We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Remote Honeymoon Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Remanso Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Osa Peninsula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Remanso Lodge
Save
You added El Remanso Lodge to your Saves list
near Corcovado National Park, 8203, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Osa Peninsula
Kilauea, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Remote Honeymoon Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

We were actually here in May 2008, but I still want to write a review. We stayed in the Honeymoon cabin. Bottom floor was screened, top floor was open with only the bed screened. We loved the top floor and view of ocean. Warning: don't leave stuff out, however. The coatis and/or monkeys will take anything that looks like food, then ditch it out in the jungle. Luckily, the staff can usually find it (as they did my wife's hiking shoe). Food was excellent and prepared straight from garden (at least fruits/veggies). Hardly saw anyone on the beach. Jungle came right up to it. Very "LOST" looking. Lots to do: ziplines, water rappelling (very fun!), tidepools with natural tubs at certain times of day, horseback riding (didn't do), bird watching, hiking, pool, large deck, sunning, gardens, and more... Animal Sanctuary trip was about 2 hours away via car and boat, but totally worth it. Only day trip of our 8 days there. Otherwise content to stick around and enjoy the jungle and beach. Wildlife we saw within property lines: sloths, coatis, monkeys, toucans, macaws, all kinds of other birds...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    11
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
101
210
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

My sister and I stayed at El Remanso for five days at the end of January 2011, We stayed in the La Vainilla deluxe cabin because it had two bedrooms and two bathrooms...overlooks the ocean. I could have stayed there a month...woke up with the howler monkeys every morning and slept in the hammocks during our siesta. Make sure you bring good binoculars...the birdwatching is great, even if you don't like birdwatcing.

We found the staff and the service excellent, and we did not have a bad meal while we were there. The food definitely agreed with us. We wished that we could have stayed another week.

From the time we got off the plane until we left, everyone there was hospitable and really wanted us to have a good time, without being pushy. We did a lot of the activities...the waterfall rapelling was the most exciting but having breakfast on the platform in the canopy was by far the most enjoyable (we did that twice). Renaldo always brought great coffee. They knew all the wildlife, plants and sounds. My sister did her first rapelling on the waterfall rapelling trip, and Heraldo and Aldo were both excellent guides and ultra safe...made you feel you were in good hands.

You can tell the staff are proud of what they have. Thanks to Gabby for answering 100 emails and Cindy and staff for looking after us. We had an awesome time!

If you want to get away for a while and relax...this is the place.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We were with our friends when we stayed at El Remanso. The ride from the airport was quite exciting with the road surface totally shot. Luckily we had an experienced driver who handled the Range Rover very well. Once we got to the lodge, we all realized how special the location is; it overlooks the jungle all the way to the ocean! The welcome, the service, the food, the cabins were just what we had hoped for. Gerardo, the guide, was one of the best we've ever experienced and his patience and knowledge of the fauna and flora showed just how much he loved his job. Took the hike down to the beach (the trip back up (400' elevation) is strenuous but you just take your time and appreciate the birds and flowers. We also did the zip line to the viewing platform and it was delightful.
All in all, a wonderful place to appreciate the beauty of Costa Rica.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed at El Remanso over the New Year as part of our first visit to Costa Rica. It is fair to say that we were a bit apprehensive before we arrived as we were aware that the property was remote and set right in the jungle of the Osa Peninsula. Any concerns disappeared immediately we arrived at the property. The setting is spectacular, surrounded by rainforest with great views both into the forest and of the ocean.

The main lodge is rustic but very comfortable and very much the centre of the property. We enjoyed spending time there, watching the wildlife in the surrounding forest, sharing experiences with the other guests and talking to the friendly and knowledgable staff. The rooms are not luxurious as you would find in a 5 star hotel but are very comfortable, clean and spacious and are very much in keeping with the eco principles of the property.

The grounds of the property are spectacular, from the hiking trails to the waterfalls, lagoons and the beach. And at all times you are immersed in the sights and sounds of the rainforest. We particularly enjoyed the beach, whilst the hike down and back is challenging, you are rewarded with the most incredible and deserted beach you will every see as the rainforest meets the ocean.

However, what really sets this property apart is the staff. The owners, Daniel and Adriana are very welcoming and perfect hosts. The hotel staff, from the guides to the restaurant and bar staff and the chefs and the gardeners are largely from the local community. Of course they don't have the polish and experience that you would find in top 5 star resort but this is more than made up for by their friendliness and passion for both what they do and their environment. Each and every one of them went out of their way to make our stay not only enjoyable but also a unique and life enhancing experience. I hate to single out anyone in particular but Gerardo, the resident Naturalist is so knowledgable, in particular about the nature of the Osa Peninsula but what really makes him special is his passion for what he does. Spending time with him either on the hiking trails, bird watching of waterfall rappelling was very special.

This place is not for everyone. If you are looking for a luxurious 5 star resort and just want to relax on the beach, I suggest that you look elsewhere. However, if you want a truly incredible and life enhancing experience immersed in the nature of this amazingly diverse environment, I can't recommend El Remanso highly enough. We certainly would like to return one day!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carson city, nv
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Although we had a pleasant stay at El Remanso, found the staff to be insincere and unable to take care of problems with their other guests! The room we stayed in had a shower that was visible from the stairs and when other guests were on the stairs they could see directly into the shower.

Also, tried to get a message to friends staying at another lodge and the staff assured us they would relay message, they decided NOT to! Thanks a lot, El Remanso!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Remanso, Manager at El Remanso Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
Dear mfinch45,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. In response to your observation we have placed a bamboo screen across the shower area in the Ocean View Rooms so that it now offers complete privacy from every angle.
We also apologize for not delivering the message you left with us in time to reach the recipients before they left the Osa Peninsula. This area’s communication network can be very limiting as there is no phones in this area, nor do we have cell phone coverage at the lodge or the surroundings and transportation is not always accessible. It was never our intention to disregard your request, and we are truly sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.
We would be very happy to have you back anytime so that we can leave you with fond memories of your stay with us!

The Management Team of El Remanso Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

This was the best place we stayed in on our trip to Costa Rica. We only stayed for 3 nights as sadly we couldn't afford any longer, but it was totally worth every dollar. We experienced amazing knowledgeable people who have a passion for their environment.

Waterfall rappelling was incredible. The morning trek was extremely informative and we learnt so much about this beautiful part of Costa Rica. The cabins are charmingly rustic and being woken up by howler monkeys is something that will stay with us forever.

Don't expect to have late nights - the jungle dictates when you rise and sleep & after a long day you'll want to go to bed early anyway.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We spent Christmas at El Remanso this year and it was perfection. The setting is truly unique and spectacular. But what sets El Remanso apart from any other experience is the wonderful staff. They are welcoming, knowledgeable and truly delightful. The guides for our various adventures knew so much that they eagerly shared with us while entertaining us along the way. Daniel and Adriana who run the resort are lovely and made us feel welcomed and cared for every moment of our stay. The rooms are spacious and wonderfully designed to enjoy the surroundings. I loved our porch with a hammock where we could watch the birds and monkeys stop to visit. The main dining room/lodge buildings is beautiful and a peaceful place to relax over a meal or just to read a book. The staff often wanders through during the day and points out birds, insects or monkeys. I had one of the best massages of my life with Laura (and I've had plenty) in a charming semi-open hut where you could hear the ocean (and to be fair some pretty loud parrots!). The beach is beautiful and we were often the only humans in sight. Our family had the beach completely to ourselves for sunset on Christmas Eve. We thoroughly enjoyed the waterfall rappeling, the night hike, and the daytime nature hike. Food was good and plentiful and the bar had a nice selection of drinks including a surprisingly nice selection of wines. Truly, we have taken our now teenagers to many places in their lives and El Remanso stands out as a truly unique an special place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Remanso Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Remanso Lodge

Address: near Corcovado National Park, 8203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
El Remanso Hotel Osa Peninsula
El Remanso Osa
El Remanso Lodge Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Remanso Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.