We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montezuma Gardens has it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposario Montezuma Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mariposario Montezuma Gardens to your Saves list
Mariposario Montezuma Gardens
Upper Montezuma waterfall trail, Montezuma 2642-1317, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
1 review
“Montezuma Gardens has it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We began our 3 month trip to the area with a one month stay at Mariposario. We were in the purple room with the huge balcony. After a few days I remarked to Michael that we really had not seen much wildlife. I looked to my left, and right next to us, a howler was stretched full length, eating leaves off of a tree. The rest of the troop was in the tree and the male way down, guarding his females. From then on, howlers and white faced monkeys were always around to charm. Also incredible birds that Ryan and Josh knew all the names of. As well as the trees, the spiders, the lizards. The staff, Alice and Adrianna were dreams. The food that Perla and Melba cooked, incredibly prepared and enough to feed an army. All Costa Rican treats like tamarindo juice and pancakes made from Yuccas, special syrups. And some of the best people stayed there. I have three dazzling friends on fb-- one from Sweden, one from Long Island and one from Philadelphia. Terrific people ==we yacked for hours--interesting and just wonderful.. They gravitate here. The butterfly garden to keep species going...As far as a B&B, great!!!! And as far as activities I absolutely recommend the Tortuga Island snorkeling. If the water is clear, and it is not windy, worth every cent. The staff helped me get my card back that had been eaten by the ATM, they called taxis, they recommended beaches and restaurants. Josh is so calm, so knowledgeable...ask him about anything. Also the sunrises are incredible...not to be missed because the howler monkeys begin with their howling at sunrise. But, heck, you're in the jungle. What could be better?

Room Tip: The purple room with the huge balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    21
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
66
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Very nice B&B, ppl extremely friendly, great advices for all the restaurants and spots of Montezuma. Breakfast is fantastic, and rooms are just perfect.

only watchout would be regarding the prices of the activities, even if sub contracted to other companies (for snorkeling, etc), theB&B is taking a commission on the price, could be up to 10$ per person vs the price in town, without any prewarning...

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposario, Owner at Mariposario Montezuma Gardens, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hola Grumpysloth!

Thank you for your kind words about our Bed and Breakfast, staff, advice and suggestions. We are thankful that you had a wonderful experience staying with us. However, we do apologize for any misunderstanding about booking area activities through us.

We do a lot of work with local tour providers, and we are always trying to balance our recommendations to you between the best price, and the best quality of experience. We always quote you the price that those providers publish openly.

Each time someone books a tour for you, either at our desk, or a desk at one of the other hotels, or a desk at a tour office, you will have to pay the published rate. The actual owner of the boat, the horse, the ATV, the kayak, the surf instructor, etc, then will pay a commision on that sale to the booking agent.

We are perhaps unique that we do not take any portion of that commision, we let our employees that we value highly keep them. We would hope that our guests would rather see that money go to the people who have been helping them through their stay with us.

However, it is our understanding that the total amount that you pay is exactly equal to the amount that you would have paid had you walked into a tour office, and booked the same tour with our preferred operator yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights and enjoyed every minute of it.
The room (Morpho) was lovely and spacious, the bed comfortable and the staff was so friendly. We felt at home immediately! The breakfasts were absolutely delicious - really good coffee, fresh juices, fruit and a different "main course" every day. Yum!!
We were lucky to watch a group of howler monkeys from our table one morning. Due to the location right next to the jungle you're pretty much guaranteed to see wildlife. One night we spotted a kinkajou in the tree right next to the balcony.

The location is slightly off the beaten track but you can walk to/from Montezuma in about 20 mins, depending on your fitness level. I have no problem walking up hills, but walking down is a nightmare for me so it took longer to walk down to Montezuma than back up. We didn't feel the need to book a taxi for the trip but were glad when other guests gave us a lift in their car a couple of times :) We felt safe enough to do the walk at night as well (but bring a torch).

My husband and I loved this B&B and we loved Montezuma - we'll be back!


  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The hotel is located outside the main city, but is worth the hike up to this tranquil gem.
The area is surrounded by forests, can hear the monkeys howl after after dark.
The best part is the breakfast when the birds and monkeys comes to visit and the food is excellent.
The staffs are very helpful and always around to help you with your plan for the day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was our second stop of our honeymoon and it was really one of the best. Mariposario was such a great little bed and breakfast and the town was great. Very small. Great place to watch surfers. Tour to Tortuga Island was fun and the walk to Playa Grande is a definite must.

Pros:
- The workers there are so friendly and helpful. Pauline was extremely friendly had plenty of suggestions for us as we were planning the rest of our trip.
- The rooms are really clean and all decorated/painted uniquely.
- A/C
- Probably the best included breakfast we had all trip. It was different each morning but always started with plate of fresh fruit, strong coffee, a fresh juice of the day, and a delicious breakfast.
- Has an amazing butterfly garden where you can watch butterflies come out of their chrysalis. So cool.
- Was a 15 minute walk to the Montezuma falls where you can do some cliff diving, swimming, and rope swinging.
- Saw several groups of monkeys in the area.

Cons:
- Rooms are a little bit tight.
- You can walk up the hill to the B&B, but it's a tough walk and it's just a $2 cab ride

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I just spent six nights in Montezuma and were so glad we chose the Mariposario. The staff were cheerful and accommodating, and the breakfasts varied throughout the week, always served with fresh fruit and freshly squeezed juice. We had the Caligo room, which looked out onto the jungle where howler monkeys prowled through almost every day -- we loved hearing the bellowing howls and watching the mums carrying their babies on their backs. One day a tribe of capuchins passed through, too, which was fun. All of these photos here were taken from the balcony. We generally walked down to the town and took a taxi back up the hill; we did the walk once, in the heat of the day and carrying groceries, and decided once was enough! The staff even invited us to join them in karaoke on Friday evening -- all good!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Saw monkeys on the way up the hill to this place. Better have a car- the hike up and down the hill would be brutal if it was your only way to town. Outside the hustle and bustle of town so very quiet. Had private trail to waterfalls and a butterfly garden.

Over all OK for $45. Room was clean, but basic. Bathroom could have been better. AC was a MUST have in Montezuma and the wall unit worked to cool things off quickly. Staff seemed like a younger college crowd that liked to party, although noise was never a problem during our stay. Decent place for the price overall. Simple breakfast consisting of rice/beans/eggs/slice of cheese/fruit.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Luz de Mono
Hotel Luz de Mono
#5 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
1.2 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposario Montezuma Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposario Montezuma Gardens

Address: Upper Montezuma waterfall trail, Montezuma 2642-1317, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mariposario Montezuma Gardens, your Costa Rican bed and breakfast. Come visit our jungle-butterfly-garden by the sea. Once you arrive, your concept of time will vanish! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mariposario Montezuma Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposario Montezuma Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.