We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1.8 km north of Playa Montezuma, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Talkeetna, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed two nights in late December in room number six (large, clean, awesome balcony) and would have stayed longer if there had been space for us. The property sprawls across a lush hilltop and offers solitude and excellent star gazing at night. The pool area was beautiful and cleverly designed to offer privacy from the hotel. Guests have the option to purchase healthy homemade breakfasts to enjoy in the open guest/dining area. Birgit and her friend from Germany were gracious, welcoming, helpful, and organized hosts.

The only thing to keep in mind is that the hotel is around 3 km from town, and taxis are not always easy to come by in Montezuma, at least in peak season. We were fine walking, but the return trip involves very steep hills (challenging with a drink or two under the belt). Of course a car makes everything easy and it's a quick drive between the hotel and town.

If we ever make it back to Costa Rica, we will make it a priority to stay at Horizontes again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    14
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We were on the excellent Flexi-voucher scheme so we got a standard room which had a great view of trees and garden from the balcony and we saw an agouti and her babies several times as well as lots of birds and monkeys. The hotel is on a breezy hilly site, and unlike so many lodges is bright and light with tastefully positioned flowers and plants and decorations, inside and out. It's cozy, guests and the owner all talk together at breakfast in the dining room, fully open on two sides, with a sofa, hammocks and a little library. Many travellers, like us are in rented 4x4s and used to the bumpy roads in the area, and thus the short trip to the busy town was fun, and the hotel was above and away from the noise and revels of the many who cluster around the sea front and its little main street, night and day. Lots of restaurants, sandy beach, internet cafe, and a jeweller who has his own shop selling beautiful sea shells set in silver, Piedra Colorada.
I would have liked a coffee machine in the bedroom, or acess to one in the hall, and a lockable safe in our room for cameras and passports etc, but to be fair many hotels still do not regard these as essential. Big fridge for guests in the dining room. We only really realised how very pretty it was when the next night was in a noisy place nears San Jose airport painted a hideous combination of dark yellow and blue, and with the jaded atmosphere of a half forgotten pub that would have even looked ugly when it was new in the 50's!

The town is fun and full or friendly people of all age groups and attitudes, who can be from Italy or Colombia, Peru or America, and even from Montezuma!

We came to Horizontes for one day but stayed 4! Fully recommended.

Room Tip: We were on the excellent Flexi-voucher scheme so we got a standard room at short notice, which had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

On our 23 day road trip on the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, this was the most beautiful hotel we stayed at. All of our hotels were reserved in advance and price range was $55 to $80. What a wonderful surprise Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma was! After a long day of driving dirt roads, we found this white fenced driveway and a gorgeous small hotel. The pictures say it all. The owner, Brigit was very helpful and gracious. The rooms are very new, the largest we stayed in, and clean. Clean sheets, towels, hot water and a veranda with Howler Monkeys just outside. A lovely pool and open air dining too. What a thrill. Montezuma was not my favorite town. If you are over 30 and want a clean, quiet night, Brigit’s hotel is the place for you. If not for Brigit’s encouragement, we would not have attended the horse show and bull riding rodeo. What a night! Fabulous local food—and cheap too. Drunken young gringos in the middle of the arena, daring the bulls to chase them (while drinking a beer!). We took a snorkeling trip here too. It was great—a lovely island and lunch included. Thank you Brigit for providing a beautiful, peaceful, hotel in a dusty, crazy, Bohemian, town.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

If you're traveling with a car, don't think twice! We arrived with friends and were very, very lucky to get a room. The place is beautiful and serene, the rooms are spacious with balconies and hammocks, you'll enjoy a deliciouse breakfast served with home baked bread, a large swimming pool and laundry services.
The owner is very friendly and happy to assist. we traveled in Costa Rica for two weeks and regardless any definition of accommodation (B&B, hotel etc.) - this place is something else!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We ended up in @ Horizontes, because we couldn't find any other hotel. We didn't know Easter could be so crowded, every tico is off work, so a lot of people in Montezuma. The owner, Brigit, was very helpful, triplangual (English, Spanish and German) and gave us a lot of tips. She did her best of making our stay (which was unfortunately only two days) very pleasant. A very nice garden, great breakfast (which is not included in the price), a very clean and nice pool and a great place just to hang out and relax.
The rooms are big, a fan above the bed (finally someone who putted up the fan above the bed instead somewhere else in the room!!) and above all, cotton bedsheets. That was awesome, because synthetic ones makes your body sweat like crazy.
Bathroom very clean, nice and well-kept.
It's an oasis outside the little town of Montezuma, peaceful and quit. If your going to Montezuma, you'll have to be at Horizontes!! Our best stay in Costa Rica!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filderstadt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Hotel Horizonte de Montezuma was the most quiet and peaceful place i have ever been to. Birgit Eicker, the owner is a very friendly and helpful person. If you want to learn spanish you got the opportunity to ask Birgit for some lessons on the spot. the breakfast on request will be prepared individually for everyone. You can go for a swim or a walk in the yard to see all the diffrent kinds of animals. You can get your refreshing breeze in the evenings on the balcony in the hammock. Thinking back to the past days in Montezuma - breathtaking!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We found Hotel Horizontes quite by accident proving that some accidents are very much worth having. The grounds are gorgeous and filled with tropical delights. The rooms, the pool, the artwork, the breakfast....all fantastic. Best of all the proprietor, Kali, is a total gem. Love this place and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma

Address: 1.8 km north of Playa Montezuma, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful and quiet uphill retreat hotel with 7 comfortable rooms with private bath and private balcony from where you can watch the incredible wildlife in the private jungle and botanical gardens or just relax in the hammock. Swimming pool with a great chill-out area around it. High-quality breakfast with homemade German-style wholewheat bread, homemade jams, organic fruit juices and much more. Best personal attention by the owner and her staff. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma to your Saves list