We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been there twice and will go back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Llena Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luna Llena Hotel
Save
You added Luna Llena Hotel to your Saves list
50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Been there twice and will go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel offered a wonderful balance of time to myself (in a single room) and time to meet others in the kitchen/lounging area. It offers a serviceable room at an excellent rate and a kitchen for those who want to cook most meals for themselves. The staff are WONDERFUL! Every Thursday they host a barbeque (vegie and non-vegie) which creates a perfect opportunity to meet other travellers and have some delectable food (dressed with a secret Argentinian marinade). Though this trip was as a solo traveller (taking advantage of the terrific yoga classes at nearby Ylang Ylang resort), this hotel is also excellent for travelling couples and friends.

Room Tip: Cabin rooms are a little more expensive but are also quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    70
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
15
79
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This place is fantastic! The best place we stayed in Costa Rica. Luna llena is the perfect backpackers place; we met so many chill, amazing people. Originally we were going to stay for a week, then it turned into a week and a half, then two weeks. The common space is beautiful and very clean, with a well stocked kitchen. I really liked that there were boxes to keep our dry food in. All kinds of different wildlife visit, which is really cool and fun, but sometimes that leads to creatures sneaking into your room and night. You can hear and see the ocean from the hotel as well! Very cheerful, friendly staff...I would highly recommend staying here!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefunkchild
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This place was great! On a hill up in the jungle above the town, but very close to town. Lots of wildlife around and some really cool people. The owner and staff were super helpful.

Know it isn't for everyone. If you are looking for a 5 star resort, look elsewhere. The rooms are basic, but can't be beat for the price. That being said, there is a special kind of ambiance at this place. I won't be staying anywhere else when I'm in Montezuma.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Luna Llena was the perfect place to stay in Montezuma - it seemed to fit the vibes there in the best way. I stayed in one of the single cabinas which are cute, small, basic cabins with a hint of charm, but the real appeal is the rest of the hotel. The common area is beautiful, with lovely tables and chairs, sofas and swings, all set in a rainforest/jungle setting. There were also little tables and chairs near each of t he cabinas. the bathrooms were shared, 2 with hot was, 2 without and 4 toilets as well so they were never busy. Te communal kitchen was well stocked, clean and well maintained. The staff and service was exceptional, X was incredibly helpful and all the staff are the right mix of friendly and professional. They were a real treat. It is a bout 2 blocks from town so away from the noise but close in every other regard. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Nestled into the hillside; Luna Llena exposes you to some of Costa Rica's best wildlife without paying any extra. Cabins are scattered throughout the grounds, in amongst the beautiful trees and plants. Our cabin had a double bed and some bunks, a single fan, which was enough; mosquito nets, cupboards and storage, and a safe. Shared bathrooms are a short walk up the hill, are spotless and cleaned regularly. The kitchen is complete with utensils and sharp knives, (a luxury item in most hostel kitchens) a great stove, several fridges and coffee!

The owners are extraordinarily helpful and friendly and were continually offering assistance or even just a smile. We had some great quiet nights just sitting out the front of our cabin where earlier we'd seen howler monkeys come through, then the Capuchin's, there's also a few racoons about, a few local skunks, and countless unique insects.

Add to that the chill out areas are a great place to socialise and meet new people or simply find a quiet corner and relax in the serenity of the jungle. We had surprisingly few mosquitoes as well.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Arrived in town without a reservation just recommendations from a guidebook. I chose this hotel based on price and because it offered single rooms. The room was small but spotless. The bed was comfortable and the pillows actually pillowed my head. Fans and mosquito nets were provided and the screens were in good repair. Even at the budget price each room had a lockbox.

Hosts and staff were very friendly and the Thursday bar b que was wonderful.

<i have a new place to stay when <i return to Montesuma!
Just a caution though, the hotel is up a steep hill with a lot of steps, not the best place if you overpack.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed at Luna Llena with my girlfriend for 3 nights in mid August 2012. Of all the places we stayed at in Costa Rica, this had by far the nicest layout. Nestled in the hillside, it really feels like you're part of the jungle, especially when the monkies come running across the roof. Like others have said, its nice to be away from the loud party places downtown, but still be only a 5 minute walk to them and the beach (I hope you don't mind walking uphill). The rooms were nice, we stayed in the dorm one night and then room number 9 the other 2 nights. Cleanliness was great in the rooms, the bathrooms, and the kitchen. Security was also great, we stupidly left our wallets out on the nightstand in the room and even a bunch of cash right next to them but they were untouched when we came back (and it was obvious that the rooms had been cleaned). We did accidentally leave shampoo in the shower room and a half bottle of rum in the lounge area overnight and they were gone in the morning, but we kind of expected that. Milly, the owner, is very sweet and accomodating. Overall, if you're in Montezuma, go here. cheap, chill, and fun.

The best parts: The orange and white cat, the architecture, the fact that it is not a crazy party place, and Julio, the Friday night security gaurd!

The drawbacks: There are ants (big red ones) in room #9 but they never bothered us (there is a mosquito net over the bed for extra security), the fact that the lounge area closes at 10pm.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Llena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Llena Hotel

Address: 50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Llena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.