We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Germanic order in chaotic Costa Rica” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma to your Saves list
Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1.8 km north of Playa Montezuma, Montezuma 6011, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Germanic order in chaotic Costa Rica”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Hotel Horizontes overlooking Montezuma is owned and meticulously managed by a nice German lady called “Birgit.” One can’t help but notice the very Germanic order that presides over the hotel. This atmosphere contrast sharply with the slightly anarchic and disorganized Latino “laissez faire” of the Rican people. Rooms are simple but nice, with large balconies. The hotel is located 2-3 km uphill from the town and not easy reachable without a car. I would have given a 4 star review if it were not for the fact that our sheets had a slight musty / sour smell, as if they had not been changed or had been washed without enough detergent or not dried properly. This was very disappointing in an otherwise very clean and pleasant environment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    14
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Recently spent two nights in the extremely quiet and private single home on the property. The beautiful home is very spacious has all the amenities and then some and is surrounded by a well kept landscape and organic garden. We enjoyed each evening in the pool watching the parrots and the monkeys move around the valley below. We look forward to returning in the spring.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week over spring break 2013. We were new to Costa Rica but can't wait to return. We had a wonderful week at this hotel, it's a very relaxing spot with a wonderful pool and gardens. Birgit who owns the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our room and the very tasty breakfasts every morning. The hotel is really close to the beautiful beaches and interesting and hip town of Montezuma and we felt like we were in paradise! Unfortunately the week went by too quickly but we would certainly return and enjoy this great hospitality again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a small, beautiful, quiet hotel on top of a hill in a large and well kept garden. The owner takes good care of her guests, especially as she bakes bread, that you can order for breakfast. The rooms are clean and the set up of the property is very quaint. If you are interested in plants, trees and birds, you can observe these from your 2nd story own balcony, while relaxing in a hammock or sitting in a rocking chair. The pool is clean and inviting. I recommend a rental car, as the hotel is about a 30 min. walk away from Montezuma and the beach, downhill towards town, means uphill back, but there are plenty of taxis in Montezuma and you can also take the Ticobus. The area offers lots of things to do and the owner of the hotel and the receptionist will help to arrange activities. It´s a good place if you want a quiet stay in a cozy athmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel was most beautiful hotel of all hotels we've stayed during our one month trip around Costa Rica. Peaceful, clean with awsome tropical garden. Our room was spotless, with our own balcony and a hammock. Try a homemade bread for breakfast, is absolutely delicious!
The location is little bit tricky, car is highly recommended or count with long dusty steepy hill (20 minutes walk) on your way to Montezuma beach.
Tip: on the right side from Montezuma center, 1 km away, is beautiful Playa Las Manchas, great for snorkeling. Is much more nicer than the other beaches around.
We paid 62 $ per night. Altohugh it's B&B, breakfast is not included. Strange. There is also shared fridge. Wifi had very changeable quality and was very slow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The place was very peaceful and my husband enjoyed listening to the howlers and the birds in the area. The place is set up on a hill that is a bit out of town and not an easy walk especially back to the place since it is all up hill from the center of the village. If you are going to stay here a car really comes in hand or you might end up taking taxis that will add up. It will cost you about $6 one way to or back from town.

We stayed there for two nights on our recent stay to the area. We were also there at a very busy time over the holidays and there were really no places with vacancies. Upon arriving we were told that we were expected the day before and they did not have a room for us. The owner was upset that we had not shown up and she had given away our room. After she went back to check her email and confirmed the nights we were actually there on the correct day for our reservation but the room we reserved was no longer available. After some calls that there were no other places available in the area she moved her intern and made up a room for us for the couple of nights that we were there. This was very stressful and we were not sure what we were to do at that point. The room worked but the futon bed was not super comfortable that we were provided with and we had to walk to a shared bathroom.

It was cooler there at night due to the location and it all worked out but it did not start out great when we were accused of showing up the wrong day.

Room Tip: Consider having a car if you book this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Me and my girlfriend spent two weeks in Costa Rica in the summer of 2012 (the two last weeks of July). We started in Santa Elena coming in from Liberia airport and rented a truck to be able to move from one region to another on our own schedule. After spending 3 great days around the Cloud forest, zip lines and frog pound we left for Arenal and stayed at the lodge for 3 nights. We were lucky enough to have a glimpse of the entire volcano on our second afternoon coming back from the best hike of our trip, the cerro chato dead volcano.

We then took a five hour drive from Arenal to the national highway and then the ferry towards Montezuma. We were supposed to stay at Hotel Horizontes one night but once we got there we fell in love with the place! Also, in fact, we had planned to drive on the coast up to Playa Del Coco, where we stayed for our second week, but because of the rain in the mountains, it would have been too dangerous. It was destiny? We ended up staying three nights at Horizontes as the third one was free because of low season. We were actually the only guests in the hotel for our entire stay. This was extraordinary. The hotel is 5 minutes away from the village and the beach, the road is great and the location (romantic forest) is spectacular. We would hear howling monkeys during the night and in the late afternoons. He had a corner room with a huge balcony where we would read with a glass of south American wine (quite cheap in stores) before and after the beach. Talking of the beach, we just loved walking out there and spending time in the water. It is a perfect place to learn how to surf, something we did not do thow, just not enough time. By the way, put sun screen BEFORE leaving the room, I burned like crazy just walking on the beach towards our spot (there is a nice beach maybe 20 minutes away from the actual village). Funny thinking about it now... ! The restaurants were just spectacular ! The three you must try are: Lost cocolores, Playa de los Artistas (!!! Wow) and I think TIERRA Y FUEGO which was the furthest on top of the mountain (15 minute drive). These were the best places we ate this year, period ! We ate breakfast at the hotel (eggs, fruits, banana shakes) and everything was perfect.

Another cool place around Montezuma is Cabo Blanco the first natural reserve in Costa Rica. It is the place where we saw the most monkeys in our entire trip. Simply beautiful.

The tricky part was actually leaving this heaven. We followed quite ambitiously our GPS through an old national road that is now abandoned. We understood why as with the rains and all we hit some major bumps are cracks and finally got stuck… It took us about an hour and a half to get our wheel out of there and we were very lucky because it was blazing hot and we had barely enough water. We turned our truck around and took the safe way back, with the ferry and the national highway. We arrived massively late at the rental car place but we were safe! So there you have it. Keep it simple and enjoy !

I must thank Brigit for our stay !!! Your hotel was our highlight of our tripp. If you read this Brigit, I am sorry I took so long before writing this review but I think you will appreciate the fact that we did not forget you and I hope this review will bring many smiles and travellers to your hotel Horizontes, a place of dreams.

Mille mercis et au grand plaisir !

Jean-Philippe Gagnon

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma

Address: 1.8 km north of Playa Montezuma, Montezuma 6011, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful and quiet uphill retreat hotel with 8 comfortable rooms with A/C, ceiling fans, complete bath, safe deposit box and private balcony from where you can watch the incredible wildlife in the private jungle and botanical gardens or just relax in the hammock. Salt water oversized Swimming pool with a great chill-out deck around it. High-quality breakfast with fresh organic products is included. Best personal attention by the Owners and staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.