We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect bungalow set in an amazing location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.
Save
You added Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros. to your Saves list
Entre Montezuma y Cabuya | Los Almendros, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect bungalow set in an amazing location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This review is a bit overdue. We visited Sol y Luna in early April for a week and had an amazing time. We were looking to decompress someplace away from crowds and tourists but did not want to be totally isolated. The location of Sol y Luna was perfect! It’s about half way between the small towns of Montezuma and Cabuya. The bungalows are located in the jungle with a 5 minute walk to the beach. We loved relaxing in our bungalow and even spent an entire day there. It had absolutely everything we needed. We were able to cook several meals at home, which was great. We were initially concerned that the bed might be too small (husband is 6’6 and I’m 5’8), but we slept comfortably every night. We enjoyed seeing all the wildlife on the property and listening to the sounds of the jungle. Patricia and Simon are excellent hosts and were very helpful. We did not have a car while we were there. We took the bus, hitch hiked a lot (safe), and rode in a few cabs when these weren’t options. We were there in the dry season and it was HOT. Others have mentioned walking to Montezuma and Cabuya, but we only did this once due to the heat. We visited the national park and hiked out to what turned out to be one of the most secluded and beautiful beaches we have ever seen. The water was amazing for swimming and there were only about a dozen people there. Pack lots of water for the hike. We are experienced hikers and thought we had brought plenty but it still wasn’t enough. The waterfall in the town of Montezuma was great for swimming. We didn’t discover this until the second to last day. We wish we would have discovered it sooner as we would have visited everyday! We rented a 4 wheeler our last day there (expensive!) and drove to Santa Theresa which was fun. We used the shuttle to get us to/from San Jose which was a long journey. Next time we will take the bus from San Jose to Jaco and catch a speed boat. This is a bit more costly but we would rather spend more time there. This was our third trip to Costa Rica and Sol y Luna is by far our favorite place!

**tip** go for a walk on the beach at night and you will see thousands of hermit crabs

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
72
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

A beautiful place surrounded by nature and wild life. The cabin is lovely and has everything we needed for our 4 day stay. Felt like we were in a paradise, waking up in the morning, getting a cup of tea, and just lay in the hammock watching howler and capuchin monkeys jumping around. Never wanted to leave!
Beach is only 3 min walk and Montezuma is 10-15 min drive. Montezuma is a great town situated right on the beach, has tons of small restaurants and cafés, and a bar. About an hour walk on the beach from Montezuma is Playa Grande, a beautiful deserted beach. A great place to spend a day, just bring lots of water, beer, and sandwiches. If you walk for another hour, you will find an amazing waterfall that comes down right into the ocean. Well worth the walk.
Cabuya is a short 5-10 min drive from Sol y Luna also has a store and a couple of restaurants. Also don't miss Cabo Blanco natural reserve which is only 10 min away. 2 hr hike to the beach might be a little tough in 90F but worth it.
Thank you Patricia and Simon for being such welcoming hosts and sharing a peace of paradise with us. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Perfect setting in a beautifully designed tropical property. Between busy/touristy Montezuma, and sleepy Cabuya, this feels very comfortable and well-situated. Patricia and Simon were always happy to help, without hovering. They were generous with their knowledge and suggestions, and provided lots of assistance re: travel. I HIGHLY recommend getting an ATV to explore the surrounding area!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Sol y Luna is a magical and beautiful place to stay. If you like quiet, remote locations, surrounded by nothing but beautiful nature and wildlife, this is the place for you. Patricia and Simon are perfect hosts and such lovely people. After a heavenly 5 nights here we moved to accommodation in Dominical, and although our new place was also stunning, we immediately wished we had stayed at Sol y Luna for our entire holiday and not moved at all. It was perfect for us. I was in two minds about writing a review, as this is the kind of place you want to keep secret (so it's more likely to be available next time you want to stay), but they really do deserve the review. My one recommendation would be that unless you want to rely on buses/taxis, hiring a car is realistically a must, as it's quite a hike to the nearest shops etc. We tried to do it once, it took a long time, and it was not easy in the heat of the day. With a car, you are close enough to everything you could need or want, but far enough away from it all for ultimate peace and unspoilt beauty. Simon and Patricia, if you read this, thank you again, and we really hope to visit your magical home again some day. Ross & Katie (UK) x

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Solyluna was the perfect honeymoon. Quiet, relaxing, and a quick 5-minute walk to private beaches. Patricia and Simon was so helpful throughout the process. Getting from the airport in San Jose to Solyluna is quite the trek, but they will help you find a route that fits your style and needs. The bungalow (we stayed in beautiful Sol) contained everything you need and was perfectly styled, and Patricia and Simon helped with anything you needed! Unplugging for an entire week was exactly what I needed, and I'm forever thankful for the privilege to travel, to see another pocket of this world through the eyes of the beautiful people who take such pride in their landscape and culture. We found great joy in their simplistic lifestyle and were overwhelmed by the kindness and purity of their generous spirits - what rich lives they lead.

I highly recommend Solyluna to any traveler! Pure bliss.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Hi I stayed at solyluna back in jan 2014 and it was just perfect in every way.The cabina was clean quite set back into the jungle but felt very safe in the gated location.The wildlife was right at my doorstep and the sounds were unreal.I also traveled too other places while in costa rica but solyluna was the only place where i felt i was closest too nature.the location was Just far enough from town but not too far (I would run or bike too and from town daily).Patricia and simon where there for any ?s and were very helpfull. Dont know when but will be heading back sometime in the future. Wish I was there now!!!! OM

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Soly luna was just amazing simon & Patricia were so wonderful, they took extra time to give us a map with all the best spots you might otherwise miss. We just loved all the wildlife on their beautiful property, very private and secure. We can't wait to go back.
Monkeys everywhere!!
And Lola the cat was very sweet as well

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.

Address: Entre Montezuma y Cabuya | Los Almendros, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SolyLuna are two cosy bungalows in a tropical garden with private bathroom and kitchen.We are 3 km from the town of Montezuma and 5km from the authentic reserve of Cabo Blanco. 3 minutes walk from the beach Los Cedros.Bungalows for lovers of quietness,naturaless and animals. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.