We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corcovado National Park

Corcovado National Park
Parque Nacional Corcovado | Peninsula de Osa, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
84416612
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Carate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Winthrop Harbor, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I did not like the ride across the ocean but wow was it worth it when we got there. The beach, the hiking, the waterfall, the animals were all so amazing. Even with the boat ride I would go back

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    69
    15
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best of the Osa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Saw tapir twice in two different sections of the Park. Scarlett Macawa, three toed sloth and more! Guides very knowledgable and well worth retaining. Sirena station excellent but also coming in from Carete very good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Take the time to trek deep into the park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We unfortunately only had time for a half-day hike from the Carate beach entrance. It was essentially a flat walk along a path close to the beach where we saw many different species of monkeys, birds and insects. If we had more time, I would have definitely liked to do a 2-3 day trek deep into the park reserve which we were told by our guide is well worth it, particularly as you will likely see more wildlife.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great place for wildlife.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great place for wildlife, saw three different monkey. sloths, tapir, many others and lots of birds. The ranger stations was better than I expected.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veenendaal, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best NP of Costa rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Went on a day tour from drake bay to Corcovado, sirena. Nice boatride in the early morning when the sun comes up. Boat ride (1 hr 20 min) can be quite rough! And be aware that when you get to Corcovado you need to walk through the water on slippery rocks to get to the beach.

We booked the tour from our hotel (jinetes de osa) and had Roy as a tour guide.

We saw a lot of wildlife: shark, crocodiles, butterflies, owl, army ants, big lizards, tapirs, packaries, birds, spiders, howler monkeys, spider monkeys and many more!

Absolutely magnificent park, but a good guide makes the trip really good I guess.
Be prepared to see a lot of wildlife, to do a lot of walking, and it can be quite hot, so take enough water.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corcovado National Park also viewed

Corcovado National Park, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Corcovado National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corcovado National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.