We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.
Save Saved
You added Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros. to your Saves list
Entre Montezuma y Cabuya | Los Almendros, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Few steps from the beach
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Magical!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We traveled the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica for a little over 2 weeks. The first place we stayed at in the Tenorio region was posh. Then our travels took us to Montezuma where we stayed at a cottage with a private dipping pool overlooking the bay, and then to Sol y Luna. After Sol y Luna we traveled to the Osa region to stay in a treehouse, and then up to Liberia after that. All in all, our favorite place to stay was Sol y Luna! Why? Because of the proximity to everything, the artistic detail of our cottage (Sol), the warmth of our hosts, Patricia and Simon, the wildlife (the most we saw anywhere!), the beaches, and the town of Cabuya which we totally fell in love with.

It is clear that Patricia and Simon have put their souls into these cabins. I was blown away by the details, everywhere you look. Travelling can be difficult so it was great to find a place that felt warm and inviting, arty, and very comfortable. I also appreciated their attention to security. In addition, Patricia and Simon are great hosts, friendly, warm, and inviting, just like their cabins. We will go back to the area one day and we will stay there again.

Also, I highly recommend the restaurant, El Rancho in Cabuya! Marvelous! Thanks Patricia for that tip! We had 3 meals there. I jokingly suggested to them that they open a restaurant in San Francisco, CA. They would give a few restaurants around here a run for their money!

All in all, a wonderful experience that will stay with us forever.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
68
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Solyluna for 2 weeks in February 2012. We just got home and are already planning our next trip back. This is the most beautiful place weve ever seen, and Patricia and Simon are great hosts, very helpful and informative. If you enjoy peaceful nature surroundings, its the perfect place. Nice cabin, beautifully kept yard, tons of wildlife to see and hear, 5 minute walk to a gorgeous beach. 3km from both Montezuma and Cabuya, but still secluded enough to be very peaceful and quiet. We are so glad to have chosen Solyluna for our trip, we will have to stay there again next time we go to Costa Rica. I cant thank Patricia and Simon enough for being so helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

This place is MAGICAL We ABSOLUTELY UNEQUIVOCALLY loved it here! 5 minute walk to the ocean where you may see one or two people; a bus or taxi ride to Montezuma or Cabuya--if you plan to arrive by shuttle Montezuma Expedition takes you to their doorstep. Patricia gave me that jewel of info. Speaking of Patricia, she and Simon are wonderful wonderful hosts--in her last email when we booked in October she told me, "we'll be waiting for you" and 3 months later, they were right there as our shuttle pulled in. Quickly getting us set up in our 1 week home, Patricia had even drawn up a little a map of places to go plus had the bus schedule along with a magazine about the area replete with high and low tide schedules!!!

The place is spotless and soooooooo tastefully decorated. I literally jumped up and down like a 3 year old when we entered our bungalow Sol, I was sooo excited! The photos only give a hint of the reality. And QUIET, you can hear your heartbeat. Well, once the howler monkeys are finished conversing that is lol. It's off a side road so you don't get the Montezuma noise of vehicles rolling down the rocky road. When we got to town I saw some of the other lodgings I had considered during planning and was SO glad I chose Solyluna. We are planning to return for sure!

I could be sitting here all day going on about how much we loved this place but I will save you and I both time--if you are looking for comfort, beauty, exclusivity, uniqueness, wonderfully accommodating hosts, animals at your doorstep and a large dash of Magic this is the place!

PS, I had tears in my eyes when Simon so kindly took us to the bus.

Room Tip: There are two bungalows, Luna is a bit further from the road and gate, we stayed in Sol and will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

From the moment we arrived here we both felt incredibly at home. Our hosts were very welcoming and were respectful of our time and also lovely friendly people. We took a taxi from Tambor and the location is about 3km out of Montezuma. I loved this as it was very quiet and a place to relax and communicate with nature. This was not a place to party - it was so lovely to meet all the wonderful wild animals and Patricia and Simons cats Lola and Lulu. The beach was a 5 min walk down the dirt road and this was also a favourite of mine - pretty quiet and it was fun watching the pelicans and the local fishermen do their work. I already want to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Luna bungalow over new years and it was perfect - great little kitchen, beautiful garden surrounds and very thoughtful decor. Patricia and simon were both really helpful and took every measure to make sure we were enjoying our stay. The bungalows are a short distance from Montezuma but are a young couple in our twenties who are into running and for us it was actually better to be out of town a bit.
This must be the best (or if not one of the best) value for money places to stay around Montezuma - we can speak first hand as we arrived a day early and had to look around town for accommodation, everything else we looked at seemed to be expensive for what was on offer or very dirty!
Thanks so much for having us!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at SolyLuna for two weeks in mid December for our honeymoon. Simon and Patricia were so friendly and welcoming that after our long trip from the U.S. we felt right at home. We stayed here without a car and would do it again (but if you aren't interested in walking, then renting a car might be right for you); Patricia was kind enough to let us tag along with her into town our first morning there to pick up some groceries and she gave us a quick tour of the town and it's amenities. The rest of the trip we either walked, biked, or rode the local bus(500 colones or $1 a piece each way). They also provided us with a hand drawn map of Montezuma to Cabuya with all the highlights and described to us where we could find all the local attractions. They were kind enough to let us come up to their house and use their wifi and were always eager to help us in any way they could. The jungle surrounding the bungalow was always alive with some variety of wildlife and this is actually where we saw the majority of animals during our stay. The bungalow had everything we needed and was very comfortable. We enjoyed our mornings in the hammock with coffee and fresh fruit. The pictures do not do this beautiful bungalow and setting any justice. We look forward to our next stay at SolyLuna with Simon and Patricia in this beautiful corner of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed for 7 nights near the end of August. Simon and Patricia were wonderful hosts from the beginning till the end. After a 5 hour flight and 6 hour bus ride we were both very grateful to see a smiling Simon to pick us up in Montezuma. He helped us get some groceries and took us back to our bungalow, Luna. All this happened under the cover of darkness, which lead to great suspense in the morning. As another post says, the pictures really do not do the place justice. Everything was so alive, the forest is both serenely quiet and actively alive with life. Patricia and Simon informed us of all the awesome things to do and places to go and were also generous enough to invite us to use the Wifi whenever we needed. We slept soundly at night and enjoyed the company of all our animal friends during the day.

To those who want to come without a car, DO IT! for the first several days we walked to town, back and all other destinations. If you are in at least some athletic shape you should be fine. On the 4th day I cut my foot in the surf and it made walking difficult so we took the bus. It was easy, cheap and cost efficient. It always let you get way more intimate with the surrounds and really enjoy the beauty that is Costa Rica.

We are sincerely looking forward to coming back in the near future and highly recommend that you visit as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.

Address: Entre Montezuma y Cabuya | Los Almendros, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SolyLuna are two cosy bungalows in a tropical garden with private bathroom and kitchen.We are 3 km from the town of Montezuma and 5km from the authentic reserve of Cabo Blanco. 3 minutes walk from the beach Los Cedros.Bungalows for lovers of quietness,naturaless and animals. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.