We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best new community in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osa Mountain Village Eco Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Osa Mountain Village Eco Resort to your Saves list
Osa Mountain Village Eco Resort
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Costanera Sur, km 196, 60504, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best new community in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My daughter and I stayed in a 2 bedroom unit for 4 days this spring. We loved the area and community so much that we purchased a plot of land and will be spending next winter there, planning the rest of my life with Pura Vida. Great people. Great amenities. Wonderful ecological/farming program, leading to food self sufficiency. This is a model for the future. Plus, it is so much fun!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem great. I do prefer the units on the Northern edge of phase 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuaneOverturf, concierge for the property at Osa Mountain Village Eco Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
So glad you decided to join us permanently. Looking forward to being neighbors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were attracted to this resort due to the ecosustainability advertised on their website. The villas are beautiful and full of modern conveniences except some do not have air conditioning which we did not need. The setting is on a beautiful mountain side near the OSA peninsula with a lot of rain forest as a backdrop. It is a gated community and one of the safest places we've stayed. We had our 2 younger children and did not worry about them as they ran around during the day. There are trails into the forest to explore and lots of paid tours to keep one busy. Some of the tours are still working out the details as they are new at the tourist scene with the canopy tour zip lining a must. The residents treat you as one of their own and are more than willing to help with anything and include you in all their activities. The restaurant has fantastic food, they grow and raise almost everything there but portions are small and prices a bit on the expensive side. They had a nice bar and a great pool although due to the chemical free nature it was green all the time which worried my kids. We loved being there but would skip the camping in the jungle at night tour (maybe great for those who are never in the outdoors but a little too plush and close to the villas for seasoned campers) and spent more time exploring trails on our own.

Room Tip: We rented the 3 bedroom villa but others said the 1 and 2 room villas were just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuaneOverturf, concierge for the property at Osa Mountain Village Eco Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for the review. We really appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Bc
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We have been following the development of Osa Mountain Village for years and were excited to finally have a chance to see it for ourselves. The villagers have created all they write about and more. They are just getting setup at the time of our visit in March so admittedly there was some construction and some kinks getting sorted out. Part of the fun and adventure to see a real eco-community developing. Gorgeous pool area, Ricardo's delicious food, the fun tiki bar, the amazing diversity of food plants, chickens, goats, ducks. Hiking trails galore with a gorgeous private waterfall. Serenity and a real jungle experience await. The units are brand new, beautifully finished. We were able to buy our week's groceries of fresh fresh fruits and vegetables, some beans for around $80 and supplement with Osa's eggs, tomatoes and other surplus veg and fruit they offer/sell. It was wonderful to shop like a local and eat like a king. After hiking, we'd read by the pool. Their friend Cliff owns a place restaurant and small motel just down the mountain on the most pristine beautiful beach imaginable. You can park here securely, and he'll set you up with a cooler of beers and you can swim in the 86 degree water, rest along the jungley shore (no development along the beach). Watch for howler monkeys on the trail back to the restaurant before you drive up the graded mountain road to your cozy base at Osa Mountain Village. This community is happening and we were jealous to here of the stories of people who are making it happen, relocating here, their children learning Spanish in a term at the local school, setting up entrepreneurial businesses within the community. Everyone is super friendly and will strive 100% to make you feel at home. Lots of bird life, we saw a toucan and other wonderful sights. Stay 5 nights to a week, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Try to book a unit an easy walk to the pool if you plan to spend time there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuaneOverturf, concierge for the property at Osa Mountain Village Eco Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
No need to be jealous, come and join us. You fit right in. Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

If you're healthy and want to stay that way, if your a good person and want to be around other good people, if you want to make a wise investment in your future, don't pass up OMV. Our 5 day stay exceeded expectations by a long shot. The people we met truly walk the talk about ecology and sustainability. They are also the people we already miss and would absolutely want as neighbors. Should our life at sea ever end, we will answer the call of the jungle and the pure life at OMV. . . if there is a spot open!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuaneOverturf, concierge for the property at Osa Mountain Village Eco Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Byron, we absolutely loved having you both stay with us. It was truly our pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I had read about OMV online and we just had to plan a stay there on our next trip to Costa Rica, which we did last month and it was well worth the effort to get up the mountian. It is really a world by itself. They have begun to create a village high up in the rain forrest, with no mosquitos and a cooler temp 70's and 80's with very good sleeping temps during the night.
We love to hike and OMV did not disappoint, it is early in the game here as they re just getting started, but with 700 plus acres I hope they have miles more trails the next time we visit. We did several trails to waterfalls and saw some amazing birds and plants.
our afternoons were spent by the pool and evenings at the poolside resturant where we enjoyed the simply prepared, delicious meals. It was nice to be so self contained.
If you love beaches, there is no better beach than bellina, which is about 20 minutes down the mountian. It is worth the trip.

Room Tip: away from the new construction is the only suggestion. It is so quiet at night, I slept so good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuaneOverturf, concierge for the property at Osa Mountain Village Eco Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are adding more trails as I wrote this. Next time you visit we hope to have many more places to hike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We went to OMV in Feb and had a wonderful stay there....all the people were so warm & friendly.. the ride up to village is an adventure in itself! if you plan to go rent a sturdy 4WD ...
also pack your hiking boots and a good pair of walking sandals...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuaneOverturf, concierge for the property at Osa Mountain Village Eco Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
The road is being improved. All good advice though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

The available villas for rental (the construction will continue, as the development progresses) are spacious, well decorated, and fully equipped (even satellite tv), and very reasonably priced. Nice pool area (with bar/bartender, small restaurant in the rancho area), self-service laundry available, morning wake up calls from howlers, several on-site tour and activities are offered, and a (representative) tour office on the main highway will link you to the awesome Osa tourist opportunities.
The 6 km road up to the "village" is a bit rough (4WD needed), but certainly doable; you won't be dashing back if you forgot your sunscreen, but the location is appropriate if you want to leave in the a.m., come back at the end of the day, or hike around on the property instead of driving. Also, if you are thinking of investing in property in the Osa, this might be a good introduction (or perhaps choice).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuaneOverturf, concierge for the property at Osa Mountain Village Eco Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
You hit the nail on the head. Thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Osa Mountain Village Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osa Mountain Village Eco Resort

Address: Costanera Sur, km 196, 60504, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Osa Mountain Village Eco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come for a visit and stay for lifetime at Osa Mountain Village Eco Resort & Sustainable Eco Adventure Park. Just north of the Osa peninsula sits our 750 acres of rainforest with waterfalls, incredible views, hiking trails and a myriad of things to do. You can experience the jungle from the patio of one of our 1, 2 or 3 bedroom villas or take just a few steps and you're in the middle of it. Our restaurant serves up some of the best tasting food you'll eat in Costa Rica with breakfast, lunch and dinner. Enjoy numerous tours and attractions both on and off the property. Discounted all-inclusive packages are available to give you the most adventure for your money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Osa Mountain Village Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osa Mountain Village Hotel Osa Peninsula
Osa Mountain Village Eco Resort Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osa Mountain Village Eco Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.