We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for an awesome beach town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposario Montezuma Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mariposario Montezuma Gardens to your Saves list
Mariposario Montezuma Gardens
Upper Montezuma waterfall trail, Montezuma 2642-1317, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great spot for an awesome beach town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was our second stop of our honeymoon and it was really one of the best. Mariposario was such a great little bed and breakfast and the town was great. Very small. Great place to watch surfers. Tour to Tortuga Island was fun and the walk to Playa Grande is a definite must.

Pros:
- The workers there are so friendly and helpful. Pauline was extremely friendly had plenty of suggestions for us as we were planning the rest of our trip.
- The rooms are really clean and all decorated/painted uniquely.
- A/C
- Probably the best included breakfast we had all trip. It was different each morning but always started with plate of fresh fruit, strong coffee, a fresh juice of the day, and a delicious breakfast.
- Has an amazing butterfly garden where you can watch butterflies come out of their chrysalis. So cool.
- Was a 15 minute walk to the Montezuma falls where you can do some cliff diving, swimming, and rope swinging.
- Saw several groups of monkeys in the area.

Cons:
- Rooms are a little bit tight.
- You can walk up the hill to the B&B, but it's a tough walk and it's just a $2 cab ride

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    17
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
55
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garden Bay, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I just spent six nights in Montezuma and were so glad we chose the Mariposario. The staff were cheerful and accommodating, and the breakfasts varied throughout the week, always served with fresh fruit and freshly squeezed juice. We had the Caligo room, which looked out onto the jungle where howler monkeys prowled through almost every day -- we loved hearing the bellowing howls and watching the mums carrying their babies on their backs. One day a tribe of capuchins passed through, too, which was fun. All of these photos here were taken from the balcony. We generally walked down to the town and took a taxi back up the hill; we did the walk once, in the heat of the day and carrying groceries, and decided once was enough! The staff even invited us to join them in karaoke on Friday evening -- all good!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Saw monkeys on the way up the hill to this place. Better have a car- the hike up and down the hill would be brutal if it was your only way to town. Outside the hustle and bustle of town so very quiet. Had private trail to waterfalls and a butterfly garden.

Over all OK for $45. Room was clean, but basic. Bathroom could have been better. AC was a MUST have in Montezuma and the wall unit worked to cool things off quickly. Staff seemed like a younger college crowd that liked to party, although noise was never a problem during our stay. Decent place for the price overall. Simple breakfast consisting of rice/beans/eggs/slice of cheese/fruit.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was the last stop on our two week trip around Costa Rica and we were excited due to the great reviews. In all honesty it just felt about average and was not one of our favorite stops even though it was one of the most expensive places we stayed. It is quite a piece from the "main drag" and beach area, easy enough to walk down (though still a crazy hill) but not really what I would call walking distance on your way back up. I read this before but thought since I am an active person we would have no problem walking it and would even welcome the exercise since we were on vacation from the gym. Truth is, in that heat with a few bags of groceries/souvenirs/beach stuff we didn't even try once. So we were left searching for a cab to take us up every day (sometimes a few times a day) which wasn't overly expensive but it is important to note that we were told there were only a few cabs for the whole area, so they're not always available. The room itself (Morpho) was really tiny, and the balcony wasn't really the right size to be able to sit out on. We kind of felt like we were intruding on a group of friends as there were always staff hanging around. This was by no means a bad experience, I just think if we were to stay in Montezuma again we would look for somewhere in town (which also seemed to be quite a bit cheaper). We would have enjoyed being closer to the beaches.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My son and I stayed one night. The price was reasonable and the accommodations simple, but comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Took the hike to the waterfall. Meant to go to the upper (which might have been easier), but instead accidentally went to the lower one. That one was a pretty tough hike (very steep). I wouldn't recommend that one for everyone. I wish someone would mark the trails. Wifi was good and the breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Mariposario was a beautiful place to stay. Located about 15 minutes walk up the hill from central Montezuma, one side is surrounded by trees and is very quiet. The breakfast was fantastic, as was the service. We had laundry done and it was returned promptly and beautifully. The room was also clean and the fittings and furniture were great. The only thing about the location is that the walk up the hill is quite steep - doing it with all our luggage was exhausting! But as others have said I believe it is relatively cheap to take a taxi. Overall, staying there was a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This B&B is set up the hill outside Montezuma and a good choice if you want somewhere more quiet. This was the first place we stayed on the Nicoya Peninsula and it didn't take long to get into the rhythm of Tico time. Breakfasts were brilliant, set on the veranda surrounded by the howler monkey chorus and plentiful hot coffee. Rooms are a good size, with hot shower. Ryan the owner is lovely and the staff friendly and efficient.

It is in a good location, with nice gardens to explore (watch out for tarantulas!) and a trail to scramble down to the waterfalls. Warning - the road down into Montezuma is STEEP and if you decide to walk it is a challenge to the knees on the way down and the lungs on the way up!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariposario Montezuma Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposario Montezuma Gardens

Address: Upper Montezuma waterfall trail, Montezuma 2642-1317, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mariposario Montezuma Gardens, your Costa Rican bed and breakfast. Come visit our jungle-butterfly-garden by the sea. Once you arrive, your concept of time will vanish! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mariposario Montezuma Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposario Montezuma Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.