We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet in the middle of the jungle, beatiful days!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.
Save Saved
You added Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros. to your Saves list
Entre Montezuma y Cabuya | Los Almendros, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Few steps from the beach
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very quiet in the middle of the jungle, beatiful days!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Very relaxing and wonderfull vibration in this place, simple cheap rooms in the middle of the jungle. You can see more animals here than in some national parks, really. We so 2 kinds of monqueys, parrots, macaws, squirels, and few more.
Lovely couple running the business, very helpful with the information around, thank you very much Patricia and Simon.
Quite cheap to be Costa Rica
David

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
68
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Pros: sweet little colourful bungalow with kitchen, amazing grounds with lots of trees and wildlife - we saw howler monkeys and capuchins, coatis and many birds right outside the bungalow. Great service and tips from Patricia and Simon. The Luna bungalow is right next to a road but we heard only occasional traffic, nice secluded location close in between Montezuma and Cabuya. Highly recommend this property. There is a small safe in room. Hammock outside.

Cons:You need a car or transport to get there. Rooms are bit dark as it is surrounded by lots of trees.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This place is truly magical. My husband and I spent our honeymoon in the Montezuma/Cabuya area,and for six beautiful days, we called bungalow Luna "home". Patricia,and Simon are such special people,and most excellent hosts! They give you the scoop on what to do,where and when the local bus runs,where to eat,cool points of interest--We cooked nearly every dinner at the bungalow,and enjoyed the beautiful gardens there. Romantic setting, GREAT location, beautiful flowers,gracious hosts,monkeys,birds,hammocks,wonderful bungalows---you CAN NOT go wrong with this!!! :) We are already planning a return visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here for four nights. The owners, Patricia and Simon, are gracious hosts, helpful and informative about the local area. The bungalows are in a secluded, peaceful setting, and it was wonderful to hear the Howler monkeys roaring in the evening, and the be awakened by a symphony of birds in the morning. The bungalow is simply-furnished but comfortable and clean. The location is ideal for accessing either Montezuma or Cabo Blanco National Park. I can't wait to go back for a return visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Location and accommodation. Location is perfect, 3 km to Cabo Blanco 3 km to Montezuma, right on the main road that runs through Cabuya. Cabuya has a couple of stores, a bakery and a few great little restaurants...worth exploring. Accommodations are great! Cool little bungalow nestled in a patch of jungle, lots of monkeys and other nature right on your doorstep. Patricia & Simon are great, very helpful getting the lowdown on where to go, where to eat and what to see, & when. Highly recommended for a romantic experience in Costa Rica!

Room Tip: We were cabi "Sol"....awesome place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We traveled the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica for a little over 2 weeks. The first place we stayed at in the Tenorio region was posh. Then our travels took us to Montezuma where we stayed at a cottage with a private dipping pool overlooking the bay, and then to Sol y Luna. After Sol y Luna we traveled to the Osa region to stay in a treehouse, and then up to Liberia after that. All in all, our favorite place to stay was Sol y Luna! Why? Because of the proximity to everything, the artistic detail of our cottage (Sol), the warmth of our hosts, Patricia and Simon, the wildlife (the most we saw anywhere!), the beaches, and the town of Cabuya which we totally fell in love with.

It is clear that Patricia and Simon have put their souls into these cabins. I was blown away by the details, everywhere you look. Travelling can be difficult so it was great to find a place that felt warm and inviting, arty, and very comfortable. I also appreciated their attention to security. In addition, Patricia and Simon are great hosts, friendly, warm, and inviting, just like their cabins. We will go back to the area one day and we will stay there again.

Also, I highly recommend the restaurant, El Rancho in Cabuya! Marvelous! Thanks Patricia for that tip! We had 3 meals there. I jokingly suggested to them that they open a restaurant in San Francisco, CA. They would give a few restaurants around here a run for their money!

All in all, a wonderful experience that will stay with us forever.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Solyluna for 2 weeks in February 2012. We just got home and are already planning our next trip back. This is the most beautiful place weve ever seen, and Patricia and Simon are great hosts, very helpful and informative. If you enjoy peaceful nature surroundings, its the perfect place. Nice cabin, beautifully kept yard, tons of wildlife to see and hear, 5 minute walk to a gorgeous beach. 3km from both Montezuma and Cabuya, but still secluded enough to be very peaceful and quiet. We are so glad to have chosen Solyluna for our trip, we will have to stay there again next time we go to Costa Rica. I cant thank Patricia and Simon enough for being so helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.

Address: Entre Montezuma y Cabuya | Los Almendros, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SolyLuna are two cosy bungalows in a tropical garden with private bathroom and kitchen.We are 3 km from the town of Montezuma and 5km from the authentic reserve of Cabo Blanco. 3 minutes walk from the beach Los Cedros.Bungalows for lovers of quietness,naturaless and animals. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;