We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base for an awesome experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Tajalin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel El Tajalin to your Saves list
Hotel El Tajalin
Frente al parque infantil, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Base for an awesome experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We just left Montezuma after two weeks at El Tajalin. I am normally a bit of a hotel snob but for the price that we paid Hotel El Tajalin exceed our expectations. The hotel staff, Gabriel, Jeremy, Dennis, Gina, and the rest were awesome. Very helpful, courteous and really enhanced our Montezuma experience. The upstairs common space is great. A couple of nits... The kitchen could use some updating, silverware, new pots and pans, etc to make cooking and eating in easier. Fixing the fans upstairs would also be great.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    12
    0
    7
See reviews for
4
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Booked in for 4 days at this place they call a hotel should be a hostel and for the money you pay you can get a cleaner and nicer room and a swimming pool just round the corner.! We spent the evening out having a meal and when we got back to the hotel there safe number had been changed and the bathroom door was locked from the inside so someone must or been in the room.! As well as the bedbugs in the dirty bed (booked out the next morning)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We booked here for 4 nights and paid upfront! As soon as we saw the room we immediately changed our minds, it was expensive, dirty and the room stunk really bad! We demanded a refund which didn't go down well! Eventually we agreed on staying 1 nite and had the rest refunded! We decided 2 go out 4 dinner and wen we got back the bathroom door was locked?! Also the combination 4 the safe had been changed?! Not feeling very safe, some1 had definitely been in our room!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_El_Tajalin, Manager at Hotel El Tajalin, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Karen,

I appreciate your review because if nothing else, it helps us evaluate how to deal with adverse situations and I feel I handled this badly when we spoke on your way out. I apologize for not just listening and understanding your point of view but to be honest, I felt insulted.

You eventually said you did not like the price you had agreed to, even though you chose a family room for just a couple. The price is higher than our standard rooms because it is much larger and has 2 additional beds (although still $20 less than all neighboring hotels with 3 bed family rooms and A/C). I agree that that was not the room for you. But when you said you didn't like the room because it smelled (which it does not) and we showed you another room of equal size and amenities, you then said that room was too dark (there are 4 ceiling lights, 2 lamps and 2 windows, so I don't believe that is the case either). At that point, it was obvious that you just wanted out. We gave you a refund for the final three nights to allow you to move to where you could be more comfortable. No worries.

Next time in this type of situation, it's best to just be honest and things will go more smoothly. But to insult and offend and now to continue slandering us because you reserved a room that wasn't right for you is unfair. I hope you can learn from this as well and treat your next adverse situation with better communication and sincerity. Best of luck to you and your traveling partner in all future endeavors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Central location. We arrived late after 12 hours of traveling. It was cheap but the room we stayed in was very poor so we left again the next day and moved to a different hotel. Get what you pay for I guess !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The cleaners were lovely and so welcoming. They were so good at their job and had a wonderful way with towels!(the elephant sculpture out of the towel was the best!) the reception staff were lovely as well! Overall a very nice place to stay :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel helped make the trip to Montezuma and was the favorite one I stayed in during our trip to Costa Rica. Centrally located and quiet, it had a/c, private baths and very reliable hot water. During the few moments we weren't hiking, surfing, or sitting on the beach - we enjoyed reading and napping in the hammocks on the huge top floor lounge. The kitchen was useful (and clean) when we took a break from eating at the great restaurants (all within a block or two). Mix that in with the fun and friendly people from La Escuela Del Sol and you can see why I'm coming back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

People at the reception were very nice and helpful. Rooms are big, clean and very comfortable. Hotel overall feels like home. Breakfast is not offered but you have some options nearby. They offer yoga class but only if bought as a package for an entire week. No noise, locatef near the beach. Maybe it was also the great and exceptional atmosphere of Montezuma which made our stay soooo awesome!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Tajalin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tajalin

Address: Frente al parque infantil, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly hotel just a few steps from the beach with a/c, WiFi, wood floors, free coffee and a big common area with Tv/Dvd. All major cards accepted. A good choice if you want to stay amid the hustle and bustle of Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Tajalin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Tajalin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.