We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposario Montezuma Gardens

Save Saved
You added Mariposario Montezuma Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Official Site
Mariposario Montezuma Gardens
Upper Montezuma waterfall trail, Montezuma 2642-1317, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 15 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Edmond
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Saw monkeys on the way up the hill to this place. Better have a car- the hike up and down the hill would be brutal if it was your only way to town. Outside the hustle and bustle of town so very quiet. Had private trail to waterfalls and a butterfly garden.

Over all OK for $45. Room was clean, but basic. Bathroom could have been better. AC was a MUST have in Montezuma and the wall unit worked to cool things off quickly. Staff seemed like a younger college crowd that liked to party, although noise was never a problem during our stay. Decent place for the price overall. Simple breakfast consisting of rice/beans/eggs/slice of cheese/fruit.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    16
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
52
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was the last stop on our two week trip around Costa Rica and we were excited due to the great reviews. In all honesty it just felt about average and was not one of our favorite stops even though it was one of the most expensive places we stayed. It is quite a piece from the "main drag" and beach area, easy enough to walk down (though still a crazy hill) but not really what I would call walking distance on your way back up. I read this before but thought since I am an active person we would have no problem walking it and would even welcome the exercise since we were on vacation from the gym. Truth is, in that heat with a few bags of groceries/souvenirs/beach stuff we didn't even try once. So we were left searching for a cab to take us up every day (sometimes a few times a day) which wasn't overly expensive but it is important to note that we were told there were only a few cabs for the whole area, so they're not always available. The room itself (Morpho) was really tiny, and the balcony wasn't really the right size to be able to sit out on. We kind of felt like we were intruding on a group of friends as there were always staff hanging around. This was by no means a bad experience, I just think if we were to stay in Montezuma again we would look for somewhere in town (which also seemed to be quite a bit cheaper). We would have enjoyed being closer to the beaches.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My son and I stayed one night. The price was reasonable and the accommodations simple, but comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Took the hike to the waterfall. Meant to go to the upper (which might have been easier), but instead accidentally went to the lower one. That one was a pretty tough hike (very steep). I wouldn't recommend that one for everyone. I wish someone would mark the trails. Wifi was good and the breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Mariposario was a beautiful place to stay. Located about 15 minutes walk up the hill from central Montezuma, one side is surrounded by trees and is very quiet. The breakfast was fantastic, as was the service. We had laundry done and it was returned promptly and beautifully. The room was also clean and the fittings and furniture were great. The only thing about the location is that the walk up the hill is quite steep - doing it with all our luggage was exhausting! But as others have said I believe it is relatively cheap to take a taxi. Overall, staying there was a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This B&B is set up the hill outside Montezuma and a good choice if you want somewhere more quiet. This was the first place we stayed on the Nicoya Peninsula and it didn't take long to get into the rhythm of Tico time. Breakfasts were brilliant, set on the veranda surrounded by the howler monkey chorus and plentiful hot coffee. Rooms are a good size, with hot shower. Ryan the owner is lovely and the staff friendly and efficient.

It is in a good location, with nice gardens to explore (watch out for tarantulas!) and a trail to scramble down to the waterfalls. Warning - the road down into Montezuma is STEEP and if you decide to walk it is a challenge to the knees on the way down and the lungs on the way up!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Montezuma Gardens is located in a quiet area just outside of town. It is about a 15 min walk to the upper waterfall and you don't have to hike up the hill to go there since the trail starts at the Mariposario. I walked up and down the hill every day and never ended up taking a taxi. I hiked 10 km in Cabo Blanco one day and then back up the hill. The staff ordered delivery pizza for me that night! They are very good to book tours if you want. The rooms are all very nice and air conditioned with ensuite. The showers have North American style taps which was nice. The breakfast was very good every day and there was a good variety of food served. Ryan and the staff were very friendly and I felt at home there.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. The view from the breakfast area is great so I was okay with not having a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearlington, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

One of the best place to stay in Costa Rica. People are very nice and very helpful.
One of the best thing in this place? THE BREAKFAST, they will give you one big bowl of all kind fruits which it's really good.
I wish we could go back again soon, it's just too expensive to go vacation.
Very close to the waterfall..
For sure we wanna go back one day..
Thanks a lot...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mariposario Montezuma Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposario Montezuma Gardens

Address: Upper Montezuma waterfall trail, Montezuma 2642-1317, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mariposario Montezuma Gardens, your Costa Rican bed and breakfast. Come visit our jungle-butterfly-garden by the sea. Once you arrive, your concept of time will vanish! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Mariposario Montezuma Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposario Montezuma Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.