We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposario Montezuma Gardens

Save Saved
You added Mariposario Montezuma Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mariposario Montezuma Gardens
Upper Montezuma waterfall trail, Montezuma 2642-1317, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pay 2 Stay 3 nights!!
Ranked #3 of 15 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Round Rock, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My son and I stayed one night. The price was reasonable and the accommodations simple, but comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Took the hike to the waterfall. Meant to go to the upper (which might have been easier), but instead accidentally went to the lower one. That one was a pretty tough hike (very steep). I wouldn't recommend that one for everyone. I wish someone would mark the trails. Wifi was good and the breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    16
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Mariposario was a beautiful place to stay. Located about 15 minutes walk up the hill from central Montezuma, one side is surrounded by trees and is very quiet. The breakfast was fantastic, as was the service. We had laundry done and it was returned promptly and beautifully. The room was also clean and the fittings and furniture were great. The only thing about the location is that the walk up the hill is quite steep - doing it with all our luggage was exhausting! But as others have said I believe it is relatively cheap to take a taxi. Overall, staying there was a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This B&B is set up the hill outside Montezuma and a good choice if you want somewhere more quiet. This was the first place we stayed on the Nicoya Peninsula and it didn't take long to get into the rhythm of Tico time. Breakfasts were brilliant, set on the veranda surrounded by the howler monkey chorus and plentiful hot coffee. Rooms are a good size, with hot shower. Ryan the owner is lovely and the staff friendly and efficient.

It is in a good location, with nice gardens to explore (watch out for tarantulas!) and a trail to scramble down to the waterfalls. Warning - the road down into Montezuma is STEEP and if you decide to walk it is a challenge to the knees on the way down and the lungs on the way up!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Montezuma Gardens is located in a quiet area just outside of town. It is about a 15 min walk to the upper waterfall and you don't have to hike up the hill to go there since the trail starts at the Mariposario. I walked up and down the hill every day and never ended up taking a taxi. I hiked 10 km in Cabo Blanco one day and then back up the hill. The staff ordered delivery pizza for me that night! They are very good to book tours if you want. The rooms are all very nice and air conditioned with ensuite. The showers have North American style taps which was nice. The breakfast was very good every day and there was a good variety of food served. Ryan and the staff were very friendly and I felt at home there.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. The view from the breakfast area is great so I was okay with not having a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearlington, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

One of the best place to stay in Costa Rica. People are very nice and very helpful.
One of the best thing in this place? THE BREAKFAST, they will give you one big bowl of all kind fruits which it's really good.
I wish we could go back again soon, it's just too expensive to go vacation.
Very close to the waterfall..
For sure we wanna go back one day..
Thanks a lot...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed for most of a week at at the Mariposaria, and loved it. Ryan was a very down-to-earth and helpful host, with detailed knowledge about the area, attractions, transportation. The B & B has four guest rooms, all comfortable, clean and private, each with a private bath. The first floor terrace where breakfast was served was a beautiful, breezy space overlooking their grounds, with a small glimpse of the ocean. Breakfasts were delicious, and for a nominal additional fee, and with notice the cook, lunch was available, and was some of the best food we ate while in the area. Ryan brews his own beer, with a limited supply available to guests-- and easily the best beer in the country.

They are located a short distance above and away from Montezuma's nightlife--a plus for us, but close enough for anyone to take part in town action, if they wish. We braved the hike up the hill to the lodge each day, but others will opt for a cheap cab rides from the town. A short hike from the B & B is the waterfall that everyone visiting the area hears about. We dove in the pool and swung from the rope swing, and hung out in the cool oasis.

If we visit Montezuma again the Mariposario will be our first choice for lodgings.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place; one or two of the four have a private balcony, but there's ample ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had such a great time with the guys and gals at the Mariposario last December. They were just the best. Ryan and his staff greeted us in the middle of the night and ordered us some Pizza. I would also check out their beers they brew there. After a few days of Imperial beer, the only beer in Costa Rica on the West side, it was refreshing to have a taste of there brew :) I will be taking some students in December for a photo trip and we shall be staying here for sure :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mariposario Montezuma Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposario Montezuma Gardens

Address: Upper Montezuma waterfall trail, Montezuma 2642-1317, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mariposario Montezuma Gardens, your Costa Rican bed and breakfast. Come visit our jungle-butterfly-garden by the sea. Once you arrive, your concept of time will vanish! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Mariposario Montezuma Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposario Montezuma Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.