We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than I expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Llena Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luna Llena Hotel
Save
You added Luna Llena Hotel to your Saves list
50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“More than I expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I am studying abroad in the urban areas of Costa Rica and we have been taken to the Arenal Volcano, Tamarindo Beach and Manuel Antonio, all premier locations, but this place is the best. I paid $15/night for a private room 5 minutes from the gorgeous beaches. The rooms were immaculate and offered fans for the typically humid climate. There were mosquito nets as well, which is a luxury at most beach front places like this. There was a shared sink and bathroom, but the hotel is so small it isn't a problem. There is a full sized kitchen with dishes so you can buy your food at the store down the street, or just eat at one of the few restaurants in town. This hotel was amazing because we woke up to the sounds of howler monkeys the first day we were there, then later a troop of about 30 Capuchin monkeys ran all around and above us. This hotel is very in tune with nature and has an open patio overlooking the trees and beach. The way it is decorated is beautiful, I didn't want to leave! It has a very hippie vibe to it, and it was amazing!

Room Tip: Room 10 sleeps 2-5 and is on the second floor with a great view. Almost all the rooms are great. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    69
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
14
77
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed Luna Llena so much we ended up staying here for a week. The hostel was clean and well kept up - not to mention we had fresh towels and sheets every other day (unheard of for the price range)! The kitchen was decently stocked - lots of bugs in there though so just double check everything before using it.

Our room was simple but perfect for what we needed. They provided mosquito nets in the rooms - we didn't need to use it but nice to have. There were warm and cold showers - nice to have the option. The communal area was so comfortable but be warned lots of mosquitos. The hostel was in a good location, just a few minutes from town and the waterfall. All the staff was very informative and helpful - they have someone on duty 24/7 which is a great comfort.

Overall, a great stay! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Luna Llena recently added one "dorm" style room for budget backpackers and travelers. My friend and I stayed in it for about four days and were extremely pleased. The room consisted of two sets of bunk beds, a cot, some safes, shelves, and two fans- perfect for a simple stay. There were lots of great hangout areas, a beautiful view, plenty of bathrooms available, and a central location to town and the beach. It was clean with a very friendly staff and a kitchen available for cooking meals. I would definitely stay in this beautiful hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here early April 13 with 2 teenage boys . Helpful, close to town, Great balcony to listen to Howler monkeys and watch White Capuchin monkeys who come and say hello! Rooms are basic but the price is good. Shared showers are a bit thin on the ground but not really a problem. Lovely communal area, kitchen, large fridges for self catering and there was a great BBQ night with lovely food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Just outside town, up the hill, built on side of a hill. 5 minute walk to town. Quiet, as opposed to town hotels. Ok, you can get better rooms at same price in town on the ocean, but I enjoyed the nice top deck in the jungle overlooking ocean. Rooms are basic: bed, fan, outdoor communal showers with occasional creepy crawlers. 4 bed dorm looks good. Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The place is laid out on five or six levels on a hillside, with a two-story building at the top, the lower level which contained a spacious, open floorplan with living room, dining and kitchen areas. The design was extremely well thought out in this area. As other reviewers mention this place is 5-10 mins uphill from downtown, and even at this modest height it feels like you are in the jungle with monkeys bombarding the rooftop. Staff is friendly and helpful and the place is kept clean and nicely landscaped. The first two nights I stayed in a middle room with a single bed which was wedged between two other rooms, so if you do book the twin beware you are going to have two rooms right on top of you and the walls are very, very thin. The last night I switched to the top floor of the main building, and this room was somewhat larger and had a twin bunk and an ocean view. These rooms are above treeline and (I discovered) receive very early sun. The bungalows look nicer but they are also more expensive. One other gripe is the 10 o'clock curfew, which is an unfortunate fact of people sleeping so close to the common space. But then, Montezuma can seem like a city that closes pretty early. In sum, if you can get a decent sized room this place is definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Some of the lower level rooms down the hill look nicer, as do the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I've never stayed in a hostel but my friend booked the room and I had heard great things about this place. It feels like your staying in the jungle but is close to the town/beach. Monkeys running around. Great view from room. Meeting some really cool people too. I highly recommend Luna Llena:-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Llena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Llena Hotel

Address: 50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Llena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.