We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to come back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bambu Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osa Peninsula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Bambu Resort
Playa Pan Dulce | Matapalo, 0000000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
April/May Sale!
Monteverde, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Want to come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We spent four nights in Casa Sonrisa recently, and it wasn't nearly enough time. The house was great, the beaches beautiful, and the wildlife spectacular! We really enjoyed the tranquility of the area and the simplicity of living "off the grid" if only for a few days. If you want TV and air conditioning on your vacation, this place (and the Osa in general) isn't for you. But if you want a chance to stay in the most beautiful and wild part of Costa Rica, in a house that really lets you feel like you're in the wilderness (while still having most of the comforts of home), then come to Casa Bambu. We certainly plan to come back. (P.S. Parque Nacional Corocovado is amazing, but the wildlife is just as good around the houses of Casa Bambu!)

Room Tip: Casa Sonrisa is furthest from the water, but perhaps the most private and with the best wildlife vie...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
90
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jonesboro, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in Casa Linda in December, 2012. Great house. The view was amazing. The reviews written are true of everything we experienced. We saw 4 different kinds of monkeys, macaws, a Toucan, an owl, and lots of other birds; we saw a whale while deep sea fishing; went on a wonderful hike with William and enjoyed 2 meals cooked by the girls. We walked to the local outdoor bar/restaurant and enjoyed the camaraderie among the locals. We went to a delightful restaurant for lunch "just up the hill". We swam in what was like our own private beach. But the most amazing part of the stay was just relaxing and enjoying the wonderful bamboo house and the view from our porch. Lyn, Kirk and the staff are most helpful. It was a trip of a life time and we hope to go back some day!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

My family and I Visited this amazing place in early July and it was my favourite trip I have ever had.The jungle ended right next to the beach so you had the most amazing wildlife if you looked out the window you could see 4 types of monkey just swinging in the trees.The hospitality was great with Lin being very helpful and friendly and we had many long amazing walks with William (with William we saw scarlet macaws,toucans,sloths,parrots,spider,howler,squirrel,White faced monkeys).If you are looking for the most amazing family break this is the place for you!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The accomdation is wonderful in this jungle paradise at the tip of the Osa Peninsula. The hosts, Lyn and Kirk, have built some terrific, buildings using bamboo structures with split natural
bamboo that help create a warm prescence. Casa Babu supports the concept of sustainablity through the bamboo buildings in that are off the electrical grid and must use solar energy along with propane for cooking.
When we first arrived, Lyn warned us that the Capuchin Monkeys were crafty and so they were! We opened the shutters wide open to let the sea air flow through the building. It was as if the monkeys were invited in or, "now the store is open!" They came bounding across the lawns, up the trees, onto the shutters where they looked in for raiding opportunities. During one raid, the monkeys hopped through one of the open Kitchen windows and onto the counter, and immediately tossed a roll of paper towels out the window as a distraction. My wife went out to fetch the tossed paper towel roll while I quiety remained inside and watched. The monkeys finally lauched themselves inside once again grabbing a plastic sugar cantainer. I stood up, the monkey dropped the container halfway toward the window. It was quite and amuzing experience.
Lyn and Kirk are knowledgable about the environment as was their guide, William, and for a small fee, took us on a nature walk into the National Park. Driving to the Park was about a 90 minute journey on rough roads and through creeks/rivers to get there. Fording the rivers was quite an experience. William grew up in the jungle as a child and could hear sounds and distinguish animals and birds even while driving the 4x4, amazing! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: We stayed in Casa Linda which was closest to the small beach on the property..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have been travelling throughout Costa Rica for many years ( Nicoya, Quepos, Monteverde, Tortuguero, Cahuita...) and have seen many beaches and some wildlife, but we still were looking for "the real deal." At Casa Bambu, we finally found it!! Rainforest and beach! Kirk and Lyn have created the paradise we were searching for. Casa Bambu is actually 4 separate houses ( yes, made of bamboo!), two on the beach ( Casa Linda and Casa Bambu) and two a little ways up the hill ( Casa Sonrisa and Casa Pina). We stayed in Casa Pina. To picture it: there are 2 bedrooms and a bathroom downstairs, and upstairs 1 bedroom and separate bathroom, a huge balcony, a kitchen, and a dining area. All of the upstairs can be opened to the outside with large pull-up shutters. You are inside, but outside!?! We slept upstairs in a bed with a tight-fitting mosquito net with the shutters open!! We had arrived somewhat in the darkness at the end of the afternoon , so didn`t see much of the outside ,and the first morning , I did not see any monkeys for the first hour ( an entire hour!). Rather ironic actually! In the coming days, we probably saw all four types of monkeys every day. On our first day, a few white-faced monkeys arrived while we were on the balcony, then more and then more , so many that our grandaughter Sarah with eyes wide open remarked " Whoa! This just went from fun to freaky!!! " And every day was filled with " Oh! Oh! Oh!" moments from the balcony or some other part of the house, and everyone would rush there to see what was going on. Toucans, scarlet tanagers, agoutis, pizotes, blue morphos... . We also spent a lot of time on Pan Dulce Beach and walked the roads to the other beaches, saw trees filed with scarlet macaws, and took a tour with the manager William to a waterfall. The ladies, Leda and Marley, cooked several meals for us for a very reasonable amount. We just provided the food, gave a few general directions about our preferences ( lots of garlic!!), and stayed out of the way, and were called an hour or so later to the table all set and prepared ,and the cooking dishes all washed and put away. Lyn and Kirk were available for questions and assistance if needed, but the information received before arrival ( taxi service, stores in Puerto Jimenez, shopping lists, house details..) was so helpful that after an orientation in the house we were very comfortable with everything. I guess, in the end, for us, it really doesn`t get much better than this!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Casa Pina and we can only concur with all the wonderful reviews it has already received. From the moment i made my first inquiry with Lyn, we received only top notch customer service. They provided so much information prior to our trip, answered every question so promptly, arranged for our taxi transfers, and everything went very smoothly(even though i made an error on our return flight time..Kurt took care of it and we made our flight no problem)When we arrived in Puerto Jimenez our taxi dreiver was there waiting for us and he took us to the grocery store, the bakery, fruit stand and ice house. I had my shopping list Lyn provided..It was fun! and the taxi driver was so patient and helpful. When we arrived at Casa Pina, well its hard to find the words to describe it..we knew we picked the right place!! While the taxi driver was helping us with our luggage and groceries, a troop of spider monkeys came swinging by over our heads. The house is beautiful, and immaculately clean. The ladies cooked for us several times and it was delicious. Wlliam took us on a hike to the waterfall, and like everyone seems to mention, he doesnt speak english, and we dont speak spanish, but he communicates so well and we learned so much from him..wonderful staff work at Casa Bambu. The amount of wildlife we saw was astounding and even though we hiked all around, we saw the most just sitting on our front porch. We are thankful for our time at Casa Pina and hope we are lucky enough to visit this magical place again one day!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Once you get there - it is exotic, wild and strangely comfortable place. This is as rain foresty as it gets, but don't be scared - William (caretaker) is there to help. No matter what you need (well, almost everything), he will assist you with... Great guy, great place and we had a terrific time there. Stay active, do the walks, take a few tours and don't forget to hire local ladies to cook for you - Delicious... Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Bambu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bambu Resort

Also Known As:
Casa Bambu Resort Hotel Osa Peninsula
Casa Bambu Resort Hotel
Casa Bambu Hotel
Hotel Casa Bambu
Casa Bambu Resort Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula
Address: Playa Pan Dulce | Matapalo, 0000000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 Specialty lodging in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a secluded five acres of pristine rainforest beachfront in one of the most biologically diverse areas on earth, this unique resort lets you escape civilization while safely and comfortably enjoying countless natural wonders. Located in the same vast rainforest as Corcovado Park, Casa Bambu Resort is on the tip of the Osa Peninsula, where the rainforest meets the sea. After visiting our house, Lonely Planet recommends Casa Bambu Resort as a place to visit. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bambu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Bambu Resort to your Saves list