We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location, professional staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Tico Safari Lodge

Save Saved
You added Rio Tico Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rio Tico Safari Lodge
Vergel de Punta Mala | Canton de Osa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Valencia, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“fantastic location, professional staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Rio Tico. It´s such a unique experience to fall asleep while listening to the jungle that never sleeps. The safari tents are comfortable and clean. Staff is friendly, helpful and professional. Food is good. Would definitely recommend Rio Tico to anyone visiting the region.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
58
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and we confirmed our first impression: the hospitality of managers is outstanding, tents are pretty comfortable and offers a very close encounter with nature. We definitely be back and recommend this place to others.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent 2 really good nights in this lodge. We have chosen this lodge based on the comments and we were not disappointed! it takes some time on a dirt road to get there but it is worth it.
Very warm welcome from the owners, even if the tents are far he helped us with our luggages.
Tents are very clean and modern, well furnished and stylish. Bathroom is very clean.
Breakfast is also very good.
The site is amazing, you can spend hours on your balcony to watch birds, geicos, iguanas and all the wildlife going on just under you. The small river is great to enjoy after a tour as the water is fresh and small waterfall so much enjoyable without dozens of tourists!
Local restaurants around are good and typical.
We would have liked to stay longer but it was the end of our Costa Rican trip ... and defenitely a highlight! The rate price/value is very high!
We did the Corcovado day tour proposed by the lodge and it was also very good in all points and wortth doing it. Corcovado NP is the best NP we have visited with the most wildlife seen and the less tourists!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Rio Tico was a gem in the jungle. A ways down a dirt road, its well worth the trip to get there. Case, the owner, is so full of grace, assistance, and charm, its worth a visit just to talk with him. In a beautiful setting, with a lovely river that has natural water slides and soaking spots. The tent covered, screened in cabanas are very elegant. Breakfast is very nice as well. There is also another beautiful waterfall you can walk to and play in. Two restaurants in the area - go to the one closest to Rio Tico. Its a nice change from all the beach places (and much less expensive for a comparable place to stay), and is an easy drive to Drake Bay, which is worth the trip down to spend some time.

Room Tip: Go for the "tent, rather than a room in the main building. You feel like you're sleeping in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop Harbor, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband, myself and another couple spent a week there and loved every minute of it. WOW is the only way to describe such a place. The only complaint I could even imagine is that we didn't stay long enough. There are no tv's, no bothersom telephones. (good luck getting signal). These are called tents but you can not say you are camping. These are rooms in the wild. PERFECT for the get away you need so badly. The views are great, connecting with nature is perfect, the streams, hiking and hospitality can't be beat. If you get the chance to stay here you will not be disappointed.

The only suggestion I have is to rent a car. You are quite a ways away from anything. Walking for anything other than pleasure is not an option. There are two restaurants in walking distance but you will need more.

The owners took great care of everything we requested and even made some great suggestions...like rent a car. Then they even helped us get the rental.

Although there is no "fitness center" you will not be in need of additional exercise. The tents are down hill and everything else is up hill. I give that fitness room a thumbs up. And just like the fitness center, the streams, waterfalls and beaches should be enough to be considered a "pool".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at the Rio Tico Safari Lodge and we were not disappointed. The lodge is truly a hidden paradise! If you want to get away from it all and be one with nature, then this place is for you. No crowds, no annoying tourists. The tents are magnificent and are immaculately well kept and cleaner than most hotel rooms. We stayed in tent #2 which faced the stream, surrounded by lush tropical plants and flowers. We awoke every morning and were lulled to sleep each night with the sounds of the stream and cicadas chirping all around us. We caught several glimpses of the blue morpho butterfly and one morning, Cees, the owner, brought one over to me in his hand when I was having breakfast before it flew away. Just lovely!

The owners of the lodge, Cees and Miranda, were extremely helpful in accommodating our stay there. Cees organized a few adventures for us (boat rides to Corcovado -- we saw all 4 species of monkeys along with frogs, scarlet macaws, anteater, sloths and dolphins -- wow! and Marino Ballena where dolphins literally swam right along the boat and jumped out of the water!). I strongly advise speaking to Cees and taking his suggestions as far as day trips, where to eat, what beaches to go to, etc. He will not steer you wrong in any matter.

On the food front -- the lodge serves breakfast each morning and - wow! The fresh, local fruit spread was amazing! You can have omelettes, pancakes too -- all made to your liking. The lodge also serves beverages, smoothies and healthy wraps should you desire that in the afternoon. There are also two local restaurants, one within walking distance from the lodge, and the food served in each is outstanding. Fresh fish, plantains and salads that are just delicious.

A couple of suggestions to travelers planning a stay here: Rent a car in San Jose for complete independence (you will need it if you want to explore as this area is semi-remote). And bring a headlamp. My husband and I are avid campers and in a place like this, far of the beaten track (what we loved!) it's smart to carry one on your person. But do not be dismayed - this is not your average tent where you will be "camping." These are high-end tents with electricity, lighting, fans and full, comfortable bathrooms with hot running water.

Everyone -- the owners, housekeeping, the local Costa Ricans -- were all so nice and very warm-hearted people. We were so sad to leave this awesome place and cannot wait to go back!

Thank you Cees and Miranda for all you did for us! We fell in love with your lodge!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Spend 5 days in this place to finish our 3 week trip throught the country and by far this was the best. Beautiful place with nice spacious tentrooms with attached bathrooms. But the natural bathroom / pool in the river is even better to cool down after a nice hike or a day at one of the near beaches. The Dutch couple runing tihis lodge is very friendly, helpfull and has a lot of information about the surrounding and the rest of the country. Perfect place to crash for a while before exploring more of the country.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rio Tico Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Tico Safari Lodge

Address: Vergel de Punta Mala | Canton de Osa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 Specialty lodging in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Southern Pacific Coast of Costa Rica lies the Costa Ballena and our unique hotel, The Rio Tico Safari Lodge. Our ninge Safari Tents offer a direct experience with a Costa Rican tropical rainforest and will unite you with the natural bounty of Costa Rica. Here in the virgin rainforest, you will awaken every morning to the sounds of birds and howler monkeys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rio Tico Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Tico Safari Lodge Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Tico Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.