We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint private bungalows with a great view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Llena Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luna Llena Hotel
Save
You added Luna Llena Hotel to your Saves list
50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Napa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Quaint private bungalows with a great view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The proprietor at the front desk was a very friendly woman who could accomodate both English and Spanish speakers!

The private bungalows were really nice for the price with a private deck overlooking the ocean and forest. in the room we had a clean bed and bathroom with a sturdy safe for our valuables as well as a huge trunk for storage space.

We could see birds and monkies hanging about all around the property which was a really unique experience for us. We paid $50 for the two of us and had a great time hanging out with the other tenants and cooking in the kitchen.

Room Tip: We did not see the dormitories but the private bungalows were clean and very worth the price (consid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    62
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
14
72
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The please is clean, they are well located, the shared bathrooms are decent but I hated the staff. The fact that the Argentinian guy in the counter sells drugs ( extasis ) ruined my vacation. Mercedes, however, was extremely nice and helpful. The night guard kept bragging about all the women he had and as a woman I never felt comfortable there.
I wouldn't go back, not because of the place, but because I never felt safe there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milly A, Owner at Luna Llena Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
The disadvantage of a site like this is that everyone can say whatever they want, even if it is not true.
We thank all our guests who appreciate our efforts to make of Luna Llenal a safe place, very pleasant and where drugs are not allowed.

Peace and Love,

Milly and Luna Llena staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I didn't particularly care for this place but I can't knock it because it's really good for what it is. It's set up on a hill with a view of the ocean in the distance and there's a nice ambiance. The thin walls and lack of privacy bothered me. I'm also not a fan of having to go outside and down stairs to take a cold shower at night. I gave it a good rating because for a budget place in Montezuma it's pretty good and much better than a couple of the others we checked out in the same price range.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in the dorm room at Luna Llena. Everything was great, the staff was wonderful, the common area was great too. Everyone was very friendly too. A couple of nit-picks include that the towel was a little small, espeycially to be walking through the common area to get to the showers.

Also, leave your food in the kitchen not the room, the Jungle will get into your room otherwise!

Room Tip: The Dorm room is very nice, but this is a hotel, so it gets quiet at 11 PM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This carefully maintained hostel located in the forest is a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of high-season Montezuma! The lounge and kitchen areas are inviting for cooking, reading, and meeting people. The hostel offers everything you need from hot showers to WiFi. Our double room was small but clean. The friendly owner was helpful with any of our queries and made us feel at home immediately.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel offered a wonderful balance of time to myself (in a single room) and time to meet others in the kitchen/lounging area. It offers a serviceable room at an excellent rate and a kitchen for those who want to cook most meals for themselves. The staff are WONDERFUL! Every Thursday they host a barbeque (vegie and non-vegie) which creates a perfect opportunity to meet other travellers and have some delectable food (dressed with a secret Argentinian marinade). Though this trip was as a solo traveller (taking advantage of the terrific yoga classes at nearby Ylang Ylang resort), this hotel is also excellent for travelling couples and friends.

Room Tip: Cabin rooms are a little more expensive but are also quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This place is fantastic! The best place we stayed in Costa Rica. Luna llena is the perfect backpackers place; we met so many chill, amazing people. Originally we were going to stay for a week, then it turned into a week and a half, then two weeks. The common space is beautiful and very clean, with a well stocked kitchen. I really liked that there were boxes to keep our dry food in. All kinds of different wildlife visit, which is really cool and fun, but sometimes that leads to creatures sneaking into your room and night. You can hear and see the ocean from the hotel as well! Very cheerful, friendly staff...I would highly recommend staying here!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Llena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Llena Hotel

Address: 50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Llena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.