We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antidote to a busy life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Remanso Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Osa Peninsula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Remanso Lodge
Save
You added El Remanso Lodge to your Saves list
near Corcovado National Park, 8203, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Osa Peninsula
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Antidote to a busy life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

From start it finish our visit to El Remanso was first rate. Gabby even checked in with us before we left the US as there was a blizzard and she eased every part of our travel logistics. Can't say enough about the thoughtful environment of this luxurious Eco lodge. Pristine beach where we walked and swam in the tidal pools, Gerardo was a great nature guide, owners Adriana and Daniel treated us like VIP friends and the cabina was romantic and beautifully constructed. Pictures don't do justice to the beauty of El Remanso. The monkeys and birds were great company and by the end of our four day visit we were seeing things we didn't know we're there on day one. It was a great adventure but also a sweetly relaxing time as well. Because you are off the grid, 4 days felt like 2 weeks. And the owners were happy to drive you a short ways to get a cell call out. Don't miss the horseback riding on the most beautiful beach ever... We were so lucky they had a cancellation as it was a highlight of our week in CR.
Grace
New York City

Room Tip: The cabinas are terrific. El Lucero was magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    11
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
101
210
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

If i start by saying this is only my 3rd 5 star excellent rating in over 60 reviews you will realise how good El Remanso . From reservations to all Lodge staff and Guides and the ever present owners the service is of the highest order . If you want luxury with TVs etc this is not for you ,if you want a comfortable eco lodge with brilliant customer service , good food in a stunning setting then please go .The bedrooms are comfortable with excellent beds and good showers. The tours are all of the highest order . I cannot recommend this Lodge highly enough . It was the highlight of a fabulous trip in a really interesting country.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was our second trip to El Remanso, and it was everything we remembered and more. The staff recognized us, and seemed genuinely pleased to have us back. The lodging was as beautiful as ever, and the food as tasty. Even better than the last time, there were only two river crossings to get here from Puerto Jimenez, making it much easier, albeit not much faster. The road is still as bumpy, but it was nice to have more of it!

We took another guided tour with Gera, and were once again amazed by all the things he was able to show us. His enthusiasm is still infectious. Silvia and Sergio not only tolerated our bad-but-slowly-improving Spanish, but graciously and kindly helped us improve it, making it so much easier to try.

The atmosphere here also makes it easy to make new friends, and we did this time, as we did on our last trip. Something about sharing paradise with people, I suppose!

If you are looking for an incredible experience in the rain forest, at a place that "sits lightly" on the land, provides stellar customer service, and will stun you with the surrounding beauty, don't hesitate to book your trip to El Remanso. You can even fly into Puerto Jimenez and have them pick you up, if you don't want to rent a car.

We look forward to many additional visits to this beautiful, special, place and the wonderful people who make us feel more than welcome - they make us feel like old friends.

Room Tip: We requested the same room as last year - Caramba. It has a lovely view of the ocean, and is seclude...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We, my wife Kim and I, have been to the Osa several times over the past years staying at some really terrific eco-resorts. This year we waited to long to book our usual places so we started looking at other options. We found that El Remanso had one open unit. We had heard good things so we decided to give it try. Best travel decision we have ever made!! This place is terrific. Great hiking trails all different from one another. The Ocean Trail is easy and leads to tidal pools and a terrific waterfall right on the beach. The River Trail is an adventure with Howlers, snakes, lizards, frogs anteaters, very exciting hike. All the other hikes are unique and worth exploring.

The lodge and associated grounds are perfect. Wonderful staff that will assist with anything you need. They seem to be a very close and caring group that truly reflect the personalities of the owners, Daniel and Adriana both are completely involved in every detail of the daily operations of the Lodge and are engaging with all the guests.

The dining area overlooks the jungle with various birds and monkeys usually nearby. The meals were always terrific with varied menu choices. A side note, there are several small decks strategically placed with two chairs. PERFECT for morning coffee watching the jungle “wake-up”.

We will definitely book another trip to El Remanso.

Room Tip: Kim had the Yoga studio all to herself everyday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We visited in August last year. We had an excellent stay here. The wildlife walks, lead by Geraldo, were excellent and we learned a lot. We also did the waterfall rappelling which I found hard work but my partner enjoyed. As it was the rainy season there were severe thunderstorms in the evening but luckily the days were dry. The food was very good and the environmental ethos of the place was to be admired. The walk down to the beach and back was not too arduous for us and was worth it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was our fourth visit to Costa Rica, and our first to the Osa Peniinsula. It started with amazing service from Gabby, and ended with feeling like we had become part of a beautiful family in Paradise. The main purpose of our holiday was to relax, tap into the regenerative powers of nature, have an adventure, eat well, be somewhere we felt safe and relatively pampered. Our stay at El Remanso did not disappoint ! It was all that, and more. We booked last minute and so were shuffled to 5 different rooms. At first we thought it would be a pain, but we took a chance, and loved the variety of perspectives and experiences this allowed. Each room was unique and enjoyable for different reasons. Our personal favourite, La Caramba; but La Vainilla, was amazing, as you were so connected to the jungle. We travel quite a bit, and found this to be a gem of a place. The staff are great; the owners Daniel, and Adriana are wonderful people; the grounds are like a brilliantly thought out botanical garden, overlooking the ocean; the beach is beautiful and the tidal pools are other-worldly. We spent some memorable times engaging the ocean in the exquisite natural setting of those pools. We saw numerous animals, insects, and birds, and enjoyed most of the offered tours. The guides were all very knowledgeable, totally professional, and very safety conscious. The pool is perfect, cleaned using a system that does not require chlorine; and the totally green, self-sustaining basis for the entire operation was extremely impressive. It is pricey to stay at El Remanso, but it is an experience that will leave you with priceless memories. My wife and I were blown away by the hearts that we found naturally carved into the tidal pools, and filled with water; as well as what appeared to be a large angel immediately next to them. That there were angels and sacred heart murals found on some cabin walls, as well as in the dining area was more then just a coincidence. This location, and what the owners and staff are offering, is an experience of a truly sacred place.

Room Tip: La Vainilla is a cabin that offers a unique experience, similar to a luxury tree house in the jungle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, CO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My wife & I made our 4th trip to the Osa Peninsula in January, 2014. We spent 4 nights at El Remanso and 4 nights at Copa de Arbol lodges. A separate more detailed review of Copa de Arbol will be found at that lodge’s listing. The lodges are different in key ways, in particular, El Remanso is off the electrical grid (they make their electricity) while Copa de Arbol is connected. Although both lodges are appropriately advertised as eco friendly lodges, El Remanso takes the concept to a very high level without negatively impacting their guests.

The El Remanso reservationist had informed us that the dirt road from Drake Bay to El Remanso was “acceptable” but after starting the trip we came to a very different conclusion. The first 2/3 of the road from Drake Bay to Puerto Jiménez was very poor - ~15 MPH from pot hole to pot hole. In contrast, the condition of the road from Puerto Jiménez (primary airport Access) to El Remanso was good. We initially stayed in the upstairs of the La Vainilla cabin, which has views that you might encounter by staying in a child’s tree house. Although the downstairs part of the cabin is enclosed with screen, the upstairs is not. The building is one of the original cabins built by the resort and is dated. We encountered several issues, including not being able to read after dinner because of an onslaught of insects drawn to the flashlights. The manager Sylvia went out of her way to help resolve the issues (some could be fixed, others could not). She moved us to the newer La Guinda cabin, which was very nice in location, structure & furnishings. Since El Remanso has to make their electricity (hydro generators), there is no A/C but the cabins have ceiling fans. The fans were needed at night to moderate the warm, humid conditions. The limited electrical access was not an issue for us. There were adequate lights, electrical plugs & it did not appear to affect kitchen facilities.

The dining area is a large, open area overlooking the ocean & forest. It was also a good place to observe and photograph birds. Frequently there were naturalists present to help identify bird species. The food at the resort was not up to the standards we had encountered at Copa de Arbol but was good in quality (a 4 - 5 on a scale of 1 – 10 (best)). Two entrees were offered at dinner. All of the staff we encountered in the dining area were helpful, friendly & bilingual. There is a limited trail system on the property & most trails can be covered in ~two days of hiking. Additional hiking and bird watching (many scarlet macaws) is available by walking on the beach below the resort. We observed a large number and variety of wildlife on the resort property (e.g., 4 species of monkeys) – more than what we observed on the Copa de Arbol property. During our visit we took a guided bird watching tour (excellent) and a hiking tour (good). I am a professional biologist and was very pleased to observe such an extensive range of wildlife.

We greatly appreciated the generous assistance by the manager & her staff, which helped to make our visit a very positive experience. Although the resort is not inexpensive (comparable to Copa de Arbol in the final $$ analysis), El Remanso & Copa were the two best resorts we have stayed during our trips to Costa Rica, Panama & Belize.

Room Tip: La Guinda cabin is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Remanso Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Remanso Lodge

Address: near Corcovado National Park, 8203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
El Remanso Hotel Osa Peninsula
El Remanso Osa
El Remanso Lodge Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Remanso Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.