We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fascinating but much will depend on your guide...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corcovado National Park

Corcovado National Park
Parque Nacional Corcovado | Peninsula de Osa, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
84416612
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Carate
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
New Braunfels Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“fascinating but much will depend on your guide...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a beautiful jungle preserve. It is well worth the trip although much of what you will see depends on your guide, time of year and time of day you visit. For most of us, spotting wildlife in the dense canopy and forest floor is just about impossible without assistance from someone who is trained and knows the area. Make sure to take a poncho and bug spray. You are likely to need both.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    54
    11
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belp, Bern, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“worth a second trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

just got a peek of the park. We hike in about 5km along the coast. We definately would love to come back and explore the interior.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“one of the most amazing places I have ever gone...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

It is the biggest and most biologically diverse area in Costa Rica. During my 7hr hike to Sirena Station I saw tapirs, sloths, ant eaters, a PUMA, hundreds of birds and insects, primary forest trees where I was just as tall as mid-roots! It is a magical place where you really feel like you are one with nature...you are the tourist, not them. I loved everything about this place. The hike is long, but totally worth it. You hike about 3 hours in sand, sunny beach, so make sure to pack light. Bring a bag for your trash to bring it back if camping or staying in the station dorms. Cross 4 rivers (last one can be very, very deep if crossed in high tide). This last one is called Rio Claro. Bug repellent 100% and sunblock. A camera is definitely your biggest priority as the amount of wildlife you see here you will see 1:1; no car, no boundaries.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Son
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great trip in Corcovado NP Costa Rica + topguide Cristhian Jimenez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

During my Costa Rica Tour we visited of course Corcovado NP. Cristhian drives us by car and boat to parc entrance Serena. The trip to Serena was allready an adventure. The trail we walked was off the beaten road. Great. No tourists at all. And of course we spotted a lot of birds, monkeys, special medical plants, huge trees and even tapirtraces, crocodiles and jaws in the estuary. I can advise you this organisation. For more information contact:
Cristhian Jimenez, see reviews on Osa Travel Tours / Puerto Jimenez Centro, Puntarenas 82003, Costa Rica / (506) 8825-6065

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I Left My Heart in the Osa Peninsula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I found myself in Osa during the rainy season of 2011 but was able to make it to Corcovado National Park non-the-less. It was an amazing experience. So amazing that I returned to the area for another 4 months in the early spring of 2012. I hope to return in the future for another trip to the park. I highly recommend having a guide. There were so many things that I wouldn't have seen without one! I was very fortunate and saw 3 different tapir in one day! Next time I'm hoping to see an ocelot!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corcovado National Park also viewed

Corcovado National Park, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Corcovado National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corcovado National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.