We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Llena Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luna Llena Hotel
50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Fresno, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at Luna LLena our first night in Montezuma and had a nice time. We stayed in Cabin 8, the private cabin with a private bath/shower and patio. It was a lot smaller than we expected, but it was very nice. Milly, the owner, was so sweet and helpful. The lounge they have by the office is fantastic! It was so peaceful and quiet (almost too quiet!). They have a kitchen you can help yourself too, a book exchange, they had some light music playing and several couches, chairs, tables, hammocks, etc. I'd have to say the only pain was the ATV's and quads driving were so loud at night. I don't know how much you can avoid that though. The fan in the room came in handy! We were able to sleep comfortably in terms of humidity. Bring a flashlight if you're walking up and down the steps at night! It's pitch black, slippery and steep (that would probably be the only other small complaint I have). All in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    55
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
14
66
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed three nights. Although my room was very small and had only a fan, I slept well despite the humidity. Whatever shortcomings the room had were more than offset by the jungle location and stunning deck/breakfast area. We were visited by a monkey and huge iguana at breakfast, and the two cats were always present. It's only two mins walk from the village too. Milly and Ezequiel were very nice and helped to booked tours and confirm arrangements. Other staff kept the place very tidy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a great stay here. The property is terraced with multiple little hidden walkways that make for an adventure every trip around the hostel. Monkeys and parrots are all around in the trees and you get cool mosquito nets. I would call this my favorite stop on the trip if it hadn't been for the hot nights. We went in early August and the fan in the room just didn't cut the heat. Other than that, it was a FANTASTIC property and was the first one I wanted to review out of the 7 places we stayed in CR. Great, great, great helpful staff who helped us book transportation as well as our next hostel stay in Santa Teresa. I would definitely return here. Feel free to contact me with any questions!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at Luna Llena for four nights, and had a great time. The grounds are beautiful, and very in touch with nature. The balcony area is wonderful, and the kitchen was very clean and useful. The staff was very helpful, down to the security guard who helped us pay when we forgot to take care of checkout the night before we left early. The private room was a decent size, unfortunately one of us got hit by mosquitos hard but that's why they include the net (and something to be expected on the coast). Overall, very good experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I am studying abroad in the urban areas of Costa Rica and we have been taken to the Arenal Volcano, Tamarindo Beach and Manuel Antonio, all premier locations, but this place is the best. I paid $15/night for a private room 5 minutes from the gorgeous beaches. The rooms were immaculate and offered fans for the typically humid climate. There were mosquito nets as well, which is a luxury at most beach front places like this. There was a shared sink and bathroom, but the hotel is so small it isn't a problem. There is a full sized kitchen with dishes so you can buy your food at the store down the street, or just eat at one of the few restaurants in town. This hotel was amazing because we woke up to the sounds of howler monkeys the first day we were there, then later a troop of about 30 Capuchin monkeys ran all around and above us. This hotel is very in tune with nature and has an open patio overlooking the trees and beach. The way it is decorated is beautiful, I didn't want to leave! It has a very hippie vibe to it, and it was amazing!

Room Tip: Room 10 sleeps 2-5 and is on the second floor with a great view. Almost all the rooms are great. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed Luna Llena so much we ended up staying here for a week. The hostel was clean and well kept up - not to mention we had fresh towels and sheets every other day (unheard of for the price range)! The kitchen was decently stocked - lots of bugs in there though so just double check everything before using it.

Our room was simple but perfect for what we needed. They provided mosquito nets in the rooms - we didn't need to use it but nice to have. There were warm and cold showers - nice to have the option. The communal area was so comfortable but be warned lots of mosquitos. The hostel was in a good location, just a few minutes from town and the waterfall. All the staff was very informative and helpful - they have someone on duty 24/7 which is a great comfort.

Overall, a great stay! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Luna Llena recently added one "dorm" style room for budget backpackers and travelers. My friend and I stayed in it for about four days and were extremely pleased. The room consisted of two sets of bunk beds, a cot, some safes, shelves, and two fans- perfect for a simple stay. There were lots of great hangout areas, a beautiful view, plenty of bathrooms available, and a central location to town and the beach. It was clean with a very friendly staff and a kitchen available for cooking meals. I would definitely stay in this beautiful hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luna Llena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Llena Hotel

Address: 50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Llena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Luna Llena Hotel to your Saves list