We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit in 6 months!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.
Save
You added Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros. to your Saves list
Entre Montezuma y Cabuya | Los Almendros, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$75 (USD)
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our second visit in 6 months!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the "Sol" bungalow the last time we stayed which was in March 2012. There are a lot of places to stay in the Montezuma/Cabuya area but we chose to stay at Sol y Luna again in August of this year because it was so amazing the first time and frankly, we couldn't wait to get back and relax on the deck, drinking either tea in the morning or wine at night, watching the abundant wildlife. This time we stayed in the "Luna" bungalow and of course enjoyed it as much as Sol. Patricia and Simon have created two simple, tastefully decorated, and well appointed bungalows that don't rely on extra fluff and stuff to please. Instead, the simplicity and the way the bungalows compliment nature so beautifully make for a wonderful, peaceful, relaxing stay. Patricia and Simon see to it that the environment is peaceful and well-kept. They think of everything to make your stay enjoyable from making sure the bungalows are ultra clean, to making sure you have tea lights to place on the dining table on the deck at night so that you can have romantic dinners or simply enjoy the deck by candlelight.

I am sure we will visit Sol y Luna again as we have fallen in love with the area and can't imagine staying anyplace else when we visit. I highly, highly recommend staying there. If you're after peace and quiet (except for the howler monkeys but that is a GOOD thing and adds to the beauty and tranquility in my opinion), simplicity, tastefully and artfully appointed accommodations, you can't go wrong! If I could give it more stars, I would!

Room Tip: Both bungalows are great! If we had to choose one though, we would probably go with Luna because we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
71
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Everybody else has already said everything there is to say. It was beautiful and Patricia and Simon were such wonderful hosts. The bungalow was lovely and quite cozy. We didn't need a car- we just took the bus, cab, or hitchhiked. Simon even picked us up once while we were hitching, as did a local cab driver (he didn't even charge us!). The people there are so friendly and accommodating. We had a great time and would definitely make the trek back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Very relaxing and wonderfull vibration in this place, simple cheap rooms in the middle of the jungle. You can see more animals here than in some national parks, really. We so 2 kinds of monqueys, parrots, macaws, squirels, and few more.
Lovely couple running the business, very helpful with the information around, thank you very much Patricia and Simon.
Quite cheap to be Costa Rica
David

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Pros: sweet little colourful bungalow with kitchen, amazing grounds with lots of trees and wildlife - we saw howler monkeys and capuchins, coatis and many birds right outside the bungalow. Great service and tips from Patricia and Simon. The Luna bungalow is right next to a road but we heard only occasional traffic, nice secluded location close in between Montezuma and Cabuya. Highly recommend this property. There is a small safe in room. Hammock outside.

Cons:You need a car or transport to get there. Rooms are bit dark as it is surrounded by lots of trees.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This place is truly magical. My husband and I spent our honeymoon in the Montezuma/Cabuya area,and for six beautiful days, we called bungalow Luna "home". Patricia,and Simon are such special people,and most excellent hosts! They give you the scoop on what to do,where and when the local bus runs,where to eat,cool points of interest--We cooked nearly every dinner at the bungalow,and enjoyed the beautiful gardens there. Romantic setting, GREAT location, beautiful flowers,gracious hosts,monkeys,birds,hammocks,wonderful bungalows---you CAN NOT go wrong with this!!! :) We are already planning a return visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here for four nights. The owners, Patricia and Simon, are gracious hosts, helpful and informative about the local area. The bungalows are in a secluded, peaceful setting, and it was wonderful to hear the Howler monkeys roaring in the evening, and the be awakened by a symphony of birds in the morning. The bungalow is simply-furnished but comfortable and clean. The location is ideal for accessing either Montezuma or Cabo Blanco National Park. I can't wait to go back for a return visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Location and accommodation. Location is perfect, 3 km to Cabo Blanco 3 km to Montezuma, right on the main road that runs through Cabuya. Cabuya has a couple of stores, a bakery and a few great little restaurants...worth exploring. Accommodations are great! Cool little bungalow nestled in a patch of jungle, lots of monkeys and other nature right on your doorstep. Patricia & Simon are great, very helpful getting the lowdown on where to go, where to eat and what to see, & when. Highly recommended for a romantic experience in Costa Rica!

Room Tip: We were cabi "Sol"....awesome place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.

Address: Entre Montezuma y Cabuya | Los Almendros, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SolyLuna are two cosy bungalows in a tropical garden with private bathroom and kitchen.We are 3 km from the town of Montezuma and 5km from the authentic reserve of Cabo Blanco. 3 minutes walk from the beach Los Cedros.Bungalows for lovers of quietness,naturaless and animals. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.