We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A BEAUTIFUL OASIS HOTEL FIVE MINUTES FROM MONTEZUMA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma
Save Saved
You added Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1.8 km north of Playa Montezuma, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A BEAUTIFUL OASIS HOTEL FIVE MINUTES FROM MONTEZUMA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

On our 23 day road trip on the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, this was the most beautiful hotel we stayed at. All of our hotels were reserved in advance and price range was $55 to $80. What a wonderful surprise Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma was! After a long day of driving dirt roads, we found this white fenced driveway and a gorgeous small hotel. The pictures say it all. The owner, Brigit was very helpful and gracious. The rooms are very new, the largest we stayed in, and clean. Clean sheets, towels, hot water and a veranda with Howler Monkeys just outside. A lovely pool and open air dining too. What a thrill. Montezuma was not my favorite town. If you are over 30 and want a clean, quiet night, Brigit’s hotel is the place for you. If not for Brigit’s encouragement, we would not have attended the horse show and bull riding rodeo. What a night! Fabulous local food—and cheap too. Drunken young gringos in the middle of the arena, daring the bulls to chase them (while drinking a beer!). We took a snorkeling trip here too. It was great—a lovely island and lunch included. Thank you Brigit for providing a beautiful, peaceful, hotel in a dusty, crazy, Bohemian, town.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    14
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

If you're traveling with a car, don't think twice! We arrived with friends and were very, very lucky to get a room. The place is beautiful and serene, the rooms are spacious with balconies and hammocks, you'll enjoy a deliciouse breakfast served with home baked bread, a large swimming pool and laundry services.
The owner is very friendly and happy to assist. we traveled in Costa Rica for two weeks and regardless any definition of accommodation (B&B, hotel etc.) - this place is something else!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We ended up in @ Horizontes, because we couldn't find any other hotel. We didn't know Easter could be so crowded, every tico is off work, so a lot of people in Montezuma. The owner, Brigit, was very helpful, triplangual (English, Spanish and German) and gave us a lot of tips. She did her best of making our stay (which was unfortunately only two days) very pleasant. A very nice garden, great breakfast (which is not included in the price), a very clean and nice pool and a great place just to hang out and relax.
The rooms are big, a fan above the bed (finally someone who putted up the fan above the bed instead somewhere else in the room!!) and above all, cotton bedsheets. That was awesome, because synthetic ones makes your body sweat like crazy.
Bathroom very clean, nice and well-kept.
It's an oasis outside the little town of Montezuma, peaceful and quit. If your going to Montezuma, you'll have to be at Horizontes!! Our best stay in Costa Rica!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filderstadt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Hotel Horizonte de Montezuma was the most quiet and peaceful place i have ever been to. Birgit Eicker, the owner is a very friendly and helpful person. If you want to learn spanish you got the opportunity to ask Birgit for some lessons on the spot. the breakfast on request will be prepared individually for everyone. You can go for a swim or a walk in the yard to see all the diffrent kinds of animals. You can get your refreshing breeze in the evenings on the balcony in the hammock. Thinking back to the past days in Montezuma - breathtaking!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We found Hotel Horizontes quite by accident proving that some accidents are very much worth having. The grounds are gorgeous and filled with tropical delights. The rooms, the pool, the artwork, the breakfast....all fantastic. Best of all the proprietor, Kali, is a total gem. Love this place and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

This small and personally run hotel is a jewel that does not easily find equals in Costa Rica. The price-value relation is truly excellent! You get all comfort and service you can wish for, i.e. from personally and tastefully decorated rooms, healthy and delicious meals, to candlelight dinner at the pool, great service, etc. An additional highlight is the private balcony with hammock, rocking chairs and great view on the jungle. I absolutely love relaxing in the hammock, watching and listening to the many birds as well as the howler monkeys who are just a few feet away in the trees. In short, it is a tropical paradise! I have been coming back to this jewel on a regular basis for the past 10 years -- Don´t miss this hotel when you are in Costa Rica!

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet and have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed at the Horizontes de Montezuma for five nights..
The hotel is located on a hill above the village of Montezuma and best reached by car - walking up and down the steep and dusty road would be unpleasant, I imagine. The German owner has tastefully decorated the hotel rooms and breakfast area and has created a beautiful green garden with water from a well on the grounds which really stands out in the dry and dusty surroundings. She gave us all kinds of good advice for our stay in Montezuma and information about the surrounding area and its attractions.
Our room had a balcony with a hammock looking onto some trees in which we saw monkeys and squirrels. We heard howler monkeys almost each morning, and heard and saw many different birds. The room was bright and airy, as was the whole house with a skylight in the central hall.
Breakfast is not cheap, but includes homemade German-style bread which is a rare convenience and was a very nice change after the toast most other hotels serve. Guests can use a fridge in the breakfast area.
The hotel has a small very inviting and clean swimming pool that one can dip into after a long day in the heat. In fact the hotel grounds were so nice that we spent a whole afternoon there instead of going down to the beach or to one of the nature reserves in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma

Address: 1.8 km north of Playa Montezuma, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful and quiet uphill retreat hotel with 7 comfortable rooms with private bath and private balcony from where you can watch the incredible wildlife in the private jungle and botanical gardens or just relax in the hammock. Swimming pool with a great chill-out area around it. High-quality breakfast with homemade German-style wholewheat bread, homemade jams, organic fruit juices and much more. Best personal attention by the owner and her staff. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.