We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.
Entre Montezuma y Cabuya | Los Almendros, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Few steps from the beach
2 reviews
“Beautiful, peaceful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Perfect setting in a beautifully designed tropical property. Between busy/touristy Montezuma, and sleepy Cabuya, this feels very comfortable and well-situated. Patricia and Simon were always happy to help, without hovering. They were generous with their knowledge and suggestions, and provided lots of assistance re: travel. I HIGHLY recommend getting an ATV to explore the surrounding area!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
66
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Sol y Luna is a magical and beautiful place to stay. If you like quiet, remote locations, surrounded by nothing but beautiful nature and wildlife, this is the place for you. Patricia and Simon are perfect hosts and such lovely people. After a heavenly 5 nights here we moved to accommodation in Dominical, and although our new place was also stunning, we immediately wished we had stayed at Sol y Luna for our entire holiday and not moved at all. It was perfect for us. I was in two minds about writing a review, as this is the kind of place you want to keep secret (so it's more likely to be available next time you want to stay), but they really do deserve the review. My one recommendation would be that unless you want to rely on buses/taxis, hiring a car is realistically a must, as it's quite a hike to the nearest shops etc. We tried to do it once, it took a long time, and it was not easy in the heat of the day. With a car, you are close enough to everything you could need or want, but far enough away from it all for ultimate peace and unspoilt beauty. Simon and Patricia, if you read this, thank you again, and we really hope to visit your magical home again some day. Ross & Katie (UK) x

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Solyluna was the perfect honeymoon. Quiet, relaxing, and a quick 5-minute walk to private beaches. Patricia and Simon was so helpful throughout the process. Getting from the airport in San Jose to Solyluna is quite the trek, but they will help you find a route that fits your style and needs. The bungalow (we stayed in beautiful Sol) contained everything you need and was perfectly styled, and Patricia and Simon helped with anything you needed! Unplugging for an entire week was exactly what I needed, and I'm forever thankful for the privilege to travel, to see another pocket of this world through the eyes of the beautiful people who take such pride in their landscape and culture. We found great joy in their simplistic lifestyle and were overwhelmed by the kindness and purity of their generous spirits - what rich lives they lead.

I highly recommend Solyluna to any traveler! Pure bliss.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Hi I stayed at solyluna back in jan 2014 and it was just perfect in every way.The cabina was clean quite set back into the jungle but felt very safe in the gated location.The wildlife was right at my doorstep and the sounds were unreal.I also traveled too other places while in costa rica but solyluna was the only place where i felt i was closest too nature.the location was Just far enough from town but not too far (I would run or bike too and from town daily).Patricia and simon where there for any ?s and were very helpfull. Dont know when but will be heading back sometime in the future. Wish I was there now!!!! OM

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Soly luna was just amazing simon & Patricia were so wonderful, they took extra time to give us a map with all the best spots you might otherwise miss. We just loved all the wildlife on their beautiful property, very private and secure. We can't wait to go back.
Monkeys everywhere!!
And Lola the cat was very sweet as well

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We fell in love with Sol y Luna when we first visited last year and have just returned from our second visit. I doubt that there is another spot quite like it. The two secluded bungalows sit in a beautiful jungle garden. They are perfectly designed and thoughtfully equipped, with interesting decorative touches, such as a bathroom mirror framed in branches, a shell (rather than bead) curtain at one end of the deck, and a colorful hammock, We love the simplicity of life at Sol y Luna, listening to the howler monkeys and the birds early in the morning, watching the capuchin monkeys eat our fruit scraps, waiting for visits from the resident agouti and coatimundi, and being greeted at night by a roving group of small, politely inquisitive raccoons. The owners, Patricia and Simon, are wonderful hosts who will make sure you have everything you need. If you're looking for tranquility and the sensual lushness of a beautifully landscaped garden in the jungle, Sol y Luna is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

There are not enough words to express how simply wonderful Sol y Luna is!! Our hosts Patricia & Simon greeted us at the gate with a warm welcome & assisted us with our luggage to Luna (the bungalow we stayed in for 2 glorious weeks). Your senses are immediately transported to a place of lush gardens of lovely flowers, plants and majestic trees, the sounds of birds, monkeys and other creatures and at the same time peace and tranquility overcomes you, you breathe out, be still and relax, enjoying everything your senses can absorb.

The bungalows and grounds are immaculate! Simply and creatively decorated to reflect your surroundings. We had everything we needed, we cooked many of our meals in our kitchenette, great shower and bathroom and the beds are very comfortable. The views from our terrace and windows was stunning. If you are hoping to see wildlife you are in for a treat! Everyday we were visited by the white faced monkeys, agoutis, howler monkeys, coatis, humming birds, lizards, iguanas and a family of racoons we affectionately called the "crew".

Our hosts Patricia & Simon are so kind, thoughtful, generous, creative, warm and inviting! Sharing their knowledge of the area, providing you with great maps to different places in the area, checking in with you to make sure you have everything you need. They surprised me with something that I had planned to do without on this trip yet was extremely helpful in monitoring my health. It was something so simple yet brought tears to my eyes that they went out of their way to provide me with it..my heart is filled with gratitude for their many acts of kindness. Patricia & Simon directed us to Vin the local fisherman and we purchased fresh shrimp, lobster and fish. They also arranged for us to go out snorkeling and fishing with Vin.

During our stay we rented a vehicle and went all over the place, Cobano, Malpais, Santa Theresa, and Playa Hermosa. We went snorkeling at Tortuga Island, horseback riding with Marvin ( call Marvin directly he is awesome and is amazing to his horses), definitely hike to the waterfall and seriously wear good hiking footwear that you don't mind getting a little wet. Our favourite restaurant was the Panaderia in Cabuya they have the BEST food!! Dinner on the beach..Arista(or Artista) is beautiful at sunset, Patricia & Simon will direct you to all of these places and make other recommendations for you as well.

I will admit I am in love with this area of Costa Rica and look forward to returning & spending time at Sol y Luna. It is a piece of tranquil paradise that you will want to return to.

Many, many thanks to Patricia, Simon & Lola for your hospitality, friendship and sharing your home with us and making our stay absolute heaven! We look forward to seeing you again.

Pura Vida
Sandra & Doug

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.

Address: Entre Montezuma y Cabuya | Los Almendros, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SolyLuna are two cosy bungalows in a tropical garden with private bathroom and kitchen.We are 3 km from the town of Montezuma and 5km from the authentic reserve of Cabo Blanco. 3 minutes walk from the beach Los Cedros.Bungalows for lovers of quietness,naturaless and animals. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros. to your Saves list