We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the Grid Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Remanso Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Osa Peninsula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Remanso Lodge
Save Saved
You added El Remanso Lodge to your Saves list
near Corcovado National Park, 8203, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE EXTRA NIGHT!!!
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Osa Peninsula
Tierra Verde, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Off the Grid Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Osa Peninsula is where the rain forest meets the sea, and El Remanso gives you both and more. The facilities are beautiful and the staff is perpetually cheerful and are available to plan activities and answer questions. We did a night wildlife tour, wonderful waterfall rapelling, and trekked to the beach and tide pools. The Lodge appears to have been carefully placed in the middle of the rain forest surrounded by exotic birds, monkeys, and other wildlife. We awakened every morning to sounds of birds and howler monkeys calling to each other. If you're looking for a relaxing vacation in a natural setting, this is it. No TV, wireless service, A/C, or hair driers. Our classic cabin had a beautiful view of the sea in the distance, comfortable queen bed, shower, deck, and hammock. The walk to the beach is about 1/2 mile downhill through the forest. There are times when the beach is not accessable due to tide and currents. Heed the posted advisories about the times. Absolutely great experience.

Room Tip: I suggest you choose one of the individual cabins for the ultimate in privacy, but you can't go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    10
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
99
203
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful experience at El Remanso. The lodge exists in harmony with the surrounding wilderness and fully lives up to the eco-tourism label. The staff was quite friendly and accommodating, often making sure there were no issues with our stay. We also enjoyed the activities with their enthusiastic, talented guides. The horseback ride with Miguel was nothing short of spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland, ZH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at El Remanso in December 2012. We felt like in heaven.
The lodge is very nice and quiet. We had such a warm welcome and the staff remember your name. Excellent staff and very friendly. Adriana & Daniel made their best to make you feel at home. The pool area is very nice and peaceful. Great nature around (full of birds and monkeys)
Food was excellent.
The lodge propose you different activities, interesting and funny.
I would definitely recommend El Remanso

The little point is that altogether 1 room + some activities (not all) cost around 2400 US$ for 3 days (2 adults + 2 children). It's a little pricey ...ok heaven has no price ....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had very high expectations of El Remanso and it exceeded them in all respects. The hotel is relatively simple, but perfectly in tune with the rainforest setting. The rooms also blend into the setting and provide surprising privacy. The food is also very good with an excellent menu which is prepared by a talented chef. The range of activities help you to explore and enjoy the rainforest. We did waterfall rappelling, horse riding and several treks, all of which we enjoyed. The staff were friendly and helpful and he owners passionate about rainforest conservation. El Remanso is an experience of a lifetime, and we absolutely adored it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

After a one hour drive along a rough track into the forest we arrived at this stunning remote lodge and were given a warm welcome by Adrianna and her attentive staff. Her enthusiasm for this beautiful place and this eco environment is infectious. We stayed in Bajamar, one of rooms overlooking the pool. It was spacious with the bathroom wall open to the elements. The restaurant and seating area is raised and overlooks the beautiful forest and sea beyond and you feel as if you are in a treehouse. The food and service is excellent. Gera the environmental guide is superb, his knowledge and enthusiasm for his subject is overwhelming. We learnt much about the abundant flora and fauna of the area. The pool is lovely and it is a great place to cool off and watch the spectacular sunsets.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My family and I went there as just a family trip we try and do every year. I have been all around the world and this was my favorite place. The workers are amazing and friendly, the view is spectacular, the hikes, the adventures, this will be a trip you will always remember. I did not want to leave and I am absolutely going back next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our family, kids 14, 12, 8, 7 spent 4 nights at El Remanso in February. I don't know where to start.... We bought the Active Package and throughly enjoyed each activity, short hike, long hike, night hike, waterfall repelling, canopy breakfast and horseback riding. The staff could not have been more friendly and knowledgable. The food was great and liked by all. When it was time to go, we were not ready. We all love it! Thank you El Remanso for an unbelievable family vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Remanso Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Remanso Lodge

Address: near Corcovado National Park, 8203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
El Remanso Hotel Osa Peninsula
El Remanso Osa
El Remanso Lodge Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Remanso Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.