We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Tajalin

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Hotel El Tajalin
Frente al parque infantil, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Caracas, Venezuela
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

Very: clean, friendly, safe, quiet, close to the beach. If that weren't enough, the balcony is huge and lined with hammocks and has coffee ready to go right away in the morning. The hardwood floors are beautiful, too.

If you are looking for a resort, this (really Montezuma at all) is not the place for you... it's not a place with frills. But if you are looking for a clean, safe, comfortable place to stay in Montezuma, definitely check it out.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    11
    1
    7
See reviews for
5
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

This hotel has a great location, downtown and close to the beach. The rooms are clean, the staff are extremely friendly and most nights there is a security guard on duty.

At 8 a.m. fresh coffee on a balcony with hammocks and lunge chairs is provided.

Good for couples, families, and groups.

Best place to stay if you are looking for a moderately priced, clean hotel, with a prime location!

  • Liked — The friendly staff, and the great location.
  • Disliked — The balcony is only open until 10 p.m.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

I had just left a 10 day tour with 44 people @ 4-5 star hotels and decided to stay extra days alone in Montezuma. I contacted them by email after finding them in a tour book. I paid $55 cash colones for a 5% discount over credit card prices during high season (Feb.) . It had been recommended to get a second floor room but they were more expensive but I had a big room, very sparse, looking at the park out my window that had many iguanas in the trees. It didn't seem to have hot water but since it was so hot I didn't feel the need for it. I loved the location, which I was originally worried about since it was only a few yards from the busy downtown (small 3 block area). But I found it very quiet at night and convenient to a beautiful beach, rest., stores, tour companies, all 5 minute walking distance. Since I'm a senior, I noticed other seniors also staying in this hotel. The staff was very helpful with helping make other reservations for me. The balcony was lovely and breezy. When at the hotel I spent my time there instead of my room when not out and about. Free coffee in the morning on the balcony was very nice.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2008

We booked our stay in Costa Rica very late and during the highest season..... So all the beautiful hotels were already fully booked. So we came to El Tajalin. This hotel has got a nice and helpful staff. The rooms are clean but we had an room in the groundfloor with a window pointing to a wall, so it was only good to leave our bags in, to sleep and have a shower. The room was quite spacious, but very dark. In the 2nd floor are much nicer, brighter rooms available. There is no breakfast included, but on the top of the builing is a nice terrace for all the guests with hammocks, vans and free coffee. As we paied only 60 US Dollars per night, we were not expecting to much.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel El Tajalin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tajalin

Address: Frente al parque infantil, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly hotel just a few steps from the beach with a/c, WiFi, wood floors, free coffee and a big common area with Tv/Dvd. All major cards accepted. A good choice if you want to stay amid the hustle and bustle of Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Tajalin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Tajalin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel El Tajalin to your Saves list