We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could have seen more wildlife at the Bronx Zoo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Corcovado National Park

Corcovado National Park
Parque Nacional Corcovado | Peninsula de Osa, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
84416612
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in Carate
Type: National Parks
Attraction Details
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I could have seen more wildlife at the Bronx Zoo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hike was good exercise, but how many palm trees and coconuts do you want to look at? I crossed streams and rivers and had my Timberlands soaked through. Sandals with Velcro straps would have been a better choice of foot ware.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    37
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Life changing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

So many animals and birds! To see them in person is something I will remember forever! It is very rugged country, however, wet, muddy, uncomfortable. If you can take the yin with the yan, and have a good sense of humor, it's the trip of a lifetime!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Jiménez, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing wildlife and magical forest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Corcovado National Park is just an amazing place to visit to the truly nature lovers. The best way to explore the secrets of a very well kept rainforest is with the expertise of a local guide. Make sure you choose a good Naturalist Guide, since most of the wildlife seems to camouflage from the non trained eyes.
If you enter the park at Los Patos, make sure to take a swim in the Vaco Waterfall.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa, usa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Corcovado National park - Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Corcovado NP is in the far southern Pacific region of Costa Rica and is one of the crown jewels of CR's national park system. We did a one day tour while in Dominical. It did take a 2 hour boat ride to get there and was well worth it. We used bahia Adventure tours and they were excellent. We did a 2 hour hike from the Pedrillo ranger station and then had a picnic lunch and another 2 hour hike before heading back to Dominical. Saw many monkeys, coatimundi, crocs and birds. We did see tapir and cat tracks but did not actually see any, however, if you stay overnight closer to the park and could go early in the morning deeper into the park you would probably get to see these. You can stay overnight at the Sirena ranger station and there are some eco lodges and hotels outside the park. We would go back to this park and would stay much closer so we could see more of this incredible park and all it has to offer. There is both beach and dense jungle. The hiking is moderate to difficult but well worth it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surcostours - Nito (guide)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

In August 2011 we travelled to Costa Rica and went down to Corcovado National Park. We arranged a 3 day hike in and out of the park with a guide, Nito, through Surcostours. We arranged to have Nito as our guide through email with Ute at Surcostours. We cannot say enough of how helpful Ute was for arranging everything. Nito was taking other hikers on tours while we were arranging things with Ute, so we could not deal with him directly but did not need to because Ute was so quick at getting back to us and thorough in all her responses.

Nito came to our hotel and met us the night prior to setting out on the hike. He answered all our questions and gave us tips on what to pack so that we wouldn't have too much with us for the 3 days. Nito had even arranged for extra bug-netting for where we were sleeping so that we didn't have to carry any bedding supplies with us for the hike. Surcostours arranged for our hotel to hold our extra bags until our return. The next morning we were picked up at our hotel and driven to the entrance of the hike (on the way we stopped for delicious Enchiladas that Nito bought for us!).

The actual hike into Sirena Ranger Station was amazing. Hearing stories from Nito and seeing animals, insects and birds along the way was fantastic. It was not strenuous and Nito is so easy to get along with that we really enjoyed spending time with him in the forest. Nito is incredibly respectful of the ecosystems that we were hiking through and also incredibly knowledgable. His explanations made everything we passed so interesting and really allowed us to appreciate where we were and what we were seeing.

We stayed at the Sirena Ranger Station for two nights and hiked during the days with breaks for meals at the station. We ate with Nito and got to hear more stories of his life and past hikes. We saw basically everything like boas, wild pigs, tapirs, anteaters, owls, a fer-de-lance, crocodiles, sting rays, sharks, countless insects and birds ... the only things we missed were sea turtles and felines. But, it gives us more reason to come back, which we definitely want to do.

We are so grateful that we got to have this experience with Nito because this was the highlight of our entire trip in Costa Rica and it would not have been as amazing with any other guide. You really get the sense that he just wants to share the beauty of the jungle with other hikers. When we go back someday we will definitely make sure to see Nito again.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corcovado National Park also viewed

Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Corcovado National Park, Osa Peninsula
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Corcovado National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corcovado National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Corcovado National Park to your Saves list