We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing bit of eco-paradise on Osa Peninsula” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Exotica Ecolodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Finca Exotica Ecolodge to your Saves list
Finca Exotica Ecolodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Osa Peninsula,on Carate beach next to Corcovado National Park | Osa Peninsula, on Carate beach next to Corcovado National Park, Carate, Corcovado National Park 706, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing bit of eco-paradise on Osa Peninsula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We came to Finca Exotica expecting that the pictures overestimated the views - as they often do with lodging. But, wow, were we wrong! Finca is beautiful and the cabins / Casa Grande do not detract from the views but, rather, add to the scenery. Amazing place to escape city life for a few days. No internet, TV or cell service was very refreshing. Expect to get wet, be hot and live with nature & its creatures.. it's the rainforest after all! Food is very fresh, tasty and Gabby is a wonderful cook and beautiful spirit - I fell in love, sorry Markus!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Hi Taylor, great to hear from you! Well, Gaby obviously has an admirer- I better be careful! We are very happy that we could be your escape from the city life. It really is refreshing to get away from tv’s and phones, I am very happy that you embraced it- we hope you shall do it again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    21
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
45
105
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We came to Finca Exotica after having a hard 5 day hike through Corcovado national park. After hiking over 70km in total over the week, we were glad to have somewhere as perfect as this to relax. Amazing food, all very healthy and we were never hungry! It was all cooked fresh, a lot of hard work and thought went into all three meals each day. The location is great, right by the sea, so even though we didn't want to go swimming, it was refreshing after being in such high humidity and heat throughout the past week. Both of us agreed that coming to Finca Exotica after our hike, we had the best sleep we'd had all week in the eco-lodge. Since everything's open plan, the heat didn't keep us awake as it had done at the previous locations. Even though i'm extremely susceptible to insect bites, the net around the bed ensured that I didn't notice getting any new bites to the ones I got in the jungle. We were delighted to see such beautiful wildlife around (including the hummingbirds visiting us in the shower) as well as the flowers. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and always willing to have a chat. This is an experience to completely immerse yourself in the natural world, and in a sustainable, eco-friendly way. My only regret is that we should have stayed here for longer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thanks for the kind words, Jasmine! You definitely deserved somewhere nice to go after your 70km trek- we are glad you let us spoil you here at Finca Exotica :o) We always try our best to give our clients the best service possible- we are glad we completed your stay here on the Osa. Definitely come back for longer next time for even more nature indulging!Pura vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This self sustaining lodge was absolutely gorgeous...we drove the 2 hour 30 min "road" to Carate which was an adventure since it was rainy season...the hosts were wonderful and the food was gourmet...this is not a trip for those who expect hot water and typical hotel amenities...this is a trip for people who love nature, like to camp and expect to hike...the lodge is within hiking distance to Corcovado, I recommend starting out at the crack of dawn depending on the tides...I wish we had stayed a little longer...this was a spectacular place to stay...I highly recommend for those who seek adventure and beauty...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Hi there. Thank you very much for writing this review, we really appreciate you taking the time to do so! Finca Exotica is open year round so please do come back for another hike of two (and a little relaxing of course) when you have the time! Pura vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Beautifully simple and rustic jungle lodge. A hike-able distance from the southern end of the incredible Corcovado rainforest park. This is a worthy destination as a stopover from the park or a retreat in its own right.
Developed, owned, managed, and accented by Marcus (an eccentric tiki aficionado and former architect) and his delightful and beautiful Costa Rican wife Gabriella -- they serve as wonderful hosts. Phoebe is their English naturalist, local plan specialist, and sea turtle marine biologist; the beach out front is prime habitat for green sea turtles. You can walk the beach undisturbed for dozens of miles. And the beach out front is great for surfing at low tide.
They keep an assortment of interesting musical instruments in the main gathering area, from a handmade marimba to a churango to bongos and a sci-fi psychedelic synthesizer -- and encourage the guests to start a jam session for the monthly party (we stayed a couple extra nights just for this).
Group dining and communal atmosphere gets a very international crowd mingling naturally. Bungalows are set apart for privacy. Hikes on the property and to a nearby multi-tiered jungle waterfall are worth the efforts. Taxi or collectivo bus access takes a while, but makes its own adventure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
A big thank you for your review. You’ll be glad to know we have added even more instruments to our collection- our jams are becoming more and more different each month! Thank you again for taking the time to write this review, we look forward to seeing you again fellow tiki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I found finca exotica through frinds. Its not so easy to reach as it is at the end of a dirt road next to the corvocado national parc. it has a private beach (heavy surf) and around 5 smaller and 5 bigger cabanjas surrounding the large restaurant/ bar house. all the cabanjas are simple but with style and a good sense how to built houses in the jungle. most of them have no electricity but there is a lot of good, fresh water coming from the source. however- the real luxery is the amazing atmosphere of the jungle around- its so green and big and fertile and full of animals (apes, parrots, tapires, anteaters, etc.) and all kinds of exotic plants- it´s an overwhelming experiance. the owner seems to take a serious approach towards sustainability as they grow most of the food themselves. breakfast and lunch are simple but good- dinner was always a big pleasure. everybody shares one big table and big, colourfull juicy dishes full of fish and fruits and delicious saldsas are served- never had food like that. after dinner there was some live music of and on and a coconut-cocktail. hemmingway would have liked it! the friendly staff provided us with valuable information about flora and fauna. in addition there is a small but well selectet library with all kinds of nature-books and maps. there is a big yoga deck with a beautiful view on jungle and ocean (like most of the houses), you can get a massage and a guided trip to the national parc. it s really worth the effort to get there! We liked it a lot!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Hi Till, How wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your time here with us! Thank you very much for the nicely written description of our home- you definitely do it justice! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My hubby and I attended a photography retreat at Finca Exotica organized by Stepout Vacations at the end of the dry season (late April). I have included my review below as well as a few points for anyone considering this area of the world in general!

Casa Grande is amazing!!! Markus - you really have created a beautiful, multi-functional space that appeared to me like something from a dream the night I walked in. It was softly lit, warm, full of enticing dinner aromas and friendly faces. I don't have words to use to describe the sensation when I walked in...

The staff were approachable: whether asking about types of food, the location, hikes etc. they were happy to answer and elaborate (I learned much about food and turtles - thanks Pheobe). As well, anything we asked for they were happy to help accommodate. Our cabina was cleaned daily, tidy, stocked with supplies etc.

The food was AWESOME!!!!!!!! The variety, quantity, flavour, presentation, knowledge, discussions etc. were all terrific. Coco is a treasure - the Panang Noir stole our hearts Coco!! Gaby as well... mmmm !!! Thank you for the bountiful and delicious food! We looked forward to our meals to see what was next! Regarding items that are ingested, I cannot tell you how much I appreciate the fact that the water was drinkable for us foreigners!!!!!!!!!!!! This was a HUGE bonus... clean, clear, safe water right from the tap!!! Thank YOU!

I loved that we had a garden tour of the property and then were invited to have a starfruit or banana whenever were in the garden. As a Canadian, I seriously never knew starfruit were orange... I thought they were hard, green, sour things only used as garnish since they were star-shaped! What a delight!!! I also loved that there were nice hiking trails, Puma falls, pigs etc. etc. etc. to see right on the property!

The beach area is gorgeous!!! The perfect place to lay in a hammock, chill out, feel the breeze and warmth, nap or in my case, take pictures of the cute pair of macaws over head cuddling, preening and feeding.

My items for improvement for Finca are only in regards to the Mango cabina and are as follows:
- a solar light of some sort in this cabina to help illuminate more safely than candlelight in the evening. While we did not spend much time there awake (we were hiking all day and tended to be very sleepy by nightfall), a little bit more light to prepare for dinner when the sun sets so early would be a welcome addition
- have some seats/chairs present for guests... while we asked for them and they were provided, having them there would allow guests to sit and enjoy the view from a comfortable chair rather than from the cabin ledge or having to sit on the bed... we definitely used and enjoyed the chairs (especially after our 10 hour hikes!)
-perhaps a small lip on the edge of the main ledge - I lost a couple items down the hill and had to go trekking the next morning to get them! Maybe I'm just clumsy, but it happened more than once!

Here is my advice to people looking to go to an eco lodge in this area of the world (not specifically Finca Exotica) Read about the area and the lodge you are staying at. We did and we had a great time!!! A few key statements to consider: you are in the jungle, you will not have four solid walls around you when you are sleeping, you will hear nature, you will hear the ocean, there will be bugs - yes, they will fly/crawl into your cabina, there are wild animals - they will generally not walk/crawl into your cabina, it is hot, it is muggy... I think that is it... oh, except one more thing to emphasize... YOU ARE IN THE JUNGLE!!! :-) We totally enjoyed it... I hope you do to!!!

That is all! Thank you so much Markus, Gaby, Coco, Pheobe, Robin (not sure if I am spelling this right) and the rest of the staff for a terrific time at Finca.
I would definitely return, in fact, I was sad to go... I would love to come back just to chill - less hiking, out time and photos and more beach and chill time!!!
Thanks again
Jenn (& Emile)

Room Tip: The Mango cabin is removed from the others for couples who would like a bit of quiet time and a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Hi Jen and Emile, It’s so nice to read how much you enjoyed yourselves here! A really big thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us here in Carate. You’ll be happy to know that we now have some stools up in Mango, and the trail you mention is currently being worked on. We really appreciate your tips to help improve the stay of future guests- it’s great having an insight into what you’d like to see here, and that’s why we’re working on your suggestions! I think your review will be very helpful for other guests- thank you again and we hope to see you in our jungle home soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Can do a lot better with minimum investment.. Which will also help preserve its surroundings more efficiently.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Exotica Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Exotica Ecolodge

Address: Osa Peninsula,on Carate beach next to Corcovado National Park | Osa Peninsula, on Carate beach next to Corcovado National Park, Carate, Corcovado National Park 706, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Exotica Ecolodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Exotica eco lodge is a Wildlife Refuge property in this pristine area of Costa Rica, and the closest place to Corcovado National Park accessible by car.Our beach lodge is equipped to meet all of your needs – be it a romantic couple’s escape, a group retreat, a professional conference or a family vacation. Our facilities surround our central meeting place, Casa Grande, which hosts the organic food restaurant with a communal dining table and stretches out to an amphitheater suited for presentations and lectures by day and dance parties by night. Between them is the bar and together they all encompass the terrace where you can lounge under the open sky or swing in a hamock in the shades of almond trees, while Scarlett Macaws are feeding on them. Tents, cabins, rentals and other facilities stem out from this centerpiece to provide easy access near the beach, an isolated meditation ambiance and quaint trails that lead you through the labyrinth of exotic plant life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Finca Exotica Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Exotica Hotel Carate
Finca Exotica Ecolodge Costa Rica/Carate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Exotica Ecolodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.