We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant place to sty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Llena Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luna Llena Hotel
50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very pleasant place to sty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We enjoyed our time at Luna Llena. We cooked in the kitchen, and enjoyed talking and sharing with other guests. The room was adequate, as were the shower and toilet facilities. The treetop setting was very pleasant--just be prepared for the uphill hike and many steps to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    53
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
13
64
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

A surprisingly nice place, friendly service, peaceful. Liked that it was far enough away from the town center that it was quiet (and there were monkeys!!) but that the town and the beach were still a short walk away.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I completely agree with the other enthusiastic recommendations for Luna Llena and there's very little I can add. I stayed in the shared dorm for three nights, $10 per night. The hostel felt like a home away from home. It was so comfortable and cozy, with really great decor and an absolutely unbeatable view. I woke up to howler monkeys each morning and watched the full moon rise during my stay. The Thursday night barbeque was such a fun and unique event - it really shows what a social and welcoming place Luna Llena is. Milly and the rest of the staff were so warm and helpful, I felt completely at ease.
After backpacking through Costa Rica and staying in many, many shared dorms, I can say without hesitation that Luna Llena is absolutely the best. Muchas gracias Milly y todos!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our stay at Luna Lena was great because of its location in the forest and open common area concept. We were able to see an abundance of wild animals daily while over looking the sunset. The experience was well worth not having a private bathroom. Our room had a mosquito net to keep the bites away with a fan that kept us cool enough to sleep comfortably. I would reccomend Luna Lena for the unique experience of the wild in the jungle right in front the living space.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a bathroom or a view of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We arrived Thursday May 31st 2012 and stayed until June 3rd 2012. The manager on duty was very relaxed and invited us to the Thursday night community grill. If you are here on a Thursday I highly recommend it. We met people from 4 different countries and had a great time.

Most rooms have shared bathrooms and some rooms are shared. I reserved the room with a private bathroom (room #8). There is no air conditioning, but we had a fan and it became very cool at night. Understand the facilities are somewhat primitive suicide showers and all, but that is Costa Rica.

The common areas are huge and all open air. Since this is in the forest on the side of a hill wildlife abounds. The white face monkeys made daily appearances and one day while eating lunch on our deck we watched a howler monkey go through the tress right in front of us.
The town is a short walk from the hotel and we felt at home immediately.

Room Tip: Room #8 has a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thun
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Luna Llena is such a nice and beautiful place to stay. first we went at Pension Arenas, but after a few people went rubbed there, we moved up to Luna Llena.

It's very beautiful and the location is unique. You are not far away from Montezuma, but it feels like being in the middle of the jungle. All inclusive, morning wake up by mokey, Lizzards and last but not least the two nice house cats. (By the way, the red / white one loves to give you a massage while you're hanging out on the chair or lying on the sofa!

the team is so friendly and helpful, you have to look a long time, until you find something better. and they really care about you. the do an amazing job!

the kitchen, is well equiped and hughe. there are also three fridges to cool down your beer.

the view form there is stunning, you see right down to the sea.

the atmosphere is so relaxed and chilled that you wish, never to leave!

i totally recommend you this place to stay.

Thank you Milly, thanks to the whole stuff (and the argentinian grill master - thanks for preparing the bbq)..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

For the price, we were very happy about Luna Llena. Because it's surrounded by so many trees, you actually feel like you are within the heart of a jungle. The staff was very friendly, they helped us with any questions we had about local restaurants and tours. They have a common area with WiFi, a TV, kitchen, and comfy lounge chairs. The hotel room was cute and quaint and each bed had a mosquito net. Bathrooms were extremely accessible and clean. I would highly recommend this place!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luna Llena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Llena Hotel

Address: 50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Llena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Luna Llena Hotel to your Saves list