We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Llena Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luna Llena Hotel
Save Saved
You added Luna Llena Hotel to your Saves list
50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great place, great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Arrived in town without a reservation just recommendations from a guidebook. I chose this hotel based on price and because it offered single rooms. The room was small but spotless. The bed was comfortable and the pillows actually pillowed my head. Fans and mosquito nets were provided and the screens were in good repair. Even at the budget price each room had a lockbox.

Hosts and staff were very friendly and the Thursday bar b que was wonderful.

<i have a new place to stay when <i return to Montesuma!
Just a caution though, the hotel is up a steep hill with a lot of steps, not the best place if you overpack.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    56
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
14
67
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed at Luna Llena with my girlfriend for 3 nights in mid August 2012. Of all the places we stayed at in Costa Rica, this had by far the nicest layout. Nestled in the hillside, it really feels like you're part of the jungle, especially when the monkies come running across the roof. Like others have said, its nice to be away from the loud party places downtown, but still be only a 5 minute walk to them and the beach (I hope you don't mind walking uphill). The rooms were nice, we stayed in the dorm one night and then room number 9 the other 2 nights. Cleanliness was great in the rooms, the bathrooms, and the kitchen. Security was also great, we stupidly left our wallets out on the nightstand in the room and even a bunch of cash right next to them but they were untouched when we came back (and it was obvious that the rooms had been cleaned). We did accidentally leave shampoo in the shower room and a half bottle of rum in the lounge area overnight and they were gone in the morning, but we kind of expected that. Milly, the owner, is very sweet and accomodating. Overall, if you're in Montezuma, go here. cheap, chill, and fun.

The best parts: The orange and white cat, the architecture, the fact that it is not a crazy party place, and Julio, the Friday night security gaurd!

The drawbacks: There are ants (big red ones) in room #9 but they never bothered us (there is a mosquito net over the bed for extra security), the fact that the lounge area closes at 10pm.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We enjoyed our time at Luna Llena. We cooked in the kitchen, and enjoyed talking and sharing with other guests. The room was adequate, as were the shower and toilet facilities. The treetop setting was very pleasant--just be prepared for the uphill hike and many steps to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

A surprisingly nice place, friendly service, peaceful. Liked that it was far enough away from the town center that it was quiet (and there were monkeys!!) but that the town and the beach were still a short walk away.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I completely agree with the other enthusiastic recommendations for Luna Llena and there's very little I can add. I stayed in the shared dorm for three nights, $10 per night. The hostel felt like a home away from home. It was so comfortable and cozy, with really great decor and an absolutely unbeatable view. I woke up to howler monkeys each morning and watched the full moon rise during my stay. The Thursday night barbeque was such a fun and unique event - it really shows what a social and welcoming place Luna Llena is. Milly and the rest of the staff were so warm and helpful, I felt completely at ease.
After backpacking through Costa Rica and staying in many, many shared dorms, I can say without hesitation that Luna Llena is absolutely the best. Muchas gracias Milly y todos!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our stay at Luna Lena was great because of its location in the forest and open common area concept. We were able to see an abundance of wild animals daily while over looking the sunset. The experience was well worth not having a private bathroom. Our room had a mosquito net to keep the bites away with a fan that kept us cool enough to sleep comfortably. I would reccomend Luna Lena for the unique experience of the wild in the jungle right in front the living space.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a bathroom or a view of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We arrived Thursday May 31st 2012 and stayed until June 3rd 2012. The manager on duty was very relaxed and invited us to the Thursday night community grill. If you are here on a Thursday I highly recommend it. We met people from 4 different countries and had a great time.

Most rooms have shared bathrooms and some rooms are shared. I reserved the room with a private bathroom (room #8). There is no air conditioning, but we had a fan and it became very cool at night. Understand the facilities are somewhat primitive suicide showers and all, but that is Costa Rica.

The common areas are huge and all open air. Since this is in the forest on the side of a hill wildlife abounds. The white face monkeys made daily appearances and one day while eating lunch on our deck we watched a howler monkey go through the tress right in front of us.
The town is a short walk from the hotel and we felt at home immediately.

Room Tip: Room #8 has a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Llena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Llena Hotel

Address: 50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Llena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.