We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good-priced dorm room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Llena Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luna Llena Hotel
50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Nice hotel, good-priced dorm room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

I stayed at Luna Llena for 5 nights in the dorm room. It's a perfectly nice hotel - up the hill from the main action (which means you can avoid feeling guilty about lying on the beach all day - it's a good workout!), with some nice views of the ocean and a good-sized lounge area. There is one dorm room with 5 beds, which - at $10 per night - makes a great deal. The room is perfectly comfortable, complete with fans and lock boxes, but it is right next to the kitchen and lounge area, so it can be noisy. The hotel has a strict 10 pm quiet policy, but staff begins cleaning and making coffee *bright* and early which will disturb a light sleeper like myself. The guest at the hotel were very friendly, but because most of the rooms are private, Luna Llena lacks that true "hostel" feel, if that's what you're looking for.

I found the staff very helpful in terms of planning activities and transportation. They will offer lots of recommendations in terms of places to stay elsewhere in Costa Rica -- just keep in mind that, as always, they are usually based on a mutual agreement/commission policy.

A few things that would have kicked my experience at the hotel up a notch: breakfast (at least fruit and/or bread), hammocks (a staple for any beach getaway), and more monkeys! (Despite my near-constant vigil, I didn't see any from Luna Llena; when I went to visit friends at the hotel next door, they were everywhere!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    53
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
13
64
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington,D.C.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The location of Luna Llena, up the hill from the main intersection of Montezuma, is one of its best assets. It's in a forest, with monkeys, crabs, and birds all around. This setting makes staying there an interesting experience, as you have an opportunity to see wildlife without taking a rainforest tour. It also means there are lots of bugs. But the hotel has mosquito netting to protect you while you sleep. The rooms are nice and mostly rather basic. The cost is a bit high for the quality of the rooms, but the rest of the hotel, especially the kitchen and common areas, are very comfortable. We looked at other hotels in Montezuma, and Lune Llena had one of the nicest ambiances of any in its price range. If you're on a budget, it may not be your best option. But you're willing to pay a little more for comfortable common areas and a good setting, stay at Luna Llena.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011 via mobile

I will always stay here when I visit montezuma - my boyfriend and I stayed three nights in room 3 and loved it!
Nice big kitchen to share, amazing outdoor showers and porches with seating on your private porch. Fresh towels and sheets each morning, big fan and screened windows and a mosquito net provided (we didnt need it). It's a steep 75m climb fromthe centre of town but it's completely manageable, even if you're tired or drunk!

I love it here

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Me and my family (2 adults and 3 children) spent about 1 week at the Luna Llena. The best spot in our 3 weeks trip. The place is really charming, has a shared kitchen, located in the forest with lots of white face and howler monkeys eating in the trees around. We were waken up every morning by a troup of howler monkeys. Bad for hangovers...but great experience when traveling with a family hoping to see wildlife. The staff was kind, helpful and sympatic. The location is great, up on the hill before Montezuma center, which makes it a little more quiet. Book exchange, few games for the kids...hot and cold showers (but who needs a hot shower in Montezuma?). We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

This is an amazing hostel. The view of the ocean and the jungle is breath taking. The service is fantastic-all of the staff spoke excellent english and were very helpful in booking tours for us and advising us on things to do in the area. The hostel has an amazing vibe and the decor is cozy and charming. We could have easily stayed for weeks if our time had permitted! Book in advance-it is worth it! Make sure you bring bugs spray! Dont forget your camera for all of the monkeys you will see from your balcony!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights in February. We had #6 - with a private bath. The facilities were what we expected given the price, photos and descriptions on the web. Rustic and basic, with a super chill vibe. You are living in the jungle (don't expect Holiday Inn with AC and TV) - if you are up for the adventure - it's completely worth it. We loved our little private deck, where we could watch the wild life.

Most importantly, we experienced EXCELLENT service at Luna Llena. We were originally supposed to stay 3 nights, but had to change plans unexpectedly. Not only did Inge completely understand (and not charge any fees) but she gave us advice in choosing our next accommodation and helped us to book a complicated leg of travel when no one else would help us. Thanks Inge!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Cali
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Stayed here for a week w/friends. Seemed fine until we felt we were being "watched" as we used our nice camera equipment, etc. Paid for our last night there, locked all of our valuables in the room safe, went out for just over an hour and BAM! our room was broken into, safe busted open with a crow bar (hotel's?) and all of our valuables taken- cameras & equipment; passports; money; etc. Seemed VERY suspicious as we were barely gone when it happened, as if they knew right when we left, etc.
Staff not very helpful, seemed very vague about details. Security guard said he heard noise from our room but thought it was us- then when we talked to hotel mgmt. they say he wasn't working until later, after the burglary. Getting a lot of "back & forth" story from them. Went to police station and filed report. Got stuck an extra day & more $$ having to miss flights because no passports. Had to get emergency passports @ embassy- more $$. Finally made it home.
Now when trying to sort it out with Luna LLena am getting NO response. We need their insurance information for liability, etc. Called hotel and given owner's name & phone #- Milly Anz is her name. Called her. After talking with her for only a few moments as soon as I began telling her what the call was about she hung up on me! I called back all day & night and she won't answer the phone now. Have sent her personally & the Hotel mgr. emails explaining the situation and they refuse to respond. Sent the hotel yet another email & phone message and still NO response.
At this point we feel TOTALLY RIPPED OFF. Plus they either do NOT have ANY insurance- BEWARE- or they don't want to have to pay their deductible?? This is completely unprofessional and unacceptable. Had this unfortunate event taken place on the streets or somewhere then, well, a bummer but no where to pursue. However, it did not- it was at the hotel in their locked safe that they provide.
So now we have to spend more time & energy pursuing this with an attorney. Plus reporting this hotel to the International Tourist Assoc. & Hotel Assoc., etc.
Any one there, or going there, want to go ask Milly Anz, the owner of Luna LLena, WHY she cannot/will not respond to our phone calls & messages?? NO INTEGRITY.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabuyaSurfClub, Owner at Luna Llena Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Dear Travelers,
In response to the review written by the Mother, of one of our past Guests, we would like to respond.
The Guests who had their safe broken into, were around town with very expensive camera equipment, and they were followed back to the Hotel, as a potential target. They noticed non-guests hanging around their cabin, and did not inform our staff. These non guests turned out to be thieves, that figured out a way to cut into one of our safes. We have since bought, and installed new safes, now that we are aware of the vulnerability of our old safes. As an additional measure we have felt compelled to purchase a Security Camera system that will be a further deterrent of theft.
We of course are very distress when something like this happens at our tranquil Hotel. We work hard to make sure our Guests have an enjoyable, and safe stay at our Hotel. As our Hotel is full most nights, and the average stay is 3 nights, we have approximately 350 Guests in our Hotel per month. We have had 2 thefts at our Hotel this season, including the one we address now. So, our Guests are safe, and our ongoing efforts to increase security should remove these few opportunities for theft.
As far as our response to this claim that we are responsible, for all our Guest and their property, we can only point out the Security Notice posted in all our rooms and in Reception. It is copied below.
We hope that wherever you travel, that you are aware of the risks, act accordingly, and that you are safe and happy.
All the Best. Love and Peace.
Milly Anz and the Happy Staff
Due to the Current Petty Theft Problem in Costa Rica, we are advising our Guests of the following precautions, so that Our Hotel, and Guests, are not targets of Theft.
The facilities at Luna Llena are for Registered Guests Only. If you bring Locals back to the Hotel, you may be asked to leave. If you want to have daytime visitors, you must check with Reception, upon their arrival, or you may be asked to leave.
When you depart your room, please Secure all windows and Doors. Please make sure your Valuables are in the Safe we provide, and that it is locked.
If you see anyone on the Hotel Grounds that you are not familiar with, please let Reception, or the Night Guard know, immediately.
Currently in Costa Rica, there is a 2% conviction rate for Burglary Crimes. This means even if a Thief gets caught, they rarely are convicted, and most times not even arrested. We work hard to protect our Guests from this problem. Please help us by taking care of yourself, and your belongings.
Luna Llena Hotel cannot be held responsible for items that are lost, or stolen from our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luna Llena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Llena Hotel

Address: 50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Llena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Luna Llena Hotel to your Saves list