We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Tajalin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel El Tajalin to your Saves list
Hotel El Tajalin
Frente al parque infantil, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel helped make the trip to Montezuma and was the favorite one I stayed in during our trip to Costa Rica. Centrally located and quiet, it had a/c, private baths and very reliable hot water. During the few moments we weren't hiking, surfing, or sitting on the beach - we enjoyed reading and napping in the hammocks on the huge top floor lounge. The kitchen was useful (and clean) when we took a break from eating at the great restaurants (all within a block or two). Mix that in with the fun and friendly people from La Escuela Del Sol and you can see why I'm coming back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    12
    0
    7
See reviews for
4
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

People at the reception were very nice and helpful. Rooms are big, clean and very comfortable. Hotel overall feels like home. Breakfast is not offered but you have some options nearby. They offer yoga class but only if bought as a package for an entire week. No noise, locatef near the beach. Maybe it was also the great and exceptional atmosphere of Montezuma which made our stay soooo awesome!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We recently stayed four nights at the El Tajalin. Our "superior room" was spacious and everything was in good order: a/c, fly screens, hot water, safety deposit box. Sadly the internet was a little slow, was OK to do e-mail, but too slow for e.g. YouTube.

The staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't use the communal areas much, but we noticed that the kitchen was clean and there were spacious areas for everyone to use.

The location is good, too. Close to the beach and the village, with a small park out front.

We'd go back there any time.

Room Tip: If you spend the extra buck, you'll get a nicer room. Ours was towards the front with the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset, vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I recently spent three nights at the Tajalin. The location is ideal, as it is off the main street
up a driveway, located next to the public park. The park is very quiet and shields the hotel from the bustle of the village. Everything is within a one minute walk. I felt very safe, as there are
security people at night and the reception staff was very nice. The hotel is quiet and my room was very large, beautiful wood floors in the room and throughout the hotel. The large tiled shower does not have hot water.The room is comfortable and very clean. It is a hotel without amenities or lobby area . If you want to sleep there only, this is the hotel. For the price it was a very good value. I would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Facing a park near beach. Quiet, but 1/2 block to town. Clean, well kept, roomy, with hot water and AC. Great, accomodating, helpful staff and management. Lovely, large open air room with hammocks and a kitchen to hang out or cook which is closed at 10 PM so people can sleep. Some large steps, so if visually impaired would request a room that avoids these steps.

Room Tip: Rooms vary, and you can upgrade. Some dont have private bath,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND,NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This was a very well kept hotel with very helpful staff. That being said I am going to be very honest in my review here due to the fact that I was unable to communicate my concerns while there(language barrier with the available staff).
We booked our stay prior to the hotel changing hands and were expecting a different environment.
The hotel caters to a school for firedancers,spanish language,surfing and yoga. It is very apparent that this is their priority. We were expecting to have access to a communal kitchen area.( Description from the previous owners said this was available) Our only real concern was coffee in the morning. After checking in and exploring I discovered a notice that the kitchen was for students only. I went to the front desk and the young man agreed to let me use the coffee pot. It still left me with an uncomfortable feeling.
We were put in room 10....very clean and well kept with AC that never let us down. This room is below the communal area where the students assemble first thing in the morning, this sounds like a heard of elephants. I tried to speak to someone twice about our location but communication issues got in the way. We were also expecting a good reliable internet connection which we required for communication with home. This was also guarenteed. Not so in our location in the hotel. It was very sketchy and the young man had to reset often to get it back and still we had to sit in the hall to get a steady connection
We adapted to the room and stayed our full stay. I only wish I could have located someone to speak better english and I am sure this could have been improved. The price for this hotel was fantastic and I would stay there again and be prepared for the environment.
We would have appreciated a "heads up" about the change in ownership so we could have done our usual research.
A change in our room location probably would have solved everything, I just kept running into the same 2 ladies that spoke such little english....they were very sweet and tried to understand me.
Dont let this deter you...if you require quiet in the morning ask for a room in the back of the hotel and you may have to sit in the hall to use the internet. For the price you cant beat it.

Room Tip: For a quiet room,ask for one that is away from the communal area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

The label of the hotel is a crab which is basically everywhere around Montezuma at dawn and night. Best with this hotel was the location, as it was a bit (100m) away from town and was very quiet - but still it was only a one minute walk from the centre. The owners were very helpfull and friendly. On the roof terrace there were some hammocks which were great to linger a bit in the shade and read a book.

When we stayed there it was fully booked so we got a room on the ground floor. I guess it is more light higher up in the hotel. Although it was not outright dirty, it was not very clean either. They do not serve breakfast.

All in all it was a great stay in Montezuma with an ok hotel, but the value for the money was not the best in comparison to other places in Costa Rica. However, as it seemed to me the hotels in a similar price class were not much better in Montezuma.

Room Tip: try to get a little higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Tajalin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tajalin

Address: Frente al parque infantil, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly hotel just a few steps from the beach with a/c, WiFi, wood floors, free coffee and a big common area with Tv/Dvd. All major cards accepted. A good choice if you want to stay amid the hustle and bustle of Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Tajalin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Tajalin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.