We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay for cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Llena Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luna Llena Hotel
50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay for cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Up a hill from the town of Montezuma, Luna Llena hotel is a beautiful, unique place to stay where you can watch howler monkeys and hummingbirds from the porch of your room. Plus, the price is excellent. Bathrooms are shared, except for one room, and only one shower has hot water, but that's not a problem in a place that's steamy year-round. All in all, a great value and a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    53
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
13
64
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

This was one of our most disappointing stays during the two weeks we were in Costa Rica. We had really looked forward to staying there, as Luna Llena received mostly good reviews and the website pictures portrayed it as a cute hotel with a unique, relaxed vibe. This hotel has SO much potential, but is lacking in a number of areas. Cleanliness was a major issue. Our rooms (beds included) did not seem to be very clean. Unused beds (such as a bunk bed ) actually had bits of stuff and dirt on them, as if they are only cleaned if someone sleeps in them. The floors were also not very clean, which might not seem important except that the mosquito nets on the beds drag on the floor. So, if you lift the mosquito net to get in your bed, you might also bring up a hairball from the floor (like I did). Also, our room did not have anywhere to store our bags, so we had to keep them on the floor.
The shared bathrooms were also not very clean. It seems that the cleaning ladies only come in the morning, so after a whole day of use in a shared bathroom, dirty toilet paper would be piled over the waste basket. (If you don't know already, you can't flush toilet paper in the toilet in Costa Rica.) Anyway, there were lots of issue with cleanliness for us. One other problem for me was all the smoking done by the guests. If you have allergies, like me, you might have a problem.
Also, one other reviewer brought up the night security guard. We had to laugh out loud when we saw him. He was exactly as described in a former post - plopped down in the guest lounge area on a side sofa, legs thrown over the side, remote control in hand, watching a football match (not telenovas). I don't think he really offers any security, unless anyone tries to steal the remote control.
Again, this place has real potential - the ocean view rooms have a nice view. You will most likely see howler monkeys in the trees around you. The building itself is nice, but the rooms definitely need some work and extra love. Some people staying there seemed to really enjoy it, but in my opinion, it is like one step up from camping.
One last point - Montezuma was our least favorite stop. Many of the beaches are dirty ( I mean really dirty with garbage from San Jose) and the town itself has mostly shops and restaurants owned by ex-pats and the like. It has kind of a Disneyland feel, except it's a hippie Disneyland. If you want to support the pot-smoking habits of the "locals," go to Buen Provecho - where the employees will smoke a big blunt right in front of you while you eat your breakfast muffin.
We enjoyed meals at El Sano Banano - the employees were very friendly, the food was good and they play a movie at night.
Book tours through Proyectomontezuma - they fund English classes for local kids.
But, in all honesty, I would skip Montezuma.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabuyaSurfClub, owner at Luna Llena Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2009
We understand that our Hotel is not for everyone, but rest assured, it is enjoyed ny most. We enjoy nearly 100% occupancy year round. This is a bit of a strain on our Hotel. During the Months of September and October we do our yearly renovations, repainting, and repairs. So in August, you saw the Hotel in its most used state.

Our cleaning staff has been with us for over 2 years. They are very reliable, and part of our family. We have recently created a checklist to insure that all areas of each room, and restrooms, are thoroughly cleaned, as we were noticing a few issues ourselves. Geckos live everywhere, and they drop dust and other things, on our floors and furniture. But they also eat other insects.

Montezuma is known for it's free spirited people. We are very accepting here. This allows people to smoke what they like, where they like. Again, not for everyone, but enjoyed by most.

Costa Rica has quite a few Sterile type towns, where you can expect an experience similar to vacationing in the US. Here you can be surrounded by Americans, Air Conditioning, and shinny cars. We are not striving to be one of these tourist trap towns, that are flooded by North Americans, seeking a packaged, and predictable vacation.

Montezuma, and Luna Llena Hotel, are special in many ways. But one must look past the bumpy roads, skunks in the garbage can, geckos living on the ceiling, plastic on the beach, and smoke in the air, to truly enjoy.

If you are seeking a fluffy, american style vacation, our advice is to stay away. If you are seeking adventure, surprise, and a unique vacation, come on down to Montezuma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Recently stayed at Luna Llena for 4 beautiful nights. The rooms were clean and the kitchen's were great to have for cooking your own food. Plenty of restrooms and showers for the amount of people staying there. If you want to be near Montezuma and close to town, this is the place. On Friday night, music could be heard from downtown Montezuma which kept me awake till early in the morning. Woke up to monkeys in the trees and fresh coffee! Overall a wonderful stay. Room 6 has the most beautiful view of the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

I stayed the month of July at Luna Llena hotel in Montezuma, CR. My main criteria was that there was a kitchen available to cook my own meals. The public area/ kitchen at Luna Lenna is extremely comfortable and welcoming. The small kitchen downstairs is also very convenient and was right next to my room. I met many wonderful people while staying here and the staff were super sweet and helpful. The nightlife in Montezuma was perfect for me, Reggae on Thursdays and Salsa on Saturdays. There are also regular beach parties at Mario's on the beach with bonfires and Fire Dancers. For a small piece of traditional Costa Rica Montezuma can not be missed. The waterfall and the beaches kept me occupied for the whole month.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turrialba
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

Well, I’ve mixed feelings about the ‘Luna Llena Hostel’, on the one hand the staff were very amiable and laidback and it is definitely worth the price as Montezuma isn’t one of the cheapest places to stay in Costa Rica. It's nice that it's out of the town a little, away from the noise of the bars etc. The communal balcony/chill out area is very nice, relaxing and tastefully done. There is a kitchen with fridges and cooking facilities to use and free coffee every morning. The room was about what you would expect for the price, ‘rustic’ and basic, but gave an excellent vantage point for some of the best monkey spotting I’ve had in Costa Rica (Howlers and white faced capuchins). My only negative comments are, I would make the casitas a little more mosquito proof. I know it’s the jungle and insects are inevitable, but it seems to me a pointless exercise to screen all the windows off but leave big unscreened gaps between the eaves and the wall and the various holes where pipes come in. Just a little higher standard of finish could easily rectify this problem. Also, I know it’s a petty gripe, but as soon as the owners left every night around 8.30p.m. after setting up the tranquil scene in the communal area for the guests (nice ambient music, relaxed lighting, candles etc.) the night guard would turn the music off, plonk himself down in the middle of everybody and start to watch ‘telenovelas’ at an annoying volume which was a real mood breaker. Apart from the negative comments I’ve said the overall experience was a positive one and well worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

This was one of my favourite places that we stayed in Costa Rica. The climb to get there was worth it. We stayed in one of the Cabinas with a great view. The common area/lounge was really nice especially at the end of the day, where we met alot of really nice people from all over the world who shared their travel stories with us. The first evening that we were there, the owners put on a BBQ with shrimp kabobs etc. It was really nice. There were white-faced monkeys all over the place and you could hear the howler monkeys as well. The washrooms were separate but we did not mind at all. All but one of the showers was cold, but we did not mind that either. The gardener was very nice and taught us a few things about the trees and the different fruit they produced. The owners were very helpful with bus information and things to do in the area. The prices are very reasonable. We will definitely go back to this place when we return to this area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

This place was freakin adorable! My boyfriend and I stayed 3 nights and were sad to leave. We requested room 6, which is a cute little cabina that has an AWESOME view and a little private balcony. We slept with the windows open with the mosquito net, falling asleep to the sounds of the ocean (and the howlers too). This place really had the feel of staying in the jungle, I've never stayed anywhere like it and it was our favorite in Costa Rica. The bathrooms are separate, and a cold shower felt nice after beachin it all day. There was at least one shower that had a hot water heater too.

The open common area is nice, there is a kitchen (we didn't use), they sell water and more importantly beers. The staff was VERY helpful, they helped us book a hotel in Alajeula and told us about the $12 direct bus to San Jose. They locked our bags for us after we checked out so we could go to the beach, and even let us shower before our bus which was nice considering they are short on water during the dry season.

The hill up to the hotel isn't that bad to climb, is lit at night, and is just a short walk away from everything. If you don't mind walking out of your room to go to the bathroom, and maybe a few bugs (I only saw one little spider and I hate bugs, but YOU ARE IN COSTA RICA, get over it!), this is the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luna Llena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Llena Hotel

Address: 50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Llena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Luna Llena Hotel to your Saves list