We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Rain Forest Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Remanso Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Osa Peninsula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Remanso Lodge
near Corcovado National Park, 8203, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE EXTRA NIGHT!!!
Ranked #1 of 32 hotels in Osa Peninsula
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Rain Forest Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

El Remanso is a Magical Kingdom in a Rainforest Paradise. From the moment we started driving from Puerto Jimenez we felt as though we were entering another world. The trip alone felt like we were crossing over into another dimension, especially down the driveway, which was a white-knuckle adventure of its own.

We were greeted magnificently upon arrival, given the lay of the land, and taken to our first cabin, which was described as "rustic". Rustic it may be, but it was wonderful spending our first two nights higher up on the property, in the woods. As forewarned, we were awakened at 4-something AM by the sound of howler monkeys, which became our alarm clock every day. Our last five nights were spent in La Guinda, which Adriana and Daniel described as "the cherry on the cake", which truly was the case. With our own balcony overlooking the Pacific, it was an amazing way to greet each morning.

There are a multitude of activities (not included in the price but well worth it) to choose from, all of which proved to be peak-life experiences.... surfing on the gulf, horseback riding through the jungle to the beach, night hikes, waterfall rappelling (which we did not get to do), so on and so forth. It's also worth taking a ride over to Martina's bar just to check out the local International Expats who make their home on the Osa.

The food was wonderful, all made from local produce, grass-fed beef, fresh fish, the smoothies, everything. The staff were attentive, warm, everything you'd hope for. It really felt like we were visiting family and we look forward to returning to El Remanso.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    319
    10
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
93
195
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topanga, Ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Perfection! We recently spent 6 amazing days at El Remanso. We have done a lot of travel over the years and my entire family agrees that is was the BEST one by far. The lodge is perfection! A stunning location nestled deep in the jungle, with beautiful ocean views! Our cabin (La Caramba) was gorgeous. Private, simple and elegant. A highlight for us was the amazing staff, everyone was so helpful and friendly. The food was spectacular - fresh, healthy and delicious. Everyday for us seemed to have the perfect balance. A wonderful combination of Adventure (horseback riding on the beach, waterfall repelling) and Relaxation (lounging by the beautiful pool) and Discovery (hiking to the beach/waterfalls and seeing wildlife). El Remanso is spectacular! A perfect destination for a romantic getaway or a family trip. We are already talking about when we can return. Thank you El Remanso!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

El Remanso was, by far, the most expensive place we stayed whilst on holiday--by at least 300%. I fully support their cause and truly hope that other lodges can follow suit. I gave a lot of thought to this rating and decided that it has to be 3/5, as if I had to return there tomorrow, I just couldn't do it if I had to stay in the same room. But first, let me get to the positives, as there are many.
- The staff. Almost all of the staff are fabulous - truly fabulous. The wait staff are all wonderful and Gabby was, by far, the best person I worked with when booking lodging. She rocks. Tamar is the shining gem and will go above and beyond to see that you are comfortable. And in a genuine manner.
- The food is pretty much faultless and comes in copious amounts. I was pleased we had to hike down and up to the beach, as we really were well-fed here. I loved the food and also enjoyed having bocas with other guests and getting to know them.
- The location is exquisite. It was a treat to hear the howler monkeys in the morning and to see just how truly bright the stars are when there is no electricity. I wanted to get away from it all, and I did.
To be improved, pronto:
- The location of our room was a big downer, and for the price we were paying, we were very unhappy with it. It was overlooking the pool area and was not private in the least. We wanted to sit on our balcony and overlook the forest like so many of the cabins did, but that wasn't in the cards. The bathroom is outside and as one other guest commented, the people living above us can look right down on you as they walk up the stairs. Here we are in such a remote setting and I feel like I have less privacy! Although the pool closed at 6pm, we were awakened one night by our neighbors who decided to do a night dip. Their torches/flashlights were flashing about and they were shouting back and forth to each other. Not what this place is supposed to be about and I don't know why the rooms were placed so close to a main area.
The deal killer was the lack of any air at night. Our ceiling fan did not work and, since we did not have a detached cabin, we did not have a cross breeze. At night the air gets very still, is very humid and hot, and my other half really struggled to sleep. He would just lie there and drip. It was rough for him and his quality of sleep was nil. We informed the staff of our problem the next day and asked to switch rooms, but unfortunately were unable to. The night before we left we handed in our review and it was pretty similar to what I'm writing here. We were told that the people before us also complained of the fan not working and that they would look into fixing it. So, they knew of this problem and did not resolve it prior to us staying there for five hellish nights--and I mean hellish. Not cool (pun intended). Anyhow, we sauntered back to our steam room for the last night and one of the managers came down with a desk fan. My other half summed it up laconically 'nice gesture, but too little too late'.

On a separate note, my recommendation to the owners would be to offer one or two of the local activities in the price of the lodging. Surely a canopy tour can be thrown in. The costs are extremely high and I would love to see more people staying in ecolodges such as El Remanso. Not only would people do some of these tours, but they would get out in nature more.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room not by the pool area since the point of going here is to experience nature and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Remanso, Manager at El Remanso Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear intlwanderlust,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. First of all we would like to thank you for your positive comments on our overall service, the food and the the lodge in general. While our reviews are predominantly very positive, we take your review and comments very seriously and as an opportunity to make the necessary corrections to avoid problems for future guests.

Our standard rooms in Casa Poniente typically get good comments from our guests, offering king-size bamboo beds, a large outside terrace and they are conveniently screened with plants and bamboo from the nearby pool area. They are also competitively priced in comparison with our Deluxe Rooms or Cabins, however it is clear that they do not offer the same level of privacy or view. We are sorry that we were not able to move you to another accommodation option as you discussed with the management team but since your stay was during the Holiday Season we are always completely booked for those dates.

We must however apologise for the problem with the ventilation in your room. Even though all rooms and cabins get a cross-breeze when opening doors and windows, the fans certainly make a big difference. Our limited electricity, provided exclusively by our hydroelectric system only enables us to use energy efficient ceiling fans (and we have managed to fit in large 52``ceiling fans in all cabins and rooms) and we struggled to get the necessary replacement parts for the speed setting of yours, which we had to fly down from San José. While we usually have no problems with them, we acknowledge that we did not provide a back-up solution quickly enough. We will make sure that this does not happen again in the future.

Thank you again for your mostly positive remarks of your experience with us and we would be very happy to have you back anytime so that we can leave you with only fond memories of your stay with us!

The Management Team of El Remanso Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our family of four spent 5 nights here recently. The property is really amazing but even more so considering it is in the middle of "nowhere". I had done a lot of reading about the lodge and also about the osa peninsula but i was still not fully prepared for the whole experience. We flew into the puerto jimenez airport and arrived about 4pm. We were greeted right away by the staff from el remanso and loaded up for the drive to the lodge. It is a little over an hour on some very rough roads. Once we got to the lodge, we were taken to our room--first night we stayed in la caramba and then moved to la vainilla. The room was very cool--had one large bed and two twins and a hammock. Large sliding screen doors led to a deck area with adirondack chairs. Everything was very functional and charming. The food throughout our stay was delicious and very healthful--lots of veggies and fruits--also some wonderful fish and shrimp!! Delicious smoothies were available and you could also get lunch to go if you planned to hike a long way or spend time at the beach.
Our first room was nice but the la vainilla cabin is amazing. it is two story with the bottom floor sleeping up to 4 and has a shower, sink and potty and access to a deck. The upper floor is entirely open to the outdoors with a king bed, bathroom "corral", small couch and chairs and hammock. It was spectacular with lovely views of the pacific ocean. We had very few issues with bugs in the room--a few large roaches, moths, and a few spiders. We did have a few birds fly through the cabin and also had a "herd" of something run over the roof in the middle of the night.
I think we were all a bit overwelmed at first by the nighttime "noise" from all the bugs and animals. Most alarming was the early morning wakeup call--0430--from the howler monkeys. It was a little disarming to hear when it was pitch black outside, but by the end of our stay, I was sleeping through it!! It is one of the farthest cabins from the main lodge so a flashlight is very important!
We took the ridge hike and night hike with Gerardo, the naturalist and they were both awesome--he is so passionate and very interesting. We also did a few hikes on our own. The trip to the beach is about 1/2 mile and the downhill is OK but the uphill is a killer. I exercise regularly but that hike was a cardiac stress test and not for the faint of heart. We spent time at the lagoon which was fresh water right near the beach--ocean too rough to swim in--and also enjoyed playing around in the tide pools. Our kids did the waterfall rapelling and loved it. We also did the morning bird watching on the zipline platform and it was an experience but not the best birding.
We also enjoyed the pool most afternoons.
The drinks were reasonably priced and i was able to buy a bottle of wine and save it for the next day.
They brought in vendors a couple days and they were set up in the dining area and i did buy a few jewelry items. They also offered massages on certain days and i had a one hour massage on our last afternoon that was fantastic!
We did not do any offsite excursions because we did not want to make an extra drive back to puerto jimenez nor did we want to pay for the extra transfer cost.
They did offer a presentation one night about how they run the lodge efficiently with limited impact on the environment--it was very interesting and truly amazing and awe inspiring! made us realize how wasteful we can be!
Every single one of the staff members were helpful, friendly and were always available for questions.
I would recommend el remanso with a few caveats--definitely it is for people that like adventure and enjoy nature and are in good physical shape and health!!
also would make sure you bring a flashlight or headlamp, and you really will need only practical quick drying clothes and shoes--hiking shoes are good and water shoes are a plus!

Room Tip: definitely go for the private cabins--they are secluded and very cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent 3 great days here. All the staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are big and the food is excellent. Open room without mosquitos !!!
We saw a lot of wild animals around the property.
Our stay in Remaso was the best in our Costa Rica tour.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

From the moment we were greeted, we felt like royalty at El Remanso. Everyone was incredibly hospitable and attentive to our every need. Whether we wanted ice cream added to our dessert or uncooked rice to fix our waterlogged camera, the waitstaff was happy to accommodate us. The one night it rained, the maid came without our asking and moved our clothes on the porch further under the overhang.

Our experiences with Geraldo the tour guide were great. He was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and had our safety in mind when we did the rappelling trip (one of the many highlights of our stay).

Although there is no Internet access and trails can be steep, one has both nature at their back door and the conveniences of an established eco-lodge. They also take their sustainability seriously; we attended their yearly sustainability lecture one night and were fairly impressed. If you do reserve a room close to the pool during high reason, be aware that you may encounter noise from children at the pool. (And no matter where you book, the howler monkeys will be there to wake up early in the morning.. another reminder of the hotel's fantastic location). Overall, El Remanso was one of two places we stayed at in CR that we most hated to leave. Great location and wildlife (tons of monkeys) and wonderful people.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far Rockaway, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

On our honeymoon, my wife and I stayed at two ecolodges in the Osa Peninsula. El Remanso was not only our favorite place to stay in this region, but was hands-down one of the best travel experiences either of us has had across the board. We stayed in La Guinda--a luxurious treehouse-like cabana overlooking the rainforest and the Pacific Ocean. Each morning we'd sit on our secluded deck and see troupes of monkeys dancing among the treetops and colorful tropical birds darting from branch to branch. Great for couples AND families, this lodge offers one of the most friendly, accommodating, and attentive staffs I've ever experienced at any hotel, a resident naturalist (Gerardo) whose enthusiasm for the plants and animals of the region is absolutely contagious, and amazing self-guided walks you can do daily through the forest and coast itself. Our favorite was a 30-minute hike to the coast where the rainforest meets the ocean. There, you can swim in a secluded lagoon, follow a creek to a breathtaking waterfall, and relax in tidal pools--all within 15 minutes of one another. Their common area hosts a wonderful restaurant, bar, and swimming pool that would suit couples as well as people traveling with their kids. This is definitely the best way to experience the wonder and wilds of the Osa Peninsula rainforest in luxury and comfort--I could not recommend El Remanso more highly! Whoever designed the lodge achieved a perfect synthesis between nature and the accommodations themselves--even if you're not the adventurous type, you can still experience much of the unique wildlife the Osa Peninsula has to offer from the balcony of your cabana or a convenient 10-15 minute stroll from your room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Remanso Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Remanso Lodge

Address: near Corcovado National Park, 8203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 hotels in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
El Remanso Hotel Osa Peninsula
El Remanso Osa
El Remanso Lodge Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Remanso Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Remanso Lodge to your Saves list