We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't believe it's winter! (Lokae, age 10, about 100 times over the week)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Exotica Ecolodge

Save Saved
You added Finca Exotica Ecolodge to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Finca Exotica Ecolodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Osa Peninsula,on Carate beach next to Corcovado National Park | Osa Peninsula, on Carate beach next to Corcovado National Park, Carate, Corcovado National Park 706, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I can't believe it's winter! (Lokae, age 10, about 100 times over the week)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

We wholeheartedly agree with all the positive comments (great food, beautiful location, eco-friendly, reasonably priced) we've read. Rather than repeat these here we'll describe the part of our experience that was distinct from other reviewers by virtue of the fact that we were two single-parent families traveling together (for the first time). Our children are 6 and 10 years old and the fit was perfect for both, as well as for the adults. Importantly the Finca "family" was able to accommodate our diverse needs -- from altering food choices to provide more kid-friendly options, to driving fast asleep kids up the hill after dinner (we were staying in the beautiful cabina at the top of the hill). We had plenty of engaging adult conversations during meals with other guests who arrived with a diverse set of backgrounds and experiences. But we also got to spend tons of quality time adventuring with our kids. A perfect mix. In short, we were able to have a "kid-friendly" vacation without having to succomb to the watered-down vacations typically marketed to families (club med and such).

A few comments on the individuals involved. Shane was extremely helpful. The garden tour was one of the highlights -- he was able to engage us all of us at our different levels of interests and prior knowledge. He also gave surfing lessons to the most beginning of beginners. It was really helpful to have the step-out experience organizers on campus as well -- we hope this partnership continues. Martine and Chris were uniformly helpful and friendly and helped us plan "off-campus" activities. Marcos and Gabriella were engaging and involved hosts -- from having us in their home for dinner, to providing impromptu descriptions of local flora and fauna, to providing art supplies to our children. Everyone on campus without fail though was helpful and nice.

Finally, Polly. What to say. Polly cannot be described in mere words. Polly is a scarlet macaw that lives on the beach near Finca. We had a bit of a love-hate relationship with Polly but she definitely made our experience more memorable and added to the adventure and stories.

In short we had an amazing time that we will never forget and we're very grateful to the Finca family for providing us with such a beautiful, friendly and comfortable home for our adventures.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    21
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
94
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Mi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

My friends and I were lucky enough to simply stumble into Finca Exotica while visiting Carate. The tent accommodations were very comfortable and clean and made you feel as though you were really sleeping out in the jungle. The staff is extremely friendly and was always willing to recommend places to hike and the first to ask how it was when we got back. Fresh fruit was constantly available by the front desk and the first night the staff invited everyone out to a drum circle around a bonfire.
Besides the great accommodations, the area is incredible and I am sure anyone else staying at Finca Exotica would enjoy falling asleep to the waves as much as me!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

I totally agree with the positive thoughts posted by those other travellers lucky enough to have discovered Finca Exotica for themsleves. The postcard picture perfect location on the verges of Costa Rica´s Corcovado National Park. The wonderful cabinas, using many natural materials and designed to be in harmony with nature. The organic and delicious food, much of which was actually grown at Finca Exotica!! The animals - honestly, we saw so many more animals (monkeys, frogs, bats, macaws, tucans, coati´s etc...) on the property than in the national park itself! And the multitude of things to do - never a dull day!

But what I wanted to really share in this review is that, for me, what binds all these good things together and makes the overall experience something even greater, is that Markus and his lovely team are intent on enveloping you in this world of serenity, sustainability, new experiences and FUN. I really felt that they wanted to create a space where people can get back in touch with ourselves and the beautiful world around us.

It was just the break I needed from stressful urban life and I know I will take home loads more that just the memories of my two weeks. I am a professional life coach and for me this trip was highly nutritious food for the soul. I can´t wait to return (if you go don´t miss trying the Miracle Fruit in their garden, very cool). Best holiday experience I have had in many, many years.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

Finca Exotica is a magical place that you will not want to leave, and once you have been there you will never forget. It is a slice of tropical heaven which exists between the cool dense Corcovado Rainforest and the warm black sand beaches of the Pacific. Finca Exotica is an amazing place where you can experience living a modern, hip reinterpretation of a primitive tiki lifestyle surrounded by the unspoiled natural beauty of the Osa Peninsula.

Finca Exotica works because Marcus and Gabriella are passionate about what they are doing and they express this by presenting to their guests a fully realized vision for a pure and primal lifestyle updated for the 21st Century explorers who venture there. Updated enough so that you can live comfortably at the edge of civilization. The cabina/tiki hut we stayed in was impeccably constructed, stylish and elegant and yet at the same time rustic, primitive and made of indigenous materials and building techniques, and open to the jungle around us.

Marcus and Gabrielle pay particular attention to the food served, which was always delicious whether it was a simple, yet delectable Costa Rican breakfast or one of their wonderful gourmet dinners (really one of the best meals I've had anywhere in the world). They always use local ingredients, some gown right on the property both wild and in their greenhouse. Marcus worked as a chef in the past and it is evident from the tasty treats they serve up.

Finca Exotica is not easy to get to (but this is an advantage as well) and you may not have all the conveniences of home--but you will certainly have everything that you need, and you will be very thankful that you made the journey.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

Finca Exotica is very aptly named – in every possible way, this place truly is an “exotic farm”!

The overall experience begins with getting to Finca Exotica. We took the Colectivo (truck with bench seats and tarpaulin canopy) from Puerto Jimenez. The dirt road is extremely bumpy and you bounce around quite a lot, there are many river crossings, most of the trip is through dense rainforest and it takes a little over 2 hours to travel the 45 km. Don’t be put off by any of this though – its loads of fun and the beginning of what will be a fabulous experience.

The farm offers a variety of different styles of accommodation (open style cabinas and tiki tents). We stayed in Casa Raiz which is perched a 5-10 minute walk (depending on your level of fitness) on a hill, towards the top of the property. The views are amazing and as you lie in the hammock on your balcony gazing out at 180 degrees of rainforest jungle, with ocean views and the sound of waves crashing, you realise you have found “paradise”. There is a plethora of wildlife on the farm (in fact you see as much, if not more, than you do in Corcovado National Park) – endless numbers of toucan, scarlet macaw, white-faced capuchin monkey etc, etc. I’m not a lover of cold water showers but I mastered them – hot water is a small sacrifice for such magnificent natural beauty. During our stay, dinner was served at the Rancho (a truly spectacular building with amazing views) and is a further 1 minute walk up the hill from Casa Raiz. Breakfast and lunch are served at the Beach House which is just off the main road at the entrance of the property. There is a strong emphasis placed on food at Finca Exotica and all creations will leave you thinking one of the worlds award winning chefs has created the dish. Rosa cooks fabulous breakfasts and lunches and Markus cooks dinners which will tantalise your tastebuds, fill you mouth with an explosion of flavours and are a true gastronomic delight. Many of the ingredients are picked fresh from the farm immediately prior to the dish being prepared. You won’t find food any fresher than this! Guess you can tell I love good quality food!

This farm is clearly a “labour of love” for the owners (Markus and Gabriela). Markus is an Architect and his skill is evident in the wonderful design of the cabinas – particularly the Rancho. What an amazing structure to call “home”! Sustainability is also a key factor and the farm produces its own energy from a very sophisticated plant.

There are an abundance of activities to keep you occupied – there are so many different walks you could walk until there were no soles left on your shoes! The surf is also very inviting but be careful of the rip! Finca Exotica has a wonderful web page (created by Shane, one of the wonderful staff members) so make sure you take a look. Oh, and I almost forgot to mention Markus and Gabriela’s wonderful children – Pavas and Povo (beautiful black Labrador’s).

We stayed for 7 nights and were very sad to leave. After leaving, we spent a night in Puerto Jimenez which made us feel like we were in New York (Puerto Jimenez is a small town but returning to civilisation felt very strange – we were surrounded by people instead of birds and animals)!

Heather and Craig
Melbourne, Australia

  • Liked — Peace and tranquility and amazing food.
  • Disliked — Nothing - everything met and/or exceeded my expectations.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lübeck
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

The Finca Exotica is located between the blue pacific and the green jungle. You can reach the Corcovado National Park by walking along this wonderful beach.

The lodge offers a selection of different tents (tiki tents) and bungalows (cabinas) with your own bath room. Markus (architect) and Gabriela the owners of the place designed everything them self and the result is fantastic. You will find yourself in a wonderful garden serving not only the animals but also us with pleasure and of course "food" (fruits, herbs and vegetables and also chicken and pigs)

The main goal is sustainability so the Finca generates the energy from water and sun as much as possible. The garden and also the farm supplies the guests with fruits, herbs and vegetables and also chicken and pigs from the farm.

We chose the Cabina (Ranchito) and enjoyed 6 nights with the sounds of nature surrounding us, that was really special to us!

Markus, Gabriela and the whole Finca Exotica team were very friendly and helpful. They cared for all the guests and we felt very soon very comfortable and relaxed. We were spoiled with a mix of local and international specialties composed with ingredients from the garden or local region. The food was really fantastic and we can recommend to book weather full meals or at least breakfast and dinner because there is no restaurant around the area.

Our batteries are still charged with the “sounds and energy” we got from that place. :-)

We can recommend that place for nature lovers, nature photographers and simply relaxing.

Pura Vida!

http://fincaexotica.com/index.html

Tipps:

Please check the road condition in advance before travelling. If there is no rain season everything should be fine and you just need a 4 wheel drive. You can also take the collectivo for the last 40 km from Puerto Jimenez (1,5 - 2 hours ) or even fly in.

To get a real insight from the Corcovado NP it would make sense to stay overnight in Sirena. Erik a guide from that area is an excellent source of information about flora and fauna of that area and a very professional guide for a day tour or an overnight stay.

  • Liked — Natur, friendly service, food
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

The Finca Exotica in the midst of the Costa Rican tropical rain forest is one of the most spectacular places that I have visited. Just about the perfect place to focus your mind.

While I was there, I wondered why that spot had such an impact on me. It must be due to it's unique location: sitting amidst the the lush green of the "edible gardens" of the Finca Exotica you are looking at the blue horizon, while hearing at the same time mysterious sounds from the dark green of the rain forest behind you.

It truly is very unique to sit in between these two extremes. 180 degrees of blue nothingness in front and 180 degrees of dark green mystery behind you.

To be able to read and write in the "edible gardens", between heliconias and humming birds, is marvelous and I hope very much to be able to repeat that experience soon.

  • Liked — It's magic location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Exotica Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Exotica Ecolodge

Address: Osa Peninsula,on Carate beach next to Corcovado National Park | Osa Peninsula, on Carate beach next to Corcovado National Park, Carate, Corcovado National Park 706, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Exotica Ecolodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Exotica eco lodge is a Wildlife Refuge property in this pristine area of Costa Rica, and the closest place to Corcovado National Park accessible by car.Our beach lodge is equipped to meet all of your needs – be it a romantic couple’s escape, a group retreat, a professional conference or a family vacation. Our facilities surround our central meeting place, Casa Grande, which hosts the organic food restaurant with a communal dining table and stretches out to an amphitheater suited for presentations and lectures by day and dance parties by night. Between them is the bar and together they all encompass the terrace where you can lounge under the open sky or swing in a hamock in the shades of almond trees, while Scarlett Macaws are feeding on them. Tents, cabins, rentals and other facilities stem out from this centerpiece to provide easy access near the beach, an isolated meditation ambiance and quaint trails that lead you through the labyrinth of exotic plant life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Finca Exotica Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Exotica Hotel Carate
Finca Exotica Ecolodge Costa Rica/Carate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Exotica Ecolodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;