We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, Quiet, Jungle hilltop Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Llena Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luna Llena Hotel
50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rustic, Quiet, Jungle hilltop Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Just outside town, up the hill, built on side of a hill. 5 minute walk to town. Quiet, as opposed to town hotels. Ok, you can get better rooms at same price in town on the ocean, but I enjoyed the nice top deck in the jungle overlooking ocean. Rooms are basic: bed, fan, outdoor communal showers with occasional creepy crawlers. 4 bed dorm looks good. Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    53
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
13
64
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The place is laid out on five or six levels on a hillside, with a two-story building at the top, the lower level which contained a spacious, open floorplan with living room, dining and kitchen areas. The design was extremely well thought out in this area. As other reviewers mention this place is 5-10 mins uphill from downtown, and even at this modest height it feels like you are in the jungle with monkeys bombarding the rooftop. Staff is friendly and helpful and the place is kept clean and nicely landscaped. The first two nights I stayed in a middle room with a single bed which was wedged between two other rooms, so if you do book the twin beware you are going to have two rooms right on top of you and the walls are very, very thin. The last night I switched to the top floor of the main building, and this room was somewhat larger and had a twin bunk and an ocean view. These rooms are above treeline and (I discovered) receive very early sun. The bungalows look nicer but they are also more expensive. One other gripe is the 10 o'clock curfew, which is an unfortunate fact of people sleeping so close to the common space. But then, Montezuma can seem like a city that closes pretty early. In sum, if you can get a decent sized room this place is definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Some of the lower level rooms down the hill look nicer, as do the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I've never stayed in a hostel but my friend booked the room and I had heard great things about this place. It feels like your staying in the jungle but is close to the town/beach. Monkeys running around. Great view from room. Meeting some really cool people too. I highly recommend Luna Llena:-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our stay at Luna Llena was absolute paradise. Surrounded by the sights and sounds of monkeys, jungle and ocean waves, we couldn't have asked for a more relaxing place to unwind. While there are many restaurants in town (a short walk down the hill), we chose to purchase food from the local farmers market and fish truck, and cooked our own meals in the community kitchen. We received a friendly greeting and check in from Millie upon arrival. We are so very grateful to Mercedes, who helped us navigate the local scene and plan our tranportation on the next leg of our journey, patiently answered all of our questions, and even helped us open a coconut! Don't let the affordable price fool you... I would choose Luna Llena over a five star resort any day! We will be back...

Room Tip: We were in room 14 for two nights and room 10 upstairs for two nights. Both were excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Wa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This place was amazing! I went to Costa Rica with a group of class mates who had made reservations at other locations. After the first two night, everyone had transferred over to Luna Llena! The staff was so friendly. The kitchen is spacious. The outdoor showers are amazing! They had plenty of games, books, and seating area to hang out while watching capuchins jumping through the trees and sometimes onto the roof. If I were to ever come back to Montezuma, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: The website is accurate in describing the rooms, views and prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

What a great place to stay in Montezuma...You are right in the jungle with monkeys off your balcony and an amazing ocean view. The place is calm, up hill (a bit of a walk up actually but you get used to it), well located and calm.
The room was nice, confortable and close to the toilet. Showers have mostly only cold water but who needs hot water when it's 40 degrees?
Staff was nice, helpful.
I'd go back to this hostel anytime and encourage anyone to go. There were older people, young couples and also families. It's for everyone!

Room Tip: I had room #9 with a great Ocean view, conviniently located right next to the restroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We arrived to Luna Llena after dark, greeted by colorful signage that was all smiles. After winding up the fragrant stairs flecked by lush tropical green and mango trees, we were greeted with much light (and refreshing water) from Milly. She was friendly, informative and helped us ease into the laid backness of Montezuma, and also gave us recommendations for dinner, and some events going on downtown during our stay.

She led us to our room across the outdoor common area with plenty of seating, and views that I knew would be spectacular in the morning. The kitchen off of this area is spacious and fully equipped. We would highly recommend going to the market or Saturday's wonderful morning farmer's market for local goodies to prepare in the kitchen. It is nice to mix it up from all of the eating that can be done in the local restaurants; plus, the fresh grain bread, kombucha, chocolates, mint and papaya were SO good. It provided us with sumptuous snacks for all of the times in between...

After being given a bit more information about the monkeys and other friendly jungle creatures, we arrived at Room #6. It was the perfect room for the two of us. It had a large bed with mosquito net, fan, a sink and lots of windows and nooks. There were plenty of doors to open up into window views and one that took us out to our own private patio that had a stunning, expansive view of the ocean. It truly felt like we were in our own private jungle paradise.

To note: The entire property is immaculate. There are plenty of bathrooms and space. The property is a nice quick walk to everything downtown. If you need to book any excursions, they can handle it for you. Also, try the breakfast one or two mornings. It's delicious and quite filling.

Room Tip: If you're a couple, go for room #6. It is in its own little nook so it feels private, has breath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luna Llena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Llena Hotel

Address: 50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Llena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Luna Llena Hotel to your Saves list