We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Remanso Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Osa Peninsula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Remanso Lodge
near Corcovado National Park, 8203, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE EXTRA NIGHT!!!
Ranked #1 of 32 hotels in Osa Peninsula
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The real deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Family of 4, with 12 and 15 yr old children, spent 11 days in Costa Rica at the end of April 13 - the first 5 days in the Osa peninsula at the El Remanso lodge. This small lodge, located very close to a large national park and in the middle of a large conservation area dominated by primary growth rainforest, provides a very comfortable and safe spot to enjoy and learn about this unique place. El Remanso is small enough to operate on an extremely ecologically sound basis, using hydroelectric power, careful water and waste management, recycling or composting almost everything. While this means a simpler kind of guest experience than you'd get at (say) a Four Seasons Golf Resort, the place is immaculately clean, extremely comfortable and is designed so that you are living in the rainforest, rather than on the edge of it. The food was excellent - comparable to a good restaurant in NY or London - quite extraordinary for such a remote location. The management and all the staff are both friendly and very conscientious - from the moment we stepped onto the tarmac at Puerto Jimenez, we felt welcomed and taken care of. There is an abundance of things to do at the lodge, from rappelling down waterfalls to early morning bird-watching in the forest canopy, and our only regret is that we didn't spend longer and explore the beaches and forest nearby. If you want a place where you can listen to the surf at night, the howler moneys and macaws in the morning, walk past a basilisk lizard and a pair of toucans on the way to breakfast, this is the place to do it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    10
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
94
198
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

A lovely lodge in a beautiful, natural setting. A fantastic opportunity to see animals and birds in the extensive grounds, which range from rainforest to fabulous ocean-side. We joined guided tours and also hiked around on our own, every sortie yielded up something exciting. Soak in the pool and watch macaws in the tree overhead.
You can be as active or relaxed as you choose. Abseiling down waterfalls was great fun and entirely safe... The path to the beach is long and steep.. be prepared!
The meals were fine, if unexciting, and we did find the vegetarian offerings a little disappointing, but our feedback was eagerly sought. You get the feeling that you are being listened to. Excellent service, very personal and nothing too much trouble. All staff members, without exception, were charming and helpful.

As others have said, no aircon, so it gets a little sticky and no easy contact with the outside world... but that's no bad thing is it?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sister Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I took two grandsons, ages 11 and 12, to experience the rain forest. They are both great nature lovers with snakes and frogs being at the top of their list. This was the perfect place for all three of us! The boys could do such adventures as waterfall rappelling and tree climbing - I did not have to go along. Together we did two nature hikes and a bird walk. The guides were superb! We also walked down to the beach and along to a beautiful lagoon where they spent 3 idyllic hours. El Remanso has everything: an incredible staff, wonderful facilities, all the nature you could want (the boys were thrilled to see a fer de lance), wonderful, healthy food and lots and lots to do. It was a great adventure for all of us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We traveled to the Osa Penninsula in March and ended our stay with 4 nights at the El Remanso Lodge. The setting is spectacular in the rainforest set on cliffs overlooking the Pacific. At night you can hear the surf pounding in the distance. In the morning there are the howlers and the birds. We took several guided hikes on the property and Melvin and Gerardo are to be commended for their enthusiasm and knowledge of the rainforest and all the flora and fauna within it. Even without a hike you are surrounded by nature and great beauty. At breakfast we saw Toucans and howlers and scarlet macaws. By the pool in the early evening there were macaws again and spider monkeys galore.

There are places to swim (pool, lagoon and tidal pools). The ocean is too rough for swimming but beautiful to walk along and the lagoon and tidal pools are right adjacent. The hike up from the ocean to the property is 15 mins or so. We had wonderful massages with Laura and also enjoyed Daniel's (one of the owners) presentation of the sustainability of the lodge.

Meals were nothing short of fabulous at El Remanso. There was plenty of choice for the carnivores, vegetarians and pescatores among our group. The staff was unfailingly polite, gracious and prompt. We were impressed everyday by the education and enthusiasm of all the staff and their commitment to this rare and beautiful ecosystem.

You are off the grid in this lodge, so if you crave wifi, tv, a hair dryer or ac, look elsewhere. If you want to reconnect with nature in an elegant setting with excellent food and clean comfort, this is your place. Our teenagers loved being unplugged as well. Being without keys, a wallet and a cellphone was truly liberating. Being with friends and family in this glorious place was fantastic. Thank you for the trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: during the dry season it was hot, although cooler in evenings, I would recommend rooms with ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My family just came back from our trip to El Remanso Lodge and it was incredible. Get ready to relax and enjoy nature at its best ... right at your finger tips. The rooms are airy and bright ,comfortable and very clean. The food at El Remanso Lodge is that of a five star restaurant. Each meal ordered individually so everyone is happy. The staff here is so amazing. Each staff member was friendly and happy to help you with any requests or needs you may have. The nature guide we had was named Gerardo and he was incredible. Gerardo knows everything about Costa Ricas rainforest and its inhabitants . When we were waterfall repelling or on four long nature hikes he made you always feel safe ! I think everyone should go here at least once in their life time . As for me I intend to go back for years to come!
PURA VIDA

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you want internet, air conditioning and a glossy resort experience then go elsewhere.

If you want an incredible jungle experience, the friendliest guides and staff on earth, and pure magic come here.

I came with my family - my parents and two adult siblings, and we had a wonderful five days. It's hard to find a complaint!

The staff were incredible (maybe too attentive if anything!) especially the naturalists and guides. We learned so so much from Gerardo and Rinaldo (I hope I didn't butcher spellings there) which meant that even on our own walks we noticed so much more of the wildlife.

All the adventures we did were great. I loved the waterfall repelling and canopy breakfast most - although just the first introductory ridge walk was fantastic.

But perhaps nothing beat coming back after an active day, getting a beer and watching the sunset.

For those who want to be a little less active there is a beautiful pool and I could happily imagine spending a week painting or writing or just reading in the sun.

Plus it is so amazing to learn how the place works. Sylvia gave a talk on sustainability and El Remanso's 5 leaf rating from the government, and I was impressed by how hard they work not only on the environmental but the social and economic aspects of sustainable development.

We stayed in Casa Osa, which we loved, although we were there at the hottest time of year which made the two downstairs rooms hard to sleep in. But the staff let my brother borrow the office fan and my sister and I just moved into the two extra beds upstairs!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent 4 days, 3 nights at El Remanso. What a great experience, truly unique. Nothing like I have ever stayed at before. Its a perfect blend of comfort and nature that made it so great. We enjoy camping and outdoors but we also need basic living amenities. Thats why this lodge is ideal. We stayed in the Vainalla bungalow, its 2 levels to accomodate 2 families. Upstairs room was completely open, a joy to wake up to every morning. Straight out of your bed you can see the ocean deep down below. At night sitting on the deck you can see the moonlight and/or the bright stars covering the sky since its pitch dark out there. No mosquitoes or other issues even though it was so open. You can hear the howler monkeys howling away, the Toucans singing, the scarlet macaws and other birds chirping, etc. The nature trails and hiking on the property itself is amazing. The numerous waterfalls small to big on property are great to walk through and sit under. Walking through water creeks of naturally clean water combined with land hiking trail was refreshing. We also enjoyed activities including horse back riding, canopy bird watching, water rappelling and great massages. The natural water pool without chlorine was great relaxation each day after an active day, often surrounded by birds and animals accompanying you on nearby trees. And the 3 meals each day made fresh were so good, they have excellent chefs on property the produce used seemed so fresh. Owners gave a presentation of the lodge's history and how they are self-sustaining using all natural resources on the property to generate electricity, water and reduce trash by recycle and reusing. We went with our 8 year old son and I think he enjoyed more than we did. Kids will find this place interesting specially when they are so used to modern amenities. I have not spent 4 days without keys, without wallet and without cell phone or laptop in a long time. Highly recommend this stay to anyone visiting Costa Rica. Besides Arenal and Manual Antonio or Guanacaste area, make sure you add Osa peninsula to your trip for a unique experience. We drove everyone in an SUV and it was perfectly fine since its dry season. The road to El Remanso is great upto the last 1 hr from Puerto Jimenez where it becomes gravel road but still easy to drive if you have an SUV. And the drive is better than flying since you can stop along the way and enjoy the local neighborhoods that you will pass.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osa Peninsula
Boutique, Beach...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#2 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
La Choza del Manglar
La Choza del Manglar
#14 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
3.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Romantic, Beach...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Iguana Lodge
Iguana Lodge
#4 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Remanso Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Remanso Lodge

Address: near Corcovado National Park, 8203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 hotels in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
El Remanso Hotel Osa Peninsula
El Remanso Osa
El Remanso Lodge Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Remanso Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Remanso Lodge to your Saves list