. When he saw our interest in wildlife, he went out of his way to make sure we had a great experience, even chasing down a crocodile for a photo op! We hiked from Finca Exotica into the park - 3.5 hours - and back. An amazing experience! Saw all four species of Costa Rica monkey!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    35
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wild and magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Shared a boat (from Drake Bay) and two guides with another family. Within 30 minutes of landing near Sirena station, we had excellent views of maccaws, monkeys, peccaries and tapirs! The rest of our day hike was naturally less intensive, but highly enjoyable. Our guides, Rebecca and Eddie, were a terrific team and Rebecca did an outstanding job of teaching our children.

Tips: start as early as possible, pack a lunch and plenty of water, and check for ticks.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauneuf de Grasse, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“la sirena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

animals and birds, history from our local guide, what's going on now with the park and its future, would have been cool to stay the night and do the crossing through the park. Can stay in the barracks and camp at the la Sirena hdqtrs.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun but not necessary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

If you like the outdoors and love to hike definitely do this. Try to leave as early as possible. Even a 5:00 am start wasn't early enough because the animals aren't out in the heat when we finally reached the heart of the park.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“For the attention of Park Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had an excellent experience here. Here's why:

1. The cap on the number of people allowed in the the park helps to make the experience special and also stops the animals from fleeing the area. We saw four species of Monkey, tapir, crocodiles, snakes, all sorts of birds because it was so quiet and uninterrupted.

2. The Ranger station provides good basic services (toilets, showers, cook and sleep area) that make the experience while camping there enjoyable and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and do a great job maintaining the station despite how remote the location is and how dirty and careless some of the campers are that visit. If anyone is visiting the park, take a bag to pack out your trash.

3. The paths are rough and winding with few signposts which makes the experience feel more like an adventure, I would definately keep them like this.

On a side note : There are far too many plane flights - they scare the birds and other wildlife. I counted five flights one day - that's five noisy landings and five takeoffs. I would limit it to two to three flights max.

Thanks, we had a fantastic time there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corcovado National Park also viewed

Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Corcovado National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corcovado National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Corcovado National Park to your Saves list