We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in montezuma!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Llena Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luna Llena Hotel
Save Saved
You added Luna Llena Hotel to your Saves list
50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
thun
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best place to stay in montezuma!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Luna Llena is such a nice and beautiful place to stay. first we went at Pension Arenas, but after a few people went rubbed there, we moved up to Luna Llena.

It's very beautiful and the location is unique. You are not far away from Montezuma, but it feels like being in the middle of the jungle. All inclusive, morning wake up by mokey, Lizzards and last but not least the two nice house cats. (By the way, the red / white one loves to give you a massage while you're hanging out on the chair or lying on the sofa!

the team is so friendly and helpful, you have to look a long time, until you find something better. and they really care about you. the do an amazing job!

the kitchen, is well equiped and hughe. there are also three fridges to cool down your beer.

the view form there is stunning, you see right down to the sea.

the atmosphere is so relaxed and chilled that you wish, never to leave!

i totally recommend you this place to stay.

Thank you Milly, thanks to the whole stuff (and the argentinian grill master - thanks for preparing the bbq)..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    56
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
14
67
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

For the price, we were very happy about Luna Llena. Because it's surrounded by so many trees, you actually feel like you are within the heart of a jungle. The staff was very friendly, they helped us with any questions we had about local restaurants and tours. They have a common area with WiFi, a TV, kitchen, and comfy lounge chairs. The hotel room was cute and quaint and each bed had a mosquito net. Bathrooms were extremely accessible and clean. I would highly recommend this place!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Thanks Milly for a fantastic stay! An absolutely perfect place to stay in montezuma in a lovely tranquil location. Spotless clean. Amazing communal kitchen. Good showers, great places to hangout. Good vibes. Actually can't think of any negatives-staff are great, prices cheap... Has everything you could possibly need from a hostel!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puntarenas, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Great hostel, very welcoming staff, awesome outside! Good location in the jungle just a bit outside of downtown (2 minutes away)! Nice room, clean and good ambiance! Pretty decoration, dorms or private room possibilities!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

If you are traveling in the rainy season (May - November) and are in Montezuma, you can't beat this place. You get a lot for a fair price - super clean rooms, very comfortable beds, away from the loud bar scene, easy access to the town center, and great beach hikes nearby. No matter what you heard about Montezuma and how much it has changed over the years in the online forums and guidebooks - it is still an awesome, laid back town to visit. Keep your wits about you late at night in the town center, the drug problem is definitely very real here (not nearly as bad as Tamarindo or Jacó, though). If you rent a surfboard, make a visit to the surf shop in the town center, part of the proceeds go toward local school education programs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I absolutely LOVED Luna Llena!! We stayed 2 nights in cabina #8, which is the only one with a private bath, if that matters to you. This place is like living in the jungle, though the town and beach are RIGHT there, a VERY short walk from the hotel. Luna Llena is very private, filled with character and color and has an incredibly welcoming and relaxed vibe. Everyone was super helpful, friendly and spoke good English. Montezuma is a very hippie little town, so everybody is pretty laid back, but truly the hotel was my favorite part. It's such a beautiful place and you are guaranteed to have troops of howler monkeys passing through every morning(early) and right around dusk. Luna Llena is technically a hostel, so be prepared to be living in a communal type environment when you are out of your cabin. You can't help but be happy in Costa Rica, so being around a bunch of strangers is easy in this environment, if that is a potential issue for you. This is not a fancy place, but it is very authentic CR and the grounds are beautifully maintained. They also have a security guy at night who will watch over your car if you are driving. On that note, be prepared for some rough roads on your way into Montezuma! We rented from Economy at the airport and our car was in FAR better condition than most of the rentals we saw. Good tires on your rental, plus a healthy spare, are ESSENTIAL in CR!! Back to Luna Llena, which means "full moon", the wifi worked great, there are no tvs(why would you even care?!), they don't feed you breakfast, but there is a full kitchen for your use with two refrigerators. Lots of comfy sitting areas, great proximity to town & beach, no AC but plenty of fans. It is probably not the best place to stay if you are really out of shape, btw, simply because this jungle hotel is built into a hill, so there are many steps on several little paths... I would seriously live in this place if I could! Total awesomeness, unless you need luxury, in which case you should stay in Tambor at some fancy place. For $30 a night in their "best" cabina, you cannot beat Luna Llena!!

Room Tip: Room #8 is the only cabin with it's own private, warm water bathroom. It is so private that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

When we arrived at this hotel I was really hung over/car sick from the bumpy ride from Monteverde and the stairs were completely daunting...first to get up to reception then more to get to the room. I think the person at the front desk was worried about me haha. However, it was worth the walk, the place was really cool and the most social atmosphere we stayed at during our 9 day trip to Costa Rica. I was traveling with one other friend and we stayed in a room upstairs with bunk beds and a double bed. Saw some small lizards on the wall in the room, which I didn't mind as I figured they'd eat the bugs, but unfortunately they ran away after I tried to take a picture of them. I agree with others that the warm showers weren't that warm, but it was so hot outside that I just used the cold shower anyways. The guard at night didn't speak english...was trying to ask him if I could leave the light on upstairs to read (there was some rule about people leaving the common hours after a certain hour). One day the monkeys were on the balcony upstairs going through people's bags that were left out haha- so watch out! They also have a free book exchange downstairs and journal for guests to write in.

If you're in to horseback riding definitely check out El Pinto Expeditions. I'm an experienced rider and it was by far the best ride I have been on while on vacation and my friend who had no riding experience had a great time too! We also found a place downtown to do laundry- it's not a typical laundromat, but people's houses where they wash and dry your clothes for you and they charge by weight of clothes to be cleaned. One person uses a drier while the other line dries outside (less expensive). Finally, check out the waterfall just outside of town. It's a cool hike, just watch out for rain as you pretty much have to walk through the water some of the way to get to it. Very cool town and Luna Llena is a great choice for budget lodging!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Llena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Llena Hotel

Address: 50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Llena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.