We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I couldn't have dreamed of a more amazing WEDDING DAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Exotica Ecolodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Finca Exotica Ecolodge to your Saves list
Finca Exotica Ecolodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Osa Peninsula,on Carate beach next to Corcovado National Park | Osa Peninsula, on Carate beach next to Corcovado National Park, Carate, Corcovado National Park 706, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Jimenez
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I couldn't have dreamed of a more amazing WEDDING DAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Last Thursday I married my best friend on Playa Carate in front of Finca Exotica. I didn't have to do anything except relax and get myself ready that morning! I simply told the resident florist more or les what I wanted and never even went down to the beach to see what they had done. My now husband created a rock heart with spirals for the ceremony the day before. When I walked down to the beach with my parents accompanying me I could not believe how the Finca Team transformed the already beautiful beach setting into a radiant setting that exuded peace and love. They had put up flowers all around and created an intimate setting with wooden benches and palm leaves. After the wedding they helped us roast our food over coals. In the afternoon everyone napped and then in the evening they put on an AMAZING and DELICIOUS dinner that was followed by hours of dancing, fun, laughing and PURE BLISS. Thank you so much for making our day so dreamlike, your team truly puts their hearts into what they do ;)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Propietario at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you so much for letting us be such a special part of your big day! We loved organizing your wedding, it was a real pleasure. Carate is such a beautiful and romantic place, there really is not a better spot for saying the ´I do´s´ than here, so we are glad you did it! Why not come back for your 1 year anniversary, it would be wonderful to see you again! Pura vida, love from your Finca family...........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    31
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
59
142
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I loved the place it is very beautyfull and the Bungalows are awesome. The Staff is super sweet, friendly and helpfull. The food was excellent and yoga classes really relaxing. We had the 2 bedroom Bungalow (1 Queen and the other 2 single beds). Showering "in the free" was an additional special to our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Finca Exotica misses you guys very much! Thanks for the review, it is very much appreciated. Please come back when you can- Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Finca Exotica is a very special place, set in its own extensive plot of virgin rain forest, tumbling down to a wild Pacific beach. We stayed six nights and loved feeling close to the rich variety of life around us. We enjoyed the imaginative meals prepared from fresh organic ingredients from the garden. We particularly enjoyed the communal dining experience, a chance to meet new people from around the world.

Finca staff were all really friendly and helpful. Thank you Gaby for all your help organising tours and transport and thank you Markus and Coco for the great food AND introducing us to the nutrient rich and life enhancing Noni fruit. We haven't been the same since!!

Top tip: FE is not for everyone. Do your research and read the information on the hotel website.

If you want air con, wi-fi, hot showers and hair dryers, you won't be happy here but if you want a fabulous, eco-friendly, comfortable lodge in a stunning rainforest setting, this is it !!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review! We are very fortunate to live in such a beautiful place, and we are even more fortunate to be able to share the experience with wonderful people like you! More noni fruit awaits you on your return- we made a delicious blend with watermelon and cinnamon this morning- a great way to start the day! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Woaw .... what an amazing expérience ...

If you ever go to Costa Rica... you definetely NEED to go to Finca Exotica Eco Lodge....

Everything is perfect in this place, the landscape (in the the jungle and 200m from the nicest beach you'll ever seen), the peoples (Gabriela, Marcus and Coco are juste sooooo cool, friendly, easy talking, good adviser... we enjoyed every second with you), the FOOD !!!!! (everything is organic, well cooked by the chief Coco, so tasty ...), you're ranchito room is just amazing, everything is open to the nature (and you're shower under the starlights <3) etc etc ...

We spend the most amazing week there, it was a real life changing experience and we definitely will comeback ! Don't change anything you're perfect.

See you next summer :p

Martin

Room Tip: Ranchito's room are just amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thanks Martin for your great and succinct review! You are always welcome back, we hope to see you again soon! Please remember to tell your friends about www.fincaexotica.com ! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed at Finca Exotica for a more extended period of time and absolutely LOVED it. The property is beautiful - I loved the outdoor showers, tents and cabins, and open-air restaurant ("Casa Grande"). The atmosphere is really comfortable - I felt at home very quickly! I think this was especially the case because of the staff - very friendly and accommodating. The food is INCREDIBLE. The kitchen is open so you can watch Coco, Tomas and Gaby cook - it's really fun to see how they prepare the meals (from many ingredients harvested on the property!). Finca is environmentally conscious as well - very low impact in terms of energy usage and waste (they compost and have pigs to feed leftovers to) - which I appreciate as a traveler. Keep in mind that Finca is a good place to relax, but that means being able to unplug during your stay :) It is easy to get a guided hike into Corcovado from there in addition to hiking the trails on the property or exploring the gorgeous beach. It's a great place to enjoy nature, good food and good company!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words! We LOVE cooking here at Finca Exotica, check out our new cooking video on our website www.fincaexotica.com when you have the time- You can practice the recipe at home! Pura vida, see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My girlfriend and I spent six amazing nights here. We are New Yorkers seeking off the beaten path relaxing adventures and certainly found one. This place was tranquility in every sense. The owner, whom is a prior German architect, designed the entire place and is there overseeing that everything is done to perfection. The tiki tents, cabins, beach house, yoga platform and bar/restaurant area are amazingly well thought out and beautiful. There are random eclectic books and objects strewn about, I sometimes thought I was in a cool Brooklyn hot spot or vintage store. My girlfriend manages a high end restaurant here in NYC and we both agreed that the food was amazing. They even catered specially to her vegetarian diet as well.

We stayed in both Tiki Tents and Cabana (Bamboo named one?). Our intention was to stay in a Cabana the entire time, however they became booked even 4 months in advance. Some folks said they had to book different Cabinas during their stay, likely because the lodge requires no minimum length of stay and that causes single night lodgers. The Tiki tent was certainly much better then a standard camping tent. It's on a bamboo/teak platform, covered in a secondary thatched roof and one can stand up inside. The showers/bathroom in that sense are sense are shared among two tiki tents, however are designed very beautifully. The outdoor restroom and showers were in meticulous condition and it was a trip using them. I think the Tiki tents are great for a budget.

The cabana was the best. It offered a queen bed with mosquito netting, two chars to read at and candles all over the room. It looked amazing both at night and during the day. The attached bathroom and shower was a plus as well. As a younger couple on holiday, we enjoyed the cabana more then the tiki tent. Although double in price, this was the lodging highlight.

The dinging area, bar, lounging area, deck and disco ball dance floor are all up on a platform overlooking the jungle's tree canopy. When we were done adventuring, we spent a lot of relaxing time up here with other guests. The view was great, there were many hammocks, chairs, books and other guests to talk to if you decide to. At night, this almost resembled a covered thatched roof polynesian tiki bar with a good view on a open deck for the stars. There is a yoga platform higher up on the hill from here and it has a great view to the ocean. We spent quite a deal of time up here when staying in the Tiki Tent. It provides similar comforts as the private cabana, however in a more shared space.

Looking at pictures of the beaches in Carate, I was expecting very little for beach / swim time. Despite the dark volcanic sand, the beach was one of the most amazing ever. It's extremely secluded and has the best sunset I have ever seen in my life (picture attached). There are many hammocks and chairs down there to lounge. The sound of the waves breaking in a hammock was relaxing. They have boogie boards which get excellent rides into shore. Swimming really is only good at low to mid tide, so watch the tide chart to avoid rip currents. We went in swimming closer to high tide and did have a moment where we had to watch ourselves. I would avoid swimming too intoxicated here. We went on a private Kayak trip at a nearby lagoon which was also quite amazing. The guide was a biologist, originally from London, helping restore sea turtle hatching in the area. She helped us spot numerous wildlife and even crocodiles! I brought a pair of birding binoculars and they came in handy here.

We took a taxi here from Puerto Jimenez, however note that there is an airfield with a small single engine prop plane walking distance. If in a time crunch, I would chose that route perhaps one way and take the 4x4 taxi the other way.

I wanted to stay longer here and will consider visiting again.

Room Tip: Cabanas may suit certain couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Your Finca family very much appreciates you taking the time to write this very thorough and enlightening review- muchas gracias! You are right, our cabanas and tikitents do offer different experiences and we are very happy you got to try out the two  We do our very best to make sure that we render a true jungle experience to our visitors and we are glad to hear how much you guys enjoyed yourself! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We (my girlfriend and I ) spent 8 amazing nights here. It really is a true eco-lodge There are cabins and tent cabins spread through out the property. If you are expecting walls, electricity, ac, fans, tv then this is not for you. The accommodations are set among nature. the beds are quite comfy, and do have mosquito nets, but you do feel somewhat exposed at first, but you soon fit in to being close to nature. The Main lodge, is amazing, it is where the meals are served, and the bar is located here as well. It is an amazing view from the lodge's deck overlooking the property and pacific . The Finca website is pretty clear about the cabins, and their locations. Some of the cabins are located a 5 min hike up a hillside, the view and rooms are amazing, but it is a bit of a trek making the trip multiple times a day, you would be best served to pack beach belongings and needs, as opposed to making that trip too many times. The food was wonderful, the chef Coco is a master, he creates amazing meals, utilizing fresh fruits and veggies from the properties own gardens, as well as fresh caught fish from the local fishermen. Coco was truly a pleasure to meet and to experience his culinary delights. The property is virtually at the end of the road in Carate. The Corcovado park is a short hike away, and well worth making, Don't be too worried about the lack of walls in the cabins, they do have the feel of a true cabin, just a bit more open air. The 24/7 sounds are indescribable, from howler monkeys to cicada to white face and spider monkeys, to every kind of rainforest creature as well as the ever present pounding surf of the open pacific, you are sure to experience it all here. The staff and owner were all very helpful, they were there to be helpful, but there is also a feeling of having space and privacy that is much desired in this kind of environment. The design and concept of Finca was incredibly well thought out. Do bring flashlights, and bug spray if you are bug sensitive. Also bring in any snacks and personal needs, as there are no stores nearby, You would be well served to shop at the grocery in PJ prior to setting off for FInca.
This is getting back to nature, life off the grid. A true nature experience with great food and amazing memories.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
12.3 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
23.2 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
12.7 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Corcovado National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
22.8 mi away
La Paloma Lodge
La Paloma Lodge
#3 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
5.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Exotica Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Exotica Ecolodge

Address: Osa Peninsula,on Carate beach next to Corcovado National Park | Osa Peninsula, on Carate beach next to Corcovado National Park, Carate, Corcovado National Park 706, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Exotica Ecolodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Exotica eco lodge is a Wildlife Refuge property in this pristine area of Costa Rica, and the closest place to Corcovado National Park accessible by car.Our beach lodge is equipped to meet all of your needs – be it a romantic couple’s escape, a group retreat, a professional conference or a family vacation. Our facilities surround our central meeting place, Casa Grande, which hosts the organic food restaurant with a communal dining table and stretches out to an amphitheater suited for presentations and lectures by day and dance parties by night. Between them is the bar and together they all encompass the terrace where you can lounge under the open sky or swing in a hamock in the shades of almond trees, while Scarlett Macaws are feeding on them. Tents, cabins, rentals and other facilities stem out from this centerpiece to provide easy access near the beach, an isolated meditation ambiance and quaint trails that lead you through the labyrinth of exotic plant life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Finca Exotica Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Exotica Hotel Carate
Finca Exotica Ecolodge Costa Rica/Carate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Exotica Ecolodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.